Life Story: Saving Money to Buy Wants

12 63
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago
Topics: Saving, Money, Finances, Life, Memory, ...

Date: April 5, 2022 (Tuesday)

A Glimpse of the Past

As a girl who wasn't born with a silver spoon in my mouth, I can't deny the fact that life when I was young was so hard. No matter how much I wanted to have the wants of my heart, I can't have them as I didn't have the money to purchase them. The focus of my parents back then was to sustain our needs and even pay our debts, so there's no room in buying toys or clothing-- maybe once in a blue moon.

Knowing our situation, I never grew up being a spoiled brat. I understand fully our way of living and I just go with the flow. Although there were times where I wish I have the life that other kids have so that I can live a better life, but I thought of how loving and caring my parents are, and with that, I just embrace the life that we have and dream that one day I will be able to live a better life, away from being deprived om buying the wants in my heart.

Way back when I was a kid, there were a lot of things that I haven't experienced. I never get to experience having a lot of toys in my room unlike the kids nowadays. I remember I have this little teddy bear that I used to play with. That was the only toy that I have throughout my childhood. As much as I wanted my parents to buy me a doll, they can't as it was way too expensive back then. No matter how much I cry for thay certain toy or even doll that I want to habe, my parents would still don't buy me the toy that I want so badly. So I'll just deal with it and accepted the reality.

When I started studying, my school supplies were not the high quality ones. I remember my notebooks before were just the average ones. I wanted to have the notebooks that my other classmates have, the thick ones, but then again, my parents were on a tight budget. I never got to experience having a very nice dress from the expensive section at the mall, I only have those in bargain.

If I were to enumerate the things that I once envied other kids with, it would take me forever to list them. But then, I'm still thankful to my experience and the life that I have as I was able to learn significant lessons that I'm still carrying until now. I have learned the importance of appreciating the little things in life. The things that the wealthy ones are taken for granted. The things that can add a pure joy in my heart. The things that will create a big ball of sunshine if they are being put together.

Another important lesson that I have learned from my experience is the importance of dreaming; to dream big in life. Through my experience, I have dreamed to strive more in life and to never stay to where I am. I have came up with a motivation to do more in life and to pursue the goals that I have in my mind and in my heart. I have this goal that one day, as I become the best version of myself, so as the way of living that I have, so as my parents' way of living.

On Buying Wants Amidst Being Poor

As what I've mentioned, it's so hard to buy the things that I want before. Aside from the fact that my parents were on a tight budget, I also have no money in my pocket. However, whenever I really wanted to buy something, I usually save money and wait for it to reach a certain amount until I use it to purchase what I want. Now, I have this piggy bank made from a container that I decided to use back then and put my money there to save money for my plans on buying my wants as of the moment. Usually I save money to buy clothes and even shoes or even food.

When I started saving money, I was already studying grade school. Whenever my mother would give me a little amount of money for school, I usually keep a small amount from it and put it in my piggy bank. I love doing it especially when I really have a goal.

Fast forward when I was studying in the university, I have a very small allowance, just enough to buy food and pay for the vehicle to school. But what I will be proud of was the thought that I can but some of my wants from that small amount of money. I can buy my skincare, my favorite lipstick, and name a few from that budget. Again, from my savings I can purchase my wants even amidst the tight budget.

With my experiences in life, I realized that no matter how small the money that we have, all it takes is discipline to purchase what we want in life. All we need to have the motivation to save money not just to buy our wants, but it can be used for a better living or even emergency fund.

Saving money is the key to buy your wants and that's based from my experience.

It's not about being rich or poor, it's all about the right way of handling finances.


Lead Image GIF from Canva
Recent Posts:

11
$ 2.63
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 5
Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago
Topics: Saving, Money, Finances, Life, Memory, ...

Comments

100% agree with you... its really not whether you are rich of poor its more on managing your expenses

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As what they say, if one can't handle a hundred dollars, how much more if a hundred dollars or more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saving money is a must sis in any cases mn yan, as long as may save then we can buy what we want and we are prepare for what will happen

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed, but sometimes saving money is just so hard especially when there's a pile of bills :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Completely agree with it. Dreaming is important. It inspires us most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how small our money are, if we just know how to budget it and discipline ourselves, we can surely save for the things that we want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said Felize, may we never experience that kind of expensive material things but it gives us the lesson to give importance to whatever things that we have, there are advantages when we grow up with a silver spoon as we appreciate every little thing that we cultivate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

agree your article my friend LeticiaFelize that we need to save so that when we want to buy something we can buy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I saw my life journey here, it was same except the doll ones and make-up ones haha. But those struggles I'm kind of happy that I experienced them early as we need them to survive and grow in this fast-forward world.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree, I'm also grateful for every hardship that I have experienced as through them, it made me who I am today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. To be honest I like your article tonight. I can totally relate to your experiences. Save money to buy what we want. Although it took long, but we know it will come.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aweee, thankss my friend Denn. You see, if only we have the money to buy all the things that we want, but then, we should also be thankful for experiencing hardship as we have learned important lessons from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago