Do we become EMOTIONAL as we age?

25 44
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

EMOTION- everyone has right? Some might me good in concealing yet deep inside I know they still felt different types of emotions. It is something to do with our feelings . It is natural to feel this as we are humans not robots.

When we are still kids , (what I am trying to state is based only on my observations) most of us change emotions fast. Like this moment we are sulking maybe because of the small things we wanted but not granted by our parents. The next few minutes we already forgot it as we were already enjoying something that caught our attention. Not only that, sadness and heartaches don't stay longer. Well a pack of chocolate was enough to brighten the day. I? Since I am just a low key , a pack of pandesiosa bread is okay.

Some might not be familiar with this but when I was a kid this is my favorite. You may enjoy an Oreo dipped with a glass of milk. I on the other hand enjoying this dip in a coffee ( malabnaw na kape)

SOURCE

So what I am trying to say is, emotions were not complicated when you are a kid. We can be bribed easily. Yet as we grow up let's say as we age things become different. Material things sometimes were not even enough to make us happy. It could but only for a moment. Why say these? Simply because I experienced those.

For example I was raised in a family that is not vocal when it comes to expressing love. My siblings and I never say " I love you" with each other but of course we do. We are not the type who always maintained communications. Like we would chat each other only if we need something. However this past few years, I was already in my mid - twenties. I had noticed that there are times I am sulking. It is just because no one in the family remembered to chat with me to ask how I am. Yes, they will if they need something. Funny right? Why did I suddenly become emotional?

I remember during the first year of the pandemic my mind was really in a turmoil. I envy my sisters as they are all together while I was stack alone here in the city. I felt ALONE. They did not even ask how I am doing here.

So when the mall opened after a month I went shopping, haha. Yes I am indeed happy while doing some shopping. I bought what I like. However when I lay down on my bed at the end of the day, the loneliness was there. Hayyy, am I getting OLD?

Not only this happened to me, but I had observed this to my parents. They become so emotional and sensitive since they reached their senior age.
I remember my Mother called one time, upon picking the phone, I told her " Nay wala pa ako sahod " ( Nay, it's not yet my payday).

Would you believe that my Mother was hurt because of that. I mean, I used to joke with her before like that. That was okay. It was never an issue. Yet that time, she told me sister " So ganon? kasi hindi na ako nagtitinda. Hindi na ako kumikita ng pera. Pabigat na lng ako at wala kwenta?" ( So because I no longer sell, I am not earning money, I am useless now?) She even cried because of it.
Hey, I was just JOKING here.

Since then, I have become too careful with my words. Afraid that I might hurt her again.

My Father? Oh, it was the worst. He was so emotional compared to my Mother. Just recently I was so worried. Around 10PM when my sister called in our GC on messenger. I was supposed not to answer as it was my sleeping time but she chatted that it was an emergency.

That is only to found out that my Father was drunk and he supposed to commit suicide. He was already holding a gun when he called my sister. And told her he wanted die.

The reason? He felt so neglected. He told my sister that we never called to talk to him. I mean how we can talk to him when every time we called he is not home. He is with his friends (drinking buddies). Not only that, he was so mad that my Mom kept on nagging him. Don't get my Mom wrong. There are too many reasons why she is nagging him.

So he felt that since he is useless, it is better to die.

And we spent hours, talking to him via video call. I almost booked a ticket to home. Until now, he is like that. He was so pasaway ( since he is a drunkard). Yet you can't tell or advise him or that as he takes it negatively. He would end up sometimes, just sleeping in his room and would refuse to eat.

Hay, indeed having an old parents was a big challenge because they are so EMOTIONAL.

Right?

If you feel bored and want someone to talk with you can contact me here. I would surely reply as long as it's not my office hours.
Noise cash

Telegram

04/02/2022

04:36PM Manila Philippines.

23
$ 3.74
$ 3.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 15
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

emotions are formed when we have problems and thoughts that always and continuously occur. This is a very sensitive thing because life is vulnerable to problems that occur.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

we are actually trying our best to understand our parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some things do change along with aging sis hehe. Iba maganda, iba hindi rin. Some become insecure, magalitin etc. Hoping maganda naman pagbabago sa atin hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

from teenager to maturity sis maganda ang pagbabago pero into old age, mahirap, hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe, oo sis, lalo sa senior years. Nagiging masungit mostly mga tao, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naging sensitive na msydo sis pg nagkakaedad. Then ate ko din ayaw tumawag sa parents ko pg wala pa sahod kya ako lgi kausap nya. Di mn kmi vocal sa pgsasabi ng I love you pero lagi nmn sila nsa messengr ko sis at kinakamusta ako. Closed kmi lahat since bta pa at mgkalaro pa kmi lahat. Kaya nong umuwi dito ang brothers ko ang ingay ng bahay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyan din kami sis, parang ganyan namin kasi uso sa province no? Dati, hindi tlaga vocal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yo considero que si es así, puesto que antes era una chica muy Rockstar y ahora soy una chica muy sentimental h

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yo considero que si es así, puesto que antes era una chica muy Rockstar y ahora soy una chica muy sentimental h

heheh seems you forgot, you talk to me in spanish. Yeah, we indeed became sentimental as we aged

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madami tlgang ngbbgo sis kapag may edad na. Kahit ung tatay ko din laki ng pingbgo ng nagedad na siya. Laging mayamutin agad. Hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga,minsan hirap arukin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are indeed a great person for you to put down your contact info it really good . I love the fact that you share your time to make people happy . You are right especially our parents they became more emotional with their ages

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you Rosh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, i can feel you sis. My mom's behaviour as she old actually become so sensitive 😅. I mean, she easily get hurt and misunderstood by my words and that's hurting me as she then started ignoring me😁. I think it's because their getting old.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

bati naman na kayo ngayon?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah that was intense... It's not a joke anymore because he felt the worst feeling now. He needs help Ms. Lhes. Hope he find the peaceful night...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we actually having a hard time with him. Just few weeks ago, we bring him to the doctor for check up, glad it was just mild pneumonia. after a week of medication and doctor said his lungs was okay, nasa inuman na ulit. Then, mag away na man sila ni Mother. I don't know ano nangyari sa kanila. They are both too sensitive!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo nagiging pasaway na rin ang mga lolo't lola ko eh haha. Hindi na rin marunong makinig samin kapag pinagbabawalan. Hays.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oo, iba kasi ang dating sa kanila kapag sinasabihan eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan talaga mga may edad teh eh, maski rin sa bahay sobra2 pa. May times na sobra makasigaw tas grabe makapagsalita, pero iintindihin mo nalang kase matanda na saka ilang taon narin sila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga! pero minsan ang hirap din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Base kay Mommy, yes. Ang tigasin non before pero now nakuuu. Nakkita lang nf kamag anal na matagal di nakita talagang iiyak na. Saying, masaya lang daw sya kasi naalala pa sya nong mga yun. Yong partner naman nya ang mayayamot kasi pah ganon un, tataas bigla ang dugo non aguyy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha oo ganon sila! pero medyo hirap na din minsan hirap magpalaki ng magulang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article came at a sensitive time, I mean, I was going through this experience now with my mother, I was saying something normal, but she felt annoyed with it and almost cried if I didn't intervene in time, really our parents become very emotional with age but they deserve to take care of that and compensate them

$ 0.01
2 years ago

indeed Larah, that is why I am always trying my best to understand them

$ 0.00
2 years ago