Dante's Inferno : First to Fifth Circle

23 60
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

The Divine Comedy is the famous epic poem of the Italian philosopher and poet, Dante Alighieri.

Crdts : Biography images

This book was divided into three sections: Hell(Inferno), Purgatory(Purgatorio) and Heaven(Paradiso). The theme of his works surrounds Mythology, Christianity and Philosophy.

As of now, let's only focus on the circles of hell, which was divided into 9 circles. The poem was all about the journey of Dante(the author itself) who was guided by the spirit named Virgil(real life poet from the time of Augustus) sent by Beatrice, who is his real life love, but unfortunately Dante was married to other woman.

Note : This topic is a sensitive one, so if you're against about the doctrine of any religion especially Christiany, better to leave this now. My intention is just to share Dante's work.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

First Circle : Limbo

This place is for unbaptized souls and those who live a moral life but doesn't accept Christianity. Dante saw famous writers; Homer, Ovid, Lucan and Horace, who help him to find the Limbo's great castle. Virgil also stated, that he saw Jesus who take Adam, Moses, Abraham, Noah and other famous characters in the bible, to save from this circle of hell and bring them to His arm in Heaven.

There's no physical punishment but the loneliness and regret that they felt is what killing them lifetime; The constant nothingness and hopelessness.

Second Circle : Lust

This pace for those who live with too much Pleasure, that their life was filled with thirst of lust. Souls in this place are punished by unending strong wind, they are drag and buffeted back and forth to mountains and rocks.

In here, Dante saw Cleopatra, Helen of Troy, Archilles and other famous historical and mythological person who live a lustful life.

Third Circle : Gluttony

The place for souls are tormented by overindulging excessive eating and drinking. This also include for those who have addiction. The place for auful act of being self-centered.

Dante and Virgil saw the 3 headed dog

Crdts : Danteworlds

that we can also found in Greek Mythology in the kingdom of Hades in the depth of the earth. People here are punished by not being able to stand, they are always on the ground gurgling in the mud.

Fourth Circle : Greed

This place is intended for those people who live a life of greed. This circle is divided into two groups of people : First, is the ones who spent lavishly, all they want is the luxury and richness in life; and second is for those who aim for political power or imperial possession, wherein in Dante's journey, he saw cardinals, popes and other members of the church; that used the order of the church to gain money. While these groups fight to each other.

In Greek mythology, the god of wealth, Plutus is the one who guards the circle. Souls are punished by pushing a heavy rolling weight using their chest.

Crdts : History Lists

Fifth circle : Wrath

In this circle, Dante and Virgil saw the river called Styx.

Crdts : History List

In the river, the souls are always angry and fighting against each other; an unending war. They punished themselves and others; they choke, bite, scratch, punch, kick and do anything in order to kill someone. But since they are already in the Hell(Inferno), the wrath and fight is lifetime. After the river, there is also city where the fallen angels can be seen.


There are nine circles of hell, but for now I just share these first five. See you on the next part!

________________________

Lead image was edited using PicsArt

****

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers! How was your day?

I know some of us are worried about the bch's market price; as it was deeply inlove in red(charr). But let's pray that it will high before Christmas and New Years day, I know in this season expenses is too high. Let's think positive!

GOD Bless. Hugs.

Ps. Thank you so much @Officialrosh1 for giving me your sponsorship; sorry for late. More bch to you and I'll do my best to support you too.

December 6, 2021

-Ling

14
$ 4.12
$ 3.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 13
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Oh, we studied Dantes in school)))) And there are 9 circles;)And did you know that he wrote this work for 14 years!!!?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh really? I didn't know it. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@ling01 you are welcome. Just continue doing your work. ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I will. Have a great day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I knew this one. After watching the movie Inferno featuring Tom Hanks, I searched it and read articles about it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh that's nice, because in my case I only watched animated cartoons:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your knowledge is just amazing... we have something very similar to this in Hinduism, but we have 6 of it and I got an inspiration from this post to write about it :))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hope that I can read it too from you Sis:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard so much about hell but didn't know they're in categories for different types of sins. From what I've heard and read, the hell is continous tormenting ground, it continues like that as the souls are dead already and they can't die again. Haaa! Waiting for the other parts

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is only based on the author's imagination, there's no circles mentioned in the Holy Books :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

English major ako pro di ko man lang binasa to kahit pinabasa samin ng prof namen 🤣 thank you, ling. So ito pala yung circles of hell jusko ang pangit naman pag napabilang ako sa isa sa mga circles na yan

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Natakot nga ako Sis, highschool kasi to pinanuod sa amin. Akala ko nung una totoo talaga, book lang pala haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im very interested in this one, I heard Dante's Inferno in my friend which really fond of this kind of topics, hell is such an endless agony serve for those people that commit sins when they are living on this planet, the punishment is base on the heaviness of this sins and even the follower of God refers to priest and pastors are in hell due to their inappropriate actions when they are alive and serving people with inequality. Im looking for 6 to 9 circle.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I actually felt scared when I first watched this, since our teacher prefer the movie. It catch my attention, then at the same time so proud to the author, di natatakot mag mention ng names hahah. I'll do my best to publish tomorrow :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very very serious to be honest but my bible @ the new world translation of the holy scriptures only talked about hell as a common grave of mankind and every other living soul which implies a place of rest in death and never to mean a place of torture as most doctrines would have it. Let God be found true.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The author of this epic poem only use his imagination, together with the three themes that I mentioned above. But you're right, and it's only God who know the truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I first read or know something about something, I feel good. As doing today. Because that's the first thing I saw today. I read it first but it feels good. I'm thinking about it now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can know this more by watching it's full movie Sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I don't know that there's something like this sis, thank you for letting us know.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No problem Sis. Highschool in English subject to madalas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time hearing this sis. Thank you for this. I read something new today and add up my mind. Hehe I'm not a reader sis honestly. It's really seldom I read any kind of topics and it's depend also on what I've read too sis. I based also with the titles sis. I envy you sis since you love reading.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually Sis sa mga ganitong klase na genre ako mas interested and thank you for always reading my work. Halos nakalimutan ko narin kaya kunti lang na share ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya pala sis. Reader ka talaga sis. You're always welcome sis.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago