The horrors of off-campus hostels; ekosodin perspective 2

6 28
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

This is the concluding part of the article I started yesterday, where I was talking about the crazy things that happen in the off-campus community where I stay, so I will just continue from where I stop. Read part one here just in case you missed it: The horrors of off-campus hostels; ekosodin perspective.

Image source

What changed?

Like I said yesterday, ekosodin is now safe and calm. Before now, there are usually cases of robberies, bullying, gang battles, and murders.

Before talking about the incident that led to the change in ekosodin, I will explain how the off-campus community connects with the university. Ekosodin lies side by side with the university, and they are separated by a fence that has a gate to allow students in and out of the university ground.

The gate is manned by a team of security officers who are there to maintain peace and order, and also to lock the gate whenever there's trouble in ekosodin that might threaten the safety of the university.

On this fateful, one of those gang battles occurred close to the gate, a lot of people were injured and an innocent person and one of the security men at the gate were killed. The incident was really big and it spread around the city, the school immediately ordered the closure of the gate that very day.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

The next day, I noticed a team of policemen and soldiers marched into ekosodin, and the purging began. A lot of arrests were made that day and some of the cultists ran out of the community. All these happened during examination period, and soon after the university went on vacation.

When we resumed for the next session, I thought the expulsion the police and army did the last time was short-term, but I noticed that some of the cultists I know are no longer around. Life in ekosodin improved a lot since that day and I hardly hear any story of the operations of cultists.

I no longer hear gunshots at night, which in the past was a regular occurrence. The nightlife has improved a lot and people can now stay outside even up to 11pm at night, unlike before when everywhere turns into a ghost town at about 8pm.

But does this mean that it's totally safe in ekosodin? Of course not, nowhere is safe in my country but at least crime is now very minimal. My roommate got robbed of his phone a few months ago while coming back home at night. He was suddenly surrounded by 3 people and they were armed with a gun.

They pointed the gun at him and ordered him to submit everything he has with him. They took his phone, money, and the grilled fish he had with him, they left him with only the drink he was holding, I guess it's to help cool his head after coming to terms with the loss of his phone.


Conclusion

Even when ekosodin was still a dangerous place, I still prefer to stay there compared to the other off-campus community which is known as bdpa. Bdpa is a lot worse than ekosodin in terms of security (at least in my opinion).

A lot of students refused to stay in ekosodin back when it was still a hot zone, and that was the reason why the cost of renting an apartment was very low because of the low demand.

Overall, ekosodin is a fun place to stay (unless you have been a victim of its brutality in the past) and I find it lively compared to other off-campus hostels communities around my university, but due to its past bad record, some students are still scared of staying there, but I am happy that all the horrors are now in the past 😊

A huge thanks to @Jane for the sponsorship renewal, I am very grateful for your support ate 🤗

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Tuesday December 7th, 2021

7
$ 3.01
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

I have heard stories of students been ambushed by some other notorious students who dont know the meaning of life but I hae never experienced such nor has it happened to any of my friends. Thats why I make sure that I'm in my room already latest by 8:00pm because I know that ladies are easier preys for these set of students. Whats more painful, is that they might decide to hem her body.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes ladies is also at risk because they might take advantage of them, it's a really sad thing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good thing that the place that used to be dangerous is now safe for students to walk freely,it seems it happens in almost all the university in our country.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, it seems some of them are now channelling their energy into yahoo, that's why things are a lot safer now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ekosodin is similar to pako here, it's dangerous and unsafe but students still troop there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess every higher institution have a community that's very dangerous, that's what happens when a lot of students are living in an area

$ 0.00
2 years ago