Old Times of New Year

43 60
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Three days to go and it's already 2022! Time to start with a new beginning, and time to make yourself better. I know most of us are excited, even me, because different kinds of food again.

But for now, I would like to share my previous New Years, especially when I was a kid. Those times when everyone of us in our place unite, just to welcome the New Year with full of love and happiness.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Before,

When I was a kid, we celebrate New Year with other families. We used to buy Fountain, and place it in front of our house or at the middle of the covered court(just located 3 meters away from our house).

Crdts : Flickr

Our family was assigned to this kind of firecracker, while our neighbors are assigned to sky fireworks, some are to rockets, and for us kids they give us Sparklers. At 11 pm, every parents in our place start to prepare those firecrackers. They put it in our basketball court, while the others are place in front of every houses too. Piccolo is also common that time, I'm really scared of it, not just because I know it's dangerous, but also of it's loud noise of explosion.

We also have trumpet toy that time. I'm really into trumpet, I get sad if my parents don't buy this one, as for me that time, it doesn't look New Year if we don't have trumpet.

Then,

At exactly 12 am, everyone will light all the firecrackers, while we kids are holding Sparkers. We keep on jumping, as it's a belief that we will grow tall, but it's not effective on me. Lol!

My mom also throw coins inside and outside our house. She also likes to hide money in our pillows and give us Ang Pao. For those who are not familiar with Ang Pao, this is how it looks,

Crdts : Facebook

This is a red card or envelope, which used to put a money, this means goodluck and wealth. During that time, we are so much blessed with our family business that in every New Year we prepare foods for our neighbors, that everyone who wants to eat are welcome.

Below our altar, we put a mini table and above it are 12 candles with different colors. Each color represents trait or element. Just like red, it represent strength, Pink for love, and yellow for happiness.

Actually, there's a lot of traditional beliefs that we follow. Me and my mom likes to watch TV news about Feng shui, and list down all those things that can gives us good luck on New Year. Above this, we start it with a prayer, this is the most important of all.

I also have this habit of collecting gifts, I mean when I recieved a gift I didn't open it. Since most of Christmas, we celebrate it in my grandma's house, then I open all my gifts at New Year's eve. My younger brother are more excited to see what's inside, although he know that it's a girly thing but still he keeps on asking what's inside.

But all this happiness changed, when the demolition happened. We are able to pay and stay, but 90% of our neighbors lost their houses.

As of these recent New Years, due to some reasons, priorities, and lack of money, we haven't perform and prepare the usual New Year set-up in our house. I really miss a lot, especially our good neighbors.

Crdts : WWL-TV

By God's will this upcoming New Year will be full of blessings, happiness, love and wealth. I may not be so active during that time, but I'll try my best to share how we celebrate New Year.


A lot of things change as years passes by, I remember 2012 as end of the world. But look, God is so loving and kind, that He still let us live and chance to make right. We should not abuse this, so I hope this 2022 we make our love for Him bigger that anything.

________________________

Lead image was edited using PicsArt

***

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers! How was your day?

Are you all excited for New Year? Don't forget to pray for an abundant New Year. I know some of us here are affected with typhoon Odette. But let's make our faith strong, just like New Year. We need to leave the past and start a beautiful beginning.

GOD Bless. Hugs!

Ps. Thank you so much @BCH_Genisis bff for giving your sponsorship. To the constant support, I always appreciate it. More blessings to come!

December 29, 2021

-Ling

17
$ 2.80
$ 2.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 18
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

These past few years have been really tough for everyone. We also used to hold a new year's ball in here in our place. Unfortunately we couldn't do the same this time. We used to watch fireworks lighting up the sky with the festive sound from fire crackers, "torotots", and everything else that makes noise. These days, I barely hear the festive noise I used to hear. But you know what becomes pleasure to me? It's the resilience that I found in each individual, family and community. Prayers. It's the loudest noise we can make this new year, and everyday actually. Prayers can be heard from heaven. Happy New Year!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This makes me smile, happy new too Shang. May you have a New Year full of blessings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wlang katulad ang dating traditional beliefs natin non sis.. Di na apply ng mga new generations ngayon. Kakamiss tlaga maging bata lalo na pg pasko at new year.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sobra Sis, mas worth it kung maagian pud nila, sosyal naman gud karon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gani sis.. Katry jud ko anang muambak sa hagdanan ug pila ka steps para traw mutaas, sa dihang nascam ko😅.. Sosyal nga wa namao sis ky lahi ra jud mga btsan sa mga bta sauna no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2012 was meant to be the end of the world according to the movie: but it didn't happen. I'm glad to be seeing many more years after that. Three days to 2022 and I'm so excited.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah because people likes to predict :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember watching that movie too, that 2012 would be the end of the world. The happenings in the movie were so scary

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've watched this movie when our Science teacher wants us to reflect about the movie, but now I almost forget the plot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We used to have a lot of fireworks before but now it was lessen due to govt restrictions

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Philippine policy, but I understand. Sa ikabubuti din naman natin yun:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If that super flood happened... it would be the 10th anniversary now. But the end is coming. Anyway dear, happy day for you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, time passes so fast, I can't imagine that it's already 10 years. Goodnight Lucifer!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The good old days of New Year was always interesting and fun and I think we still enjoy it now, except that there is no firecrackers. Memories!! 😎

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Although I'm afraid with most of the firecrackers, I still miss it:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The old days of the new year are now just memories but yes our survival in the midst of memories. May the new year fill our lives with love.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree, and let's pray that this love will spread not only to our family but around the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As you probably have noticed, I am interested in colours and symbols. You wrote above about "...above it are 12 candles with different colors. Each color represents trait or element. Just like red, it represent strength, Pink for love, and yellow for happiness. "

Please, can you list all the 12 colours and what they represent?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tomorrow Sir we will go to the city to buy these, I will share when it's still available :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And Dr. Colour expert calls for it. 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so much happening that when we look back we just have to be grateful… it could led to something worse and I actually believed 2012 was it, especially the movie that came out that year.. happy new year in advance

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yah and There's a lot of conspiracy that year, but now we're still kicking :D Happy New Year in advantage too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas masaya po talaga celebration ng New Year dati unlike now na masyadong tahimik hehe. Pero still, naniniwala pa rin kami sa mga traditions except dun sa pagtalon kase di na talaga siya effective hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga, tumahimik na ngayon, nakakamiss:D pero atleast good health parin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your new year celebration is really a big flex😍. And for those affected with typhoon Odette, God's with you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your concern Queen:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it sounds so interesting, but here I do not know how it is celebrated because our family haven't been doing anything special on the occasions like it. Its so saddening

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, so every New Year is just like ordinary day?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really laughing because it is my birthday too on new year. I do not like it being celebrated

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice memories😍, The new year is coming with lots of love, joy and blessings. Let's welcome it with an open heart even if the pocket is not large enough. So far there is life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This really make sense, you're right:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God is really awesome to us. It is our duty to appreciate His good deed. To all those affected by the typhoon, my heart goes to you. God be with you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes as always, we must appreciate and give thanks to Him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakamissed yung mga memories Nuon Bff. Always Welcome bff💖

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gani bff, hangtud throwback nalang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really grateful to God that you are save from the typhoon Odette attack . Celebrating of new year are really good especially the one you celebrated before 😉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Rosh, we are just lucky in our place, it's always safe during typhoon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For those affected with typhoon Odette, God's with you.

New year celebration is really a big flex😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excited din ako noon sis pero ngayon kasi for the past 5 years hindi na ako naka celebrate ng Christmas at pasko kaya parang nasanay na masaya nalang ako na makita yung family ko na nagcelebrate. Happy new year sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nasa abroad ka Sis no? Tama ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis din Muslim country so wala talagang spirit of Christmas at new year dito .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon nlng talaga wala masyado paputok, mas okey rin naman di gaano maingay hehe..

Gusto ko yung toss ng mga coins haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True hahah may income sa bukol

$ 0.00
2 years ago