Liar liar pants on fire

27 45
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Howdy folks 🀠 how was your Monday? Mine was again unproductive like every other day, even when I had something important I need to do. It is almost 2 weeks since I returned from my field practical training in Lagos and the university is currently on lockdown because of the current strike, but I decided to stay back in school and work on my report.

We are expected to write a report at the end of our practical training and submit it after a week but since the university is currently on strike, we will have to submit it whenever school resumes (probably towards the end of April). But unfortunately, I haven't started my report yet 😩 I have been procrastinating but I promise myself to start tomorrow πŸ™‚.

But enough of the rant, let me go straight to the topic for today. I was with a friend yesterday when a call came in and it was her mother. I heard her saying she went to church earlier (which is a big lie!) and that she's currently in Lagos because her practical training isn't over yet, and she even has a class the next day!

Image source

She was spinning the webs of lies so well that I was even believing it despite the fact that I was there with her and I knew we returned from Lagos more than a week ago. When she ended the call, I asked her what that was about and she said she haven't told her mom she was back from Lagos because she will order her to return home since the university is on strike.

I told her how she was a master when it comes to lying and she laughed and said "The key to a good lie is to mix in some elements of truth, and sometimes you have to use a real event", and she's right! The trick to telling a great lie is to start with the truth and simply deviate from it.

One thing some persons do when they lie is to leave out certain things when telling a story and even when they are caught, they will say; "I didn't lie, I just left out some certain things which I thought isn't necessary". In that case, will you still call it a lie? That depends on how you see it, I still choose to see it as a lie.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I don't think there's anybody innocent when it comes to lying (except maybe babies), we even do it subconsciously sometimes without even realizing we just lied. I actually do think people do get better at lying the more they do it, just like every other skill (practice makes perfect πŸ˜‚).

I used to be a bad liar when I was a kid but I worked on it and got better by learning from my mistake. Usually, the first step to telling a good lie is believing it yourself, and that's a lot easier if you start with the truth and start deviating from it. There are also other factors to consider during lying like breathing, body language, intonation, and others.

It looks like I am encouraging you guys to lie πŸ˜‚ but is lying really a bad thing? I guess it depends on the situation in which it's used but yet again it is generally believed that it's a bad thing. Sometimes lying can be useful in getting us out of a dangerous situation in which the truth will be very dangerous (and fatal πŸ˜‰) but some other times, lying can be very unnecessary and is done when someone has a selfish motive.

So what do you think, is lying totally a bad thing? How good of a liar are you?

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Monday March 28, 2022

14
$ 6.71
$ 6.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 12
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Aha! That's something beautifully told. Some people are really good at lying that they make almost everyone believe in them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They have literally become masters in the art of lying 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

some lies are told to protect innocent ppl who would otherwise suffer injustice or prevent irreversible harm being done stuff like those...but still, I don't condone it ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most of us those lies told to protect someone as a necessary evil 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Lie to me" like the tv show πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. If I tell you the number of lies that I I have lied in this my short life ehn πŸ˜‚.. But now, I am changing smol smile. it's involves a lot of mental stress to lie, and you'd have to cover a previous lie with another lie and another and so on, else you'd be bursted soon... It's far more easier to tell the truth, there's this confidence and peace that one always feel when he or she talks honestly. When you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything. But you have to think very well before you lie, else some one might burst you, based on a previous lie that doesn't correspond with this current lie.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agreed, lying does take a lot of mental power to maintain, especially if it's a large scale lie that involves lots of lies to cover up each other πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

See question from Kushyzee πŸ˜‚ We already know lying is bad, whether said consciously or not, itΒ΄s still a lie. Though, I use to lie but I know what I do is wrong, I quickly ask for forgiveness because it is better to be plain and true rather than finding ways to lie.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am sure you still tell a lie or two sometimes πŸ‘€ like when your friends try to take you out and you tell them you're not around πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmaoo this is very helpful for culprits πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†.. just kidding

I agree, lying isn't a bad thing if used to save the good

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This knowledge can either be used for good or evil, it all depends on the person reading it 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree, this is the greatest article since the time of evolution happened (see, I used it for good use) πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 aww, thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for teaching us how to upgrade that skills πŸ˜†.

I don't encourage it because I am terrible at it, sometimes I tell myself that I am a terrible liar. The biggest reason why I don't lie often is that I am a very forgetful person, I might not remember what I said yesterday so it is better to just say the truth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's one of the problems when it comes to lying; when your story starts contradicting itself πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, people deliberately lie because they might put him self to a great danger. And sometimes people lie with any valid reasons.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

People also lie when there's no need for it, they have gotten used to telling lies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm to absorbed too when I was a kid but I'm not good at lying back then haha my mom would surely look at my eyes strait and that's when I loose it haha but anyways white lies aren't that bad but still lie haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lies are now categorized these days and we now have white lies which is also a lie on its own πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay when a lie saves you from danger. otherwise it's not okay 😁.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But these days everyone thinks it's cool to lie πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Small or big, white or not, still a lie haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No matter how it's painted, a lie is a lie 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hardly a lie isn't to serve one's personal interest. As is lying to save yourself from danger

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm, that's another angle to look at it from, and you're actually right

$ 0.00
2 years ago