When it comes to fashion, do you buy famous brands?

25 41
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Today is the end of October and we are one month closer to Christmas, who's excited? I don't know if I'm excited or not but I just want this year to be over, it was fun for some parts but most of it was crazy. I have been thinking about buying new clothes and shoes (especially shoes) and one thing that has been discouraging me from going out to buy them is having to deal with traders.

Model Source

I don't know about anyone else but buying fashion items is very difficult for me because you never know what to expect when it comes to the price of what you want, heck, most of the time you won't even know what you want until you get to the store. The only time I'm comfortable with going to buy clothes or shoes is if I already have an idea of what I want and the price, then I know I won't have to spend much time haggling prices with the seller.

And that's the part I hate the most; haggling. I just wish the stores over here have a fixed price for their goods, I can just go in and see the price tag on each product but the sellers won't do that because they prefer to fix a price depending on who they are dealing with. If they sense you're a rich person, they give you an outrageous price and if you're not aware of the real price, you might get ripped off.

When it comes to buying clothes, I don't mind if they are branded or not, as long as they look good, then I buy them. In fact, I tend to stay away from those branded clothes from famous designers (like Nike, Adidas, Versace, Gucci, etc) because they can be very expensive! But when it comes to shoes, I prefer branded ones, coz why not?

Source

I don't have a favorite brand as I have bought shoes from Nike, Balenciaga, Gucci, and puma. Although they are expensive, I still buy them because one thing I have realized is that most people (especially guys) pay more attention to your shoes than your clothes, and if you're not wearing a branded one, the next thing you will hear is "what's the name of your shoes?". So yeah, I usually buy branded ones because they are more recognizable even without asking.

That was my mentality when I was younger but over the years, I realized it doesn't really matter if it's branded or not, most people no longer ask the question "what's the name of your shoes?" these days. It was very common during my teenage years but these days, nobody cares anymore. And back then, branded shoes looked much better and had better quality but these days, I have seen a lot of very good-looking unbranded shoes.

I was going through jumia (an online shopping store in my country) and I found myself in their sneakers section. I kept admiring the beautiful sneakers they have there and a lot of them aren't branded, but they look really good! I won't even dare buy any of them because I'm not sure of their quality, they are just too cheap and it makes me feel like there's something wrong with them.

You can see the first shoe in the above picture is Adidas, a famous brand and the dollar equivalent of that price is roughly $45 while the shoe next to it is just around $8 and I prefer that to the Adidas because it's more beautiful but I can tell that the Adidas has better quality. Don't even get me started with the two shoes at the bottom, they are even more gorgeous and cheap too! Just slam a Nike or Adidas logo on them and the price will be x5.

I will definitely love to buy those sneakers but as I said earlier, I don't trust their qualities, even though the reviews from other people that have bought them said the quality is okay. And also, I have big feet and I'm afraid that if I buy shoes from an online mall, they will end up sending me the wrong size, and it's always the one smaller than my feet, so I better not risk it.

Right now I can clearly see the prices of those shoes in jumia but I'm pretty sure that if I go out to a physical market to look for them, the prices will be doubled (that's if I can even find them). I still prefer branded shoes but they have gotten even more expensive these days, just like a lot of things in my country, all due to the effects of inflation. Unbranded ones are even better than those fakes and cheap knockoffs, I'm talking about shoes having something like "Gucic" as their name instead of "Gucci". Or "abidas".

Screenshot from jumia

I no longer care about wearing non-branded shoes or even branded ones that aren't famous, things are no longer as they used to be and I will rather save my money for more important things. If I have a lot of money to spare, then of course I will go for the likes of Nike, Adidas, and the rest, but for now, I will just make do with the unbranded ones. So, what about you; Do you go for famous brands when shopping for fashion items, or do you stick with unbranded ones?

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Monday October 31, 2022

10
$ 0.83
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 2
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

Am.also excited for buying new clothes ,new shoes and go for a shopping . I like shopping . Its my favorite hobby. But am not particular about any brand . Any thing that attract me i want to buy . I buy anything accordinv to my budget .Mostly i buy those dresses or shoes that have low price but have good quality ..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the same thing I do, I usually go for the ones that are cheap but have good quality as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm really not particular about the brand. If something caught my attention, I'll grab it and check if the quality is good. Well, most branded items have the best quality, I also aligned the things I buy according to my budget. Mostly, I buy items that have low-cost but of good quality.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Most branded items have the best quality and that's actually what makes them more expensive but there are some really good unbranded ones that have a good quality

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is so true. Their high price is just because of the quality they have. Korean items and some Japanese items are known for having good quality even though they are not branded. I have proven it also, and that is why most of the time, I bought some items in a Korean surplus store because it has a cheaper price.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so true, I always find items from Asian countries to be of good qualities and relatively cheap

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's even famous to many people, so who cares about the branded items that are famous because of their name, when there's something that has an equal quality but of a cheaper price.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most people buy branded items because of the prestige that comes with it. Wearing something that is popular boosts the ego of a lot of people

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never thought about brands specifically. I prefer to spend my money on trying new restaurants rather than buying branded clothes/shoes

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol, I don't really pay much attention to fashion, that's why I don't have a preference for brand or unbranded clothes/shoes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have bought a branded wear before although unintentionally because when it comes to fashion, I really care. Infact I don't even have fashion sense lol.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lmao, I can relate with you to some extent, I don't really care about fashion and will rather spend more money on tech gadgets

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mostly buy clothes where prices are fixed and you are excited for Christmas and I am excited for my wedding which is on Christmas day

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's a very awesome news, congratulations to you! 😊 Have a wonderful wedding

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I buy the brand that is good, if someone talks about it, I choose that brand....Jumia products too are good

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah their products are good, but they sometimes send the wrong size of clothes or shoes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Brand don't matter to me, I wear when I feel good to me, coz if I choose branded items I except the high price than the unbranded one.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same here, branded clothes and shoes are generally more expensive, especially if they are from famous brands like Nike and the others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too kushyzee I don't mind what brand of my clothes as long as it suits me and I am comfortable with it. That's the important to me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's all that matters Ramona, as long as they are comfortable and of good quality, then I don't mind buying any brand or even unbranded ones

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True Kushyzee that's true as long as it has a good quality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whether branded or unbranded, what matters to me is the quality. If the shoes or clothes are of quality, there is no harm in getting them even without being branded one. Life don pass make we dey check for branded shoes when people donΒ΄t even care anymore.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ exactly my point o, gone are the days when people mostly buy famous brands, these days we just buy whatever is of good quality and looks good, especially if it's cheap

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't afford brand new luxury designer shoes like Gucci, Chanel, or Balenciaga and the rest but I won't buy counterfeit. I prefer buying affordable ones that are the style I like. I don't also have problems wearing preloved/second-hand items. Nike/Adidas we buy when on sale. I'm good at bargain hunting. 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Women are generally better at bargain hunting, most men are hopeless in that aspect (including me πŸ˜†). I also don't have a problem wearing second-hand items, there are a lot of really good ones out there that looks brand new

$ 0.00
1 year ago