This is how you get better at anything

22 55
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🀠 how was your Monday?

I have been battling sleep for over 6 hours today and that's because of something I did. I have been having a running nose all morning and I know a particular drug that can take care of it but I refused to take it because it comes with a side effect; sleep. Later in the afternoon, the running nose became too unbearable so I just took the drug πŸ˜†

I have been feeling sleepy since then but I refuse to succumb. There was no electricity all morning and right when I was about to give sleep its win and take a nap, power was restored and I stood up immediately, grabbed my laptop, and started working on the project I started yesterday. Before now I wouldn't have bothered to focus on a project when I am sleepy, but something happened yesterday that helped me regain focus.

Stick with like-minded people

Image source

It's very easy to be demotivated when you're doing a certain task and that usually happens when 0no body is doing that same thing around you. I have resumed learning coding since last month but I discovered I didn't have the same zeal and passion I did back when I started, but I got back that passion yesterday on Twitter.

Y'all remember I talked about the recent massacre that happened in a city in my country yesterday, so I went to Twitter to get more details. I was browsing through my Twitter feed when I saw a suggestion by Twitter that I should pick some topics to spice up my feed, so I pick topics related to tech (programming, Blockchain, AI, and others).

Later at night, I started getting tweets that are focused on programming and I started connecting to a lot of programmers. I learned a lot of new things between yesterday and today from other people on Twitter that are in the same field as me. I was a bit skeptical to connect with others whenever there was a tweet with lots of people sharing their opinions because I believed I am still too young in the field to share anything.

Image source

But that mentality changed today when I saw people that were younger than me sharing their opinion and I learned to relax. I replied to a couple of comments today and answered a few questions and it felt so good! I was just saying to myself; "so I know so much that I am now able to answer questions?" Even when I said something wrong, I was corrected in a very good way and I still learned something new.

I have heard people talk about the importance of networking but I always push it off as something I will need to worry about when the time comes coz I felt I have to be a master at what I do before I can reach out to others but no! That's not it. If you want to get better, then you have to connect with others doing the same thing so that you will learn different methods of doing things.

Surrounding yourself with people that are doing the same thing as you can go a long way in boosting your productivity very high. It's one thing to surround yourself with like-minded people, it's a whole other thing to connect with them coz that's how we will truly improve. I can't count the number of resources and knowledge I gained today because I decided to connect with other people in my field.

Image source

We will just be having a discussion in the comment section and someone will go; "you still use that method? There's an easier way that will save you a lot of time, check it out here" and boom! I end up with a better way of doing something that was difficult in the past and I also become more efficient in addition to that.

Let's not forget the motivation that comes with this as well. It's very easy to lose motivation when you're all by yourself, but when you're always surrounded by other people and you hear their testimonies, you become motivated to become a better version of yourself. I always feel happy when I hear programmers getting a job, just like this one below πŸ‘‡

You grow according to the energy you surround yourself with. If you're someone that wants to learn about cryptocurrency and you're always surrounded by friends that are gamers, chances are that you will never be good at cryptocurrency because all they want to talk about every time are games. Have you heard the story of the eagle that grew up amongst chickens?

The short version of the story is that the eagle hatched from its egg among chickens and it grew up with them. He started behaving like chickens and with time, he was seen as one of them and one thing we all know about chickens is that they can't fly, the same happened to the eagle and he ended up not knowing how to fly.

That's what happens when you as an eagle is always around chickens, you won't be able to fly. The bottom line of the whole thing is that if you want to get better at anything, you just have to connect with people doing the same thing. People will always say practice makes perfect but what good is practicing when you don't have anyone to tell you if you're doing well or not? How will you know you're truly growing? Learn to surround yourself with eagles so you can fly above the clouds and reach for the stars

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Monday June 6, 2022

13
$ 5.30
$ 4.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Cogamedia
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

True, sometimes what we need is the right motive at the right time, like in the Bible when Christ went to meet Peter and told them to back to the sea so they can catch, the first thing they said is that they have been there all night but nothing, but its like they were waiting for the right motive for them to go back there again because their motive wasn't strong enough to push them back there and when they follow Christ the back to the ocean, they caught a lot of fish,

What I understand is that sometimes we might be in the right place with the right tool but we might be doing it wrong that's where there was no progress and we need someone to confirm for us that it can work out if we do it this way.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Gbam! You got the point fully. It even works the other way, we might thing we are not making progress until we have showed our work to people in the similar field and they let you know that you're trying, that alone will motivate you to do more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's just like my Adventure in noisecash, I never took it serious because I always sidelined People doing it from that good old days, I got motivator to do it due to I started liking the vibes I was getting from people and.....it was when I tried to be serious the thing cast🀦

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ badluck. The thing is you will actually love something more if people around you are doing it and always talking about it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really effective and really helps me when I put myself and hangout with people who has great influence to my growth, the mindset is positive and relly put me in a good circles.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right, our mind is greatly influenced by the kind of people we hang around with

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You remind me the story that a lion was growing up with sheep and assumed him as the sheep. One's surrounding really matters. If we interact with worthy will become worthy with passage of time

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, connecting with people on the same journey as you will help you reach your destination faster

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are the average of the people you hang out with the most. One tend to take some character from people they walk with. It's good to always choose one's circle wisely.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Your circle will greatly influence you, that's why it's important to stick to those who have similar goals as you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can get better at anything as long as we don't limit ourselves and surround ourselves with like-mind just as you said

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, it's all about moving with the same set of people

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seeing the last photo made me regret not pursuing my computer science career 😭. I even met a Filipina on Hive..she's a software engineer working in Japan..hayst.. But I guess, it wasn't drawn well in my fate.. So I was diverted into a different path..to where I currently am..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's not too late to fix it. If it's something you will really like to pursue, then you can still do it now. You already have a background in computer science so I don't think it will be too hard for you to pick it up again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can still learn online, if you really wanted to. there are lots of free tutorials to start with.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course, I can... Only lack of time...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I completely from the bottom of my heart 100% agree with you on "sticking with right mindset of people"... Yaasss.. I'm literally living through toxic people and it attaches itself to you eve though you are a good person inside out making you toxic some how... damn, more people need to realize if they do not like the energy, they need to leave

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's just it, stay around positive people if you hope to be positive and avoid toxic people because sooner or later, their toxicity will rub off on you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

seriously dude... I have developed severe anger issues from past few years compared to the most patient girl I was 15 years ago... damn, I can't believe how negativity affects us even though we try to ignore things.. our conscious does pick things even without us realising it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's just like staying around smokers all the time, even if you don't smoke but you're indirectly inhaling the smoke from them and it's going to affect you, that's exactly how negativity works as well. It's best to stay away form people like that to keep your mental health in check

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Connecting with like minded people is one thing I've learnt to do since way back, before I don't usually care about the type of people I mingle with but I think that's why life taught me a great bitter lesson about surrounding oneself with like minded people, now I have to either I like it or not and trust me, it has been amazing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Definitely, having people to discuss the things you do everyday can help you to love those things even more. Psychology wasn't kidding when it said the more you talk about something, the more you love it

$ 0.00
1 year ago