School of paranormal activities

43 50
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

I saw a short post by @Theblackdoll saying the Halloween writing contest is ending today and I said; "oh sh*t! I haven't written mine yet". I already got a topic in mind some days back but I was focused on other article, but here we go.

Image source

The supernaturals of new era school

I went to a private primary school that's close to a public secondary school called new era and it's an all-girls school.

Back then, we are always hearing rumors of mysterious activists being done in the school, and sometimes it affects my school as well. There's a forest all around the public school and people say there are all sorts of creatures in there which includes witches as well (but in this case the students of the school are the culprit).

One notable creature which I have heard roams that forest is called bush baby. They say it walks about with a mat in one hand and an oil lamp in the other, and it cries just like a baby. The cry is used to attract victims who think it's a baby and go out to rescue it, and they end up getting killed.

A Bush baby

Image source

Students of the public school have told us that some of their peers have gone missing when they entered the forest and they believe it's the work of the bush baby.

Another version of the story says when one encounters the bush baby, they are offered boiled yams by the creature and if you eat from the yam, you will be killed. Adults have warned us to never go into the forest because of the threat of the bush baby, but a friend of mine disobeyed.


An encounter with the bush baby

We usually go to the field in the public school to play football when all the students have gone home, and as usual, we were there one day playing football.

During the course of playing football, one of us decided to go exploring and he ventured off into the forest, and nobody knew until we heard a blood-curdling scream from the forest.

Everyone froze and we were all looking in the direction of the forest, and that's when we noticed someone was missing. No one dared take a step towards the direction of the forest and we were contemplating running away when suddenly we saw him running out like crazy.

We all stood back waiting for him to meet up with us, and when he did he was sweating profusely. We asked him what happened and he went on to explain that the bush baby almost caught him.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Everyone's heart skipped a beat when they heard that name. He went on to explain that he went into the forest and was trying to pluck some fruits from a tree when he suddenly heard a baby crying.

At first he was confused and was wondering what a baby could be doing in a forest and then he suddenly remembered the bush baby. He turned back to run but something grabbed his legs and he fell, that was when he screamed. He got back up and kept running until he came out of the forest.

After that story, everyone hurriedly left the field and we never went back to play football there again.


Mermaid in the school

Image source

As I said before, some of the mysterious things that happens in new era secondary school also affect mine sometimes, and the one I could vividly remember was the appearance of a mermaid in the school's toilet.

A river flows behind new era secondary school, just beyond the forest and we have heard that there are mermaids in the water or as we call them in Nigeria; mami water.

These are not the regular cheerful mermaids you see in barbie or Ariel in the little mermaid movie, they are vicious creatures that kill humans.

Ariel

I was in my classroom back then when we suddenly started hearing shouts and there were commotions everywhere, someone ran by and was screaming " there's mami water (mermaid) in the toilet". As soon as my class teacher left to see what was going on, we all ran out as well towards the direction of the restrooms.

When we got there, all the teachers were gathered at the door of one of the toilets and I saw one of them with a broom flogging something I couldn't see. Some of the teachers were holding the students back and some others were praying hard as the one kept flogging the creature with a broom.

The teachers finally succeeded in sending all of us out of the vicinity of the restroom. I met my younger sister who arrived at the scene earlier and she told me that what they are flogging has a fishlike tail.

I started wondering what could a mermaid possibly be looking for in a primary school's toilet and out of water, what if it wasn't a mermaid? If it wasn't a mermaid, what then could it be that even the headteacher was present at the scene?


I was feeling that it couldn't be a mermaid and when I asked later what happened to it, they said it "disappeared". Although I didn't believe it was a mermaid, so many students who saw it believe it was because they all said they saw a fishtail.

It was a pretty big incident and the school had to be shut down immediately and for the next few days. Up till now my sister still believes it's a mermaid because she saw it but I had a hard time believing it coz why will a mermaid just be chilling in a toilet?


Conclusion

And there! That concludes my entry for Theblackdoll's #Halloweencontest2021. It has been a race but I am glad I was able to publish this before the end of today.

I still pass by my old primary school and the public school once in a while and even though it has been a lot of years, I can't forget those experiences.

The forest around the public school has been leveled down and the school is now wearing a modern look, unlike before that it looks like a haunted place.

It was after some years that I got to know that there's actually an animal called bush A.K.A Galago, but I still believe there's a killer bush any out there.

Looks cute, no?

Image source

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday, October 30th, 2021

17
$ 8.28
$ 7.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.48 from @Theblackdoll
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Very creepy, I would never set foot in that forest. And about the mami water in the bath. It sounds a bit hard to believe but who knows what would be in that bath that had several terrified.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's exactly what I'm thinking as well, I find it hard to believe it's a mermaid but whatever it is, it's not anything better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldn't view the bush baby because it was scary even as you narrated it. Nawa oo These creatures ehn, one needs to be careful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I even can't imagine encountering one in the forest, God forbid sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe! I don't want to imagine what would happen πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it looks exactly like a tarsier or and aye-aye from Madagascar movie

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, that's it πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would not want to go to the bush after reading this, hahaha. And I also wonder what could have been in the toilet then. Glad you got your entry :) All the best!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you ma'am πŸ€— I keep wondering till today what could have been in that toilet, it's still a big mystery to me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mami water? Public schools have this funny experiences in common. I remember when some pupils used to go for swimming in a nearby river during school hours and lots of things happen. Despite warnings not to go for swimming during or after school days, I still found myself swimming 🧐

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You don see one before? I heard they can make you rich. Just meet one for massive cash out πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. They only come out at night or early morning to play around when people are not around, so if we wanna see them we know when to meet them🧐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, no worry I no wan meet them again πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shocks! Glad i read this this ! morning. It is very scary hearing a baby cry. Nono if i have a high blood i well be dead id ever i will witnessed that kind of thing. You are good at narration huh pang Wattpad hehhehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ I will faint if I ever see something like that in the forest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, I laugh to that "Mermaid chilling in the toilet!" Hahahaha wth πŸ˜‚. Anyways, I'm super jealous coz I don't have anything to share about this horror thingy. Even if some fictional, I just can't create one coz I can't relate πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You don't watch horror movies?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The story i heard about the Bush baby is that, once you take its mat you'll be richπŸ˜‚ but dream of its crying everyday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly πŸ˜‚ I have also heard that before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You almost missed the deadline Ahahah, Better late than never. Good luck in the contest!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, I'm lucky I made it. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dad who was a hunter in his prime told us many bush baby stories. All scaryy. He said the hair of a bush baby is capable of regenerating lost parts and many a time someone who got his leg amputated got the lost parts regenerated after rubbing bush baby's hair. Strange creature though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's very weird, this is the first time I am hearing about its regenerative ability

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. So many weird things are associated with the bush baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My first time to know about bush baby. What we have here was the tiyanak who cried like a baby but deadly as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It might probably be the same creature but it has a different name in your region

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my this is so scary. I've heard many times too a baby crying. 😰 I'm glad that he's okay Kushyzee. The other one is the mermaid. A scary too. If I will be in the situation I will be scream because of the fears.😰 I heard a lot of stories too about a mermaid Kushyzee from my classmates.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have heard lots of scary stories about mermaids and sometimes I do believe they are rea. Do you believe mermaids are real Ramona?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe it Kushyzee since our school when I was in highschool is near at the sea and there are a lot of students there who saw already the mermaid. They said mermaids are real Kushyzee..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I guess I am not the only one that thinks they are real

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mermaids can be evil, and draw people to their death, I wonder what was in that toilet.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I keep wondering the same thing too since I didn't catch a glimpse of it, but people said it's a mermaid but I doubt it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes very unlikely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

E suppose be youπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. But guy, no jokes, i nor go that school again

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 guy wetin you say make I do, I had to continue coz I too young to begin pay my school fees myself πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find Mermaids fascinating... but many people believe Mermaids are not as nice as they show in Disney or Tv series and they are actually deadly like sharks... and I have never ever heard of the bush baby legend, I learned something today from your post... thank you for the entry :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also believe that if mermaids are real, they won't be peaceful creatures. I imagine them to be similar to the sirens found in Greek mythology.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very interesting, I need to find time to read about Greek mythology as I heard they sound so fascinating and down right creepy too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You haven't read about Greek mythology? 😲 I find that really surprising. Greek mythology is very interesting and yeah also creepy πŸ˜… you can start reading about it from here https://www.encyclopedia.com/literature-and-arts/classical-literature-mythology-and-folklore/folklore-and-mythology/greek-mythology

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the link, you are so sweet, am saving it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome ma'am πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago