It is Better to Think Than to Give

11 54
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

It is better to give than to receive is a the common line that most of us agree. The more we share our blessings, the more blessings will come to us. But are you giving for a purpose or just to give because it is one of our human nature?

Unsplash by Andrew Moca

There was a time when me and my two other friends went to the city just to have some friendship bonding. My other friend said that two of her former classmates will join so we wait them in the park. Although the park is a good place, what I don't like staying there is when those beggars keeps on asking money. Like you cannot enjoy staying there because if you give one beggar a money, the second will come, one will follow and so on.

It was 4:30 in the afternoon that time when the students are starting to come since the class is over, and the perfect time for those beggars to ask money. After a moment, there's a kid maybe 6 years old who ask for money, my friend gave her coins and leave without saying any thank you, after a minutes another kid like 10 years old come and ask money, although I'm not comfortable to give I still give 10 php. Just after the kid walk away, a little one, maybe 3 years old come and ask for money. I look at my friends and saw their confused face, so I asked the kid, "who's with you?". The kid point his finger to other older kids, then my friend said "We don't have money". We are thinking that oh he have older siblings, there are obliged to take care of him. After my friend said it, the kid immediately pinched my leg and punch my friend then run away.

We keep an eye to the kid and saw that he go to a woman which we think his mother, together with those other kids which maybe his siblings. Think about how the mother use them to collect money.


Before, I always give money even my food because I know that they need it the most, but as I grow, I realized that those beggars have the opportunity to work but they chose to ask money, while those persons with disabilities are the one who are working hard just to provide their needs and even to their family. I asked my father why the government didn't do any action towards those people, but he said "Our local government already provide houses and places for them, but still they chose to stay here and ask money", here I conclude that they prefer an easy money.

I have watched a Tiktok video about a girl saying her experience towards beggars; the reason why she prefer not to give now. One of the comment said, that he is working near in an establishment where there's a lot of beggars who exchange their coins collection and it reached 2k-3k everyday. Imagine you're working hard, then you will earn 300-500 php a day, while in asking a money you can earn this big. It's an eye opener for us that some beggars are making it as job.

Most of their victims are those people with a good heart, those who are generous to the needy. I know not all beggars are like this, there are some who deserves to recieve blessings, but what I want to convey is that we must think twice if it is good to give them, because in some cases we are tolerating them.

________________________

Ps. Thank you Sir @Unity for the renewal of sponsorship. GOD Bless!


Disclaimer: The views and opinions stated in this article are based on the author's own experience and observation. All the photos above are personally made unless it was stated.


You can find me in;

Noise.app

Or contact me in;

Gmail | Telegram

My appreciation to all my subscribers, upvoters, commenters and sponsor. GOD Bless! 
  • October 29, 2022

-Ling01

19
$ 1.88
$ 0.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @pajeroz
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 12
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Yes its very accurate. In our country too there are people with physical disability but still prefers not to live by begging, and there are also people who choose begging over anything else. Also, it's true that some of them collect quite a surplus via begging than they require for their meals. In Maharashtra there's even a racket of it where a person (the bossy one) forces people to beg and let them report directly to him. That's why begging has been illegalised in that state. I think some undercover investigations by NGO's must take place and report to the required authority with detailed report. Many people who beg and lives in a roadside hut often have LED TV installed inside their hut, and then they choose to hide it all behind their hut face so that they avoid being taxed and so on. They also do not act sincertely regarding population control and often I have seen them not to pay attention to their kids and they later on dismisses themselves from the mainstream of the country's inclusive growth. I am not complaining here but it is what it is, the truth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

an Eye opener that it's not about our diploma, its not about being bachelor graduate to earn more money but how to take advantage of the surroundings hahahaha I was once buying drugs at a pharmacy where there are 3 beggars who falls in line first so I was observing, they want to exchange all their coins to the pharmacy cashier, almost 200 pesos, like what ? they earn triple than.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It annoys me when people take advantage of the kindness of other people. Much more annoying when they use kids to do so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang nakakasad ee ginagamit ng mga magulang ang anak para mag hingi. Baka nga kapag walang nahingi ee sasaktan pa nila. I mean, why they pinch and punch you if di nila na experience ang ganyan diba. Nakaka ang ganyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also experienced the same po. Dati I'm used to giving people like beggars wandering in the street I will give then any coins left in my pocket, but then after that may sumunod na naman this time marami na sila, parang tinawag nung unang beggar yung mga kasamahan niya kaya kinuyog ako ng marami they are somewhat aggressive pa. So from then on di na talaga ako namimigay ever sa mga beggars.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some beggars are even richer than the the giver. They build houses but they try to hide this and come to you looking pitiable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've had different experiences with these beggars and that is why I find it difficult to give some of them money. Most of them even make more than a hardworking person per day. I give alms but not everytime so that I won't go broke

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true sis, they make living with begging and it's quite unfair for those who are working for 10-12 hour's yet they still not making enough for their living. That is why sometimes I prefer not to give.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo to sis. Yan din sinabi ng partner ko sa akin pero di pa rin ako naniwala. Bigay parin ako ng bigay pag makakita ako ng beggar. After ko mabasa tong article mo parang naniwala na ako na totoo talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I strongly agreed to you, we should think before we give money to anyone. Beggers are everywhere and their beggars role should be discouraged.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I also believed in that common saying that it is better to give than to receive, but for me, I only give on someone to those who are deserving. some people are demanding and abusing your kindness which is not good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago