Which will you rather skip: breakfast or dinner?

31 45
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🀠 happy Sunday to you all, how did you spend your Sunday? Mine, as usual, started with church, and after that, it was a mixture of sleep, games, and coding. Something happened today that made me vow to never make that mistake again, what happened? Hunger! I skipped dinner on Saturday.

Our usual practice at home on Sundays is that we go to church as early as 6:30am and we are back home before 10am, which means we take breakfast when we get back from church. But I and my friend have a little something we do during church service; we go out halfway through the service to buy snacks and drinks to fill our stomachs before the end of service (I easily get hungry).

Source

Something happened last night that made us skip dinner, we ended up taking only snacks that were sufficient for that night but I knew I will be very hungry the next morning and I planned to get snacks while at church (like I normally do every Sunday). Well, I ended up very hungry right from when the service began and I couldn't do anything about it because no store has opened that early.

I couldn't even stand for long during the service because I had no strength to do so, coupled with the fact that my stomach felt like it has a very big hole in it. After a few minutes of standing, I always feel like passing out and I quickly sit down to keep myself from falling. I couldn't concentrate and all I kept thinking about is food, it was a very crazy feeling.

I didn't even wait till the normal time I go out before I ran out of the church. I just predicted that stores are probably open outside and I can buy snacks before I pass out from hunger πŸ˜† turned out my prediction was correct and I quickly bought a few snacks. I ate like someone that hasn't eaten in years and I didn't care about who was looking.

Source

I felt very much alive after eating and I could now think properly, that was when I vowed to never skip dinner on Saturdays. I can skip dinner every other day of the week coz I know I can easily eat breakfast very early the next day, but Sunday is the exception; I won't get the chance to eat early in the morning.


Which is more important?

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It’s a way to fuel your body and start your day off right. According to the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP);

eating a healthy breakfast helps you feel fuller for longer and keeps blood sugar levels stable throughout the day.

It also reduces cravings for sugary snacks during the afternoon and evening hours. If you're struggling with weight loss or trying to maintain a healthy weight, skipping breakfast can definitely make that more difficult! And if you're over 40 years old? Missing breakfast will increase your risk of developing type 2 diabetes by 50 percent!

If you've ever skipped breakfast because you were too busy or didn't feel like cooking in the morning, then consider this: skipping breakfast has been shown to lead to weight gain in women and increased cardiovascular risks in both men and women. In addition to this unhealthy habit being bad for your health, skipping breakfast could also be making your life more difficult by leaving you feeling drowsy throughout the day (remember when I said I felt like falling during church service? That's drowsiness).

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

It's also important to eat breakfast because it increases your metabolism for up to 24 hours after eating. This means that if you skip breakfast, it can take up to 24 hours before your metabolism begins to function normally again. The benefits of eating breakfast include increased energy levels throughout the day as well as improved concentration levels and the ability to stay focused on tasks throughout the day without fatigue setting in too early.

Dinner on the hand is something I can skip because sometimes I am already full before it's time for dinner (i tend to eat snacks at regular intervals during the day πŸ˜‰). The only reason why I don't like skipping dinner is that I stay up very late at night and if I skip dinner, I will end up very hungry in the middle of the night, and eating at that point isn't advisable, why?

It's bad for your health! Eating late at night disrupts your circadian rhythm, which means that you may have trouble sleeping and waking up in the morning. This can lead to weight gain and other health problems down the road (like heart disease).

You won't also get enough sleep. Your body needs time between 8pm and 8am to recover from any physical activity or stressors of the day (like working out or studying). If you don't get enough sleep during this window, it affects how well your brain functions during waking hours and could affect your mood too! You will be craving sugar later on as well, it just looks like too much trouble for some late-night eating, don't you think?

Source

Overall, I can live without eating dinner and I have done it a couple of times but I will have to eat breakfast very early the next day or I won't have the energy to do anything throughout the day. Besides, most of us do a lot of work in the morning and do less in the evening, so it's more important to eat breakfast, or are you able to function properly for the rest of the day when you skip breakfast? Let me know your thoughts in the comment section

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Sunday July 17, 2022

10
$ 1.66
$ 1.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
+ 8
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

Most days, I eat twice. Even when I am at home doing nothing. For one, I wake up 8am or thereabout, and before I feel hungry, around 10am–12pm. So, na till night again. But the food dey many shaπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 why you no go eat two times when you already eat morning and afternoon food at the same time. I can only do something like that when I am in school, but here at home I dey even eat 4 times sometimes πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wonder how your belle go be now. Why you never go back to Optimum?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wetin wan carry me go optimum? πŸ€” Make I go there go spend the small money wey I dey save πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think sey you dey do Mr. Independent, Big boy, you don't need to suckle mama's bosom. BTW, help me send Best WhatsApp number for WhatsApp, I want to say hi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Better to skip dinner than breakfast as breakfast is the most important meal of the day. In the evening we can skip because we will just sleep but if youa re wide awake until almost midnight and then don't skip meal.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am usually awake until midnight and that's why I don't like skip dinner. The one I am more comfortable with skipping is lunch

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So eat dinner full hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey kush kush! It's been awhile.

I definitely can skip breakfast on sundays. I actually do not eat anything till about 2pm on Sundays but funniest thing is that any other day, I'll just faint.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You don finally show your face again for here, runaway soldier πŸ˜† hope all is well sha?

You are trying o, I can't even imagine staying up till 10am without eating, especially on Sundays, I can do that every other day of the week but Sunday is a no-no

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's the other way round for me, as i am typing this i haven't eaten. We skip breakfast in our house, most times i eat around 12noon or 1pm but that Dinner is a family thing. It's when we all can sit together eat and talk. I find it weird when i eat eat early. It will slow me down.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah, let's just say you guys have deleted anything like breakfast in your house πŸ˜† the meal I am more comfortable skipping is actually lunch and I do that a lot in school. I eat breakfast late and eat dinner early, the next day I repeat the process and the struggle continues πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Breakfast is number one, although I've stayed multiple times without taking breakfast and I usually function well but when it comes to choosing, breakfast first, I can skip dinner. Breakfast gives support for the day's work and dinner, if I didn't eat, then I'll go to sleep early to forget the stomach till next morning

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly bro, I can just sleep off without eating dinner and then worry about breakfast the next morning but skipping that breakfast is a big no for me, even though I will eat it late I must still take something πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Umm...maybe breakfast, just like many other people. hahaha...sleeping without dinner is more painful than skipping breakfast.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

At least you will be asleep and won't worry much about it πŸ˜† skipping breakfast on the other hand will mean I will be awake and be thinking about it until I have eaten something (maybe lunch)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I prefer breakfast, but I think I only eat less during breakfast meal. Haha. I'm not a heavy eater.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here, breakfast is the lightest meal for me in the day, and lunch is the heaviest 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's easy to skip breakfast than dinner..but the right one is, it's better to be full in the morning than at night..we'll just sleep anyway

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, exactly ate Jane, it's not exactly healthy to sleep with a full stomach at night, unless we eat dinner hours before sleeping

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I skip breakfast when I already had a cup of coffee in the morning. Also with dinner, I also skip if I'm still full with my afternoon snacks but if I would choose which I could skip, then I would rather skip dinner rather than with breakfast.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is something I do as well, I skip dinner when I am still full with afternoon snacks but I sometimes end up regretting it especially when I have to stay awake deep into the night

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here, I seldom eat dinner but I can't live without eating breakfast. I can't function wellπŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Breakfast is the fuel I need to go through a day, without it I will end up useless πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As much as possible, I'd prefer not to skip either meals. However, I prefer light meals both on breakfast and dinner.
Occasionally though, I skip breakfast and have a heavy brunch in the mid morning.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I always take light meals for breakfast but sometimes I end up taking it very late, especially when I am in the university. I may not get the chance to take breakfast the usual time I normally take it, so it ends up becoming brunch lager on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess I am wired differently. I sometimes eat late into the night and I sleep so sound. I don't feel drowsy too when I don't take breakfast even though I know it's not that good. I usually wake up late so I eat much later in the day. I am always still very productive.

I want to take breakfast seriously going forward though...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I also wake up late most times and I end up taking breakfast late as well, but better late than never. I can't just say I will wait till afternoon and take lunch, I will end up becoming useless that morning and won't be able to do anything productive πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£ I feel you. It's good that you have studied yourself to know what works best. I like that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hola amigo, te recomiendo, que si saltas le cena por algΓΊn motivo y tiene que salir temprano y no te da tiempo de desayunar, tomese un vaso de agua, es lo mejor que podrΓ‘s consumir en las maΓ±anas y despues consuma fruta, hasta que llegue la hora del almuerzo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

eso es cierto, es mejor tomar agua por la maΓ±ana y algunas frutas que quedarse sin comer nada

$ 0.00
1 year ago