Some pros and cons of Sweatcoin you should know

32 104
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

In my last article, I talked about Sweatcoin and its ongoing challenge to get a JBL speaker or the equivalent prize of $110 to 5 lucky winners as well as the upcoming challenge for the month of May which will feature a prize of an Amazon voucher worth $250 to 2 lucky winners (get more details about it here).

In the comment section, some users who have used the Sweatcoin app in the past talked about some of the disadvantages they encountered while using it and I figured I talked about some of its features but I didn't touch on the downside of using the app.

The pros

1. Stay healthy

The main objective of Sweatcoin is to make sure you have a healthy lifestyle and they motivate you to stay fit. A lot of us stay home every day and get little to no exercise (I know that's true for me πŸ˜†) and making use of Sweatcoin can help you stay active.

Trying to meet a certain number of steps daily will require you to take a walk and that itself is exercising. According to Sweatcoin, looking after your health benefits the society and makes you more productive, and thus you are helping to save billions in healthcare which means your movement has value and you deserve a share in it πŸ˜‰

2. Get paid

Don't get me wrong, you're not going to make a million bucks from Sweatcoin but a few extra money wouldn't hurt anybody, will it? You can earn Sweatcoin (swc) as you walk every day and you can use your accumulated swc to buy things from the marketplace.

Aside from buying things directly from the marketplace, you can also take part in auctions to bid on big items like game consoles, massage machines, gift cards worth hundreds of dollars, etc. If you feel like doing some good in the world, then you can donate your swc to various campaigns around the world.

The Cons

1. It consumes battery

Now this one is the major disadvantage of the app which a lot of people have complained about. For the app to work properly, it has to run in the background (even when you're not using it) which means it has to be exempted or blacklisted from your phone's battery saver.

This one is a no-brainer and it's quite obvious that it will consume a lot of battery. So if you're someone that doesn't have a power bank and you're going to be away from home for a while, this is something you might want to consider before making use of the app.

Aside from consuming a battery, it also slows down your phone for the same reason as to why it consumes battery (it's always running in the background). So if your phone has a low RAM (maybe like 2gb), expect it to always lag a lot

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

2. Consumes data

Some persons also mentioned that it consumes lots of data and again it's mostly because it's always running in the background and it's also connected to your Google fit account, so it is always sending and receiving data.

I haven't really noticed its heavy data consumption but I am still watching it. It's too early for me to know for sure if it's consuming data a lot, but I think that will be true considering the way the app works.

3. Items in the marketplace are expensive

If you really want to get good items like an iPhone or a voucher card worth thousands of dollars, then you should be prepared to spend thousands of Sweatcoins (swc) especially if you're taking part in the auction and trust me, getting thousands of swc isn't easy.

You can see the highest bid is more than 30k swc

For every 1000 steps you take, you get 1 swc. Now imagine how many steps you have to take before you will be able to get 1000 swc (don't imagine it, it's 1 million steps πŸ˜†). Let's assume you take 5000 steps every day and you need a million steps to get 1000 swc, it will take you 200 days just to get that!

If you're someone that isn't too bothered about the earnings and just wants to focus on other aspects of this app, then it's perfect for you. Some people just want something they can use to take note of the steps they take in a day and they figured they can just put on the app when walking and aren't too bothered about earning.

If you are like me and can live with those cons I mentioned, then you will enjoy using the app. I don't have a problem with it draining my battery coz it has a big capacity (6000 mAh) and I have a power bank as well. I haven't noticed it consuming much of my data, but I guess that's something I will have to worry about it anytime it comes up.

Big thanks to @Jane and @Bloghound for their sponsorship renewal, I am truly grateful

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Tuesday April 26, 2022

13
$ 4.62
$ 4.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Bilqees
$ 0.04 from @HappyBoy
+ 9
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

Like this, I'm not after the challenges or so cos I know I won't be able to meet up. I hardly move around here. Let them launch so I will withdraw and swapπŸ₯±

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ the price fit go shock you sha, don't put high hopes on it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was actually using it but allowing it to run in the background drains my battery faster

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the major disadvantage I see in using the app, but it doesn't affect me that much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Consumes money and battery. For this Nigeria wey no light and I no get power bank. wa koyo

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 even if you get powerbank you no go still do

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LWKMD. Glad you know

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo na the money be the reason people dey join, once they see it isn't worth much , they quit.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's true sha, by the time they see how stressful it is, dem go quit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think they are right oh it sure consumes data and battery life that was why I stoped the first time but I already joined again sha .. I don’t know if I can win because they are people dedicating their every minute to walk the streets of Lagos just to win the sweat coin challenge.. I foh sha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Even achieving that 8k steps daily looks stressful. I trekked like mad yesterday and I barely made 5k step πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I no even get power trek I for give up self

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the innovation is actually nice, that is excluding the data consumption. I haven't noticed that as well maybe I'll start doing that now

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I have been using it for over 2 days now and the data usage is just around 70mb, so it's not really that much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's cool, but the battery draining is the downside.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah that's the major downside I see in using the app

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But it won't make your phone hot?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No it doesn't, I guess it won't have that effect on most latest phones

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice, just the battery issue then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It cl drains battery life. Toh, it seems people in buhari's country would have a hard time using it be that

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Unless you have a phone with a huge battery capacity and a powerbank as well, you will definitely have a hard time using it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looks like the pros outweighs the cons, a good decision is to go for it!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sure it does, I don't see those cons as a huge problem, except for people that are worried about their battery

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woww. This is a good idea kushy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes it is 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I discovered sweatcoins from kuya lee, when he shared his article about sweatcoins. Though I haven't tried using it because I'm too lazy to walk even just a few meters lol 🀣 But it's good for those people who loves to jog

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, people that love jogging can take advantage of it, they have nothing to lose 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have this app before but I think I should have in my mobile and I am like you because my battery capacity is also good

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's why I am using it as well, my battery capacity is very good

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, I leave the sweating to people like you oo

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ like say I go even take am serious

$ 0.00
1 year ago