Blockchain Games Series—List of NFT Games That I Invested In

14 42

As you will notice, I have been writing a series of NFT games that I already played and share my journey while playing the game. I can't deny that most of those investments ended up in losses instead of profit. I think it is because of my bad strategy and bad decisions when it comes to investing.

Made with Canva

In this article, I will share the summary of my journey in my gaming investment and what are the pros and cons of investing in the game. There are also things that I noticed when it comes to investing in blockchain games.

Axie Infinity

This is where it all started, I don't know if it is only me but I think Axie Infinity brings exposure to the investors and got the attention of other experts to develop and start blockchain games. Since this game became a trend, more games started to launch and more people became exposed to cryptocurrency and investing.

Screenshot by the author

In my case, I wanted to ride on the hype and started investing in the game. It is actually an addictive and stressful game because it is really hard to maintain your MMR to get more Smooth Love Potion (SLP)—its in-game currency. However, after one week of playing the game, I realized that the game was not for me and decided to sell my team but something unexpected happened and I got a lot of losses from my investment. 

It was my biggest loss in my existence and I hope it will not happen again. 

Plant VS Undead

Unlike other games, this play-to-earn game is one of the easiest because you will only farm and no need any strategy to earn. You just need to plant a plant, water it, and then you can come back after 24 hours to water it again. But sometimes there are crows that will start the plant to farm and you will just need to use a scarecrow to remove the crow. But it rarely appears so you can come back to the game any time.

Screenshot by the author

I invested in the game after doing research, looking on the roadmap, and feedback from my friends. I heard that it is also a good investment where you can get your initial investment immediately after a few days of farming. However, the price of its in-game currency started to go down from $20 each to just a cent. It is even less than $0.10. Because of that, I lost my appetite playing the game even though they made an update on the game. The release of PVP mode and Farm 3.0 didn't make the price pump and continue to rise. 

As of now, I still do farming with my 5 Plants. Although it is hard to earn because the conversion of Light Energy and PVU tokens also increased, the price of PVU token continued to decrease. Nevertheless, I will not stop farming as long as I earn money from the game. I will just treat the game as an investment that gives me passive income and a cute amount of interest.

Splinterlands

I just recently shared my journey in Splinterlands and I can say that this is the best game that I invested in. Although I am not sure if I already broke-even my investment, I feel that I already did because I already withdrew some of it. I lost my track after I stopped playing the game.

Since the new deck of cards was released, I find it difficult to win and end up in getting losses because of the card rentals. Unlike before where I always earn a decent amount by having a high rank. It is hard to level up now with the game…but recently, I started playing it again by doing my daily task and collecting my daily loot chest. I even bought three Chaos Legion packs and will open it pretty soon. 

I am starting to enjoy the game again after learning new strategies with the team to pick and the correct card to use. Once I have enough good ratings, I will start renting cards to have a higher power and start earning DEC.

Conclusion

Overall, what I have noticed in blockchain games is that the price of its in-game currency will start to go down and lose its value after weeks or months of exposure. Although some of them have a sustainable ecosystem, since many players are relying on “earnings” instead of “entertainment”, they are starting to sell, causing a massive dump of the price of the token.

On the contrary, I believe that these games bring opportunity to people who play the game to be more exposed to cryptocurrency and possibly help for a mass adoption of some coins to utilize it in the real world—for example use the coin on daily transactions instead of fiat currency.

Finally, not all people are lucky in investing in games and get a huge profit from it. Furthermore, this article didn't intend to change your opinion and perspective in blockchain games. This is just an opinion from me and you should never consider this as financial advice.


Published: March 24, 2022

10
$ 16.16
$ 16.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
+ 4
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty

Comments

Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala ka pala MyDefiPet? Magada din sana un kung ma release na pvp.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala ako niyan haha. Uy naka spam ka

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like they all have their shine time and then go down. I'm surprised how quickly the Pegaxy token VIS went down the hill. I was taken by the idea of earning while playing games, but no longer so sure if it's a good idea. The planting game sounds cute though ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pegaxy became hype so people probably sold more VIS everyday, maybe it is the reason why it drops (well, most of the games have the same dilemma).

Yeah it is cute until you lost your investment 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I have many not so great investments already 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not really into playing games, so I never tried these P2E games. You are right. A lot of people burn coins than to invest, so the prices would likely drop along the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Early birds often win in the game.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very curious about the Splinterlands but I am thinking if it's only good for experts because as you have said the cards are getting difficult.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can play it for free and practice the game.

Just in case, you can sign up here haha.

Splinterlands

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried playing the joy token game but due to slow internet connection I can't so after that I never played any game Axie game seems interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Games from joystick.club is interesting as well. I played it before haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako na lunod capital ko sa PVU.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din haha sayang lang pero okay ding passive income

$ 0.00
2 years ago