It's better to remain friends

33 45
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

This question is for the guys, ever been in a situation where you didn't date a girl because you feel it will ruin the friendship you have with her? I had someone like that when I was in my second year in the university and right now we are really great friends and I didn't regret my decision.

She's my classmate and I knew her when we were in our second year and we became very close. She was always around me and it's only natural for people to assume we were dating, and it doesn't even help that I tend to flirt a lot with her πŸ˜† I didn't actually think about me and her in a romantic relationship but after hearing some persons referring to her as "my wife", I started thinking about it.

Image source

I tend to like someone that has a good sense of humor and she has a very good one! It's very easy to make her laugh and that's one of the things I love about her, as well as the fact that she's smart and hardworking (very hardworking), so what more could I ask for?

The thought of dating her was very enticing but one day I just sat down and thought a lot about it; is a romantic relationship more valuable than friendship? I know there's a big possibility of me ruining the whole thing once we get into a romantic relationship and then we break up, I will end up losing her forever.

But it will be very hard to lose her as a friend, I tend to be very loyal and the problem I have is that I don't usually stay in touch with my friends πŸ˜†. So I finally decided to just remain friends with her and I never regretted it. We tend to have an off-and-on relationship but when either of us needs something, we will always be there for each other.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

When we were in Lagos for our practical training, I spent a lot of time with her and I started to reduce it because my girlfriend was getting super jealous and I had to explain to her about our history and why I am very close with her. "You're always going to her room and she always give you food, and you say you're just friends, are you sure nothing is going on between you two?", She asked me one day.

Some of you might recall that in some of my articles last month, I sometimes made mentioned that one of my classmates gave me food, well she's the one. I don't think I cooked up to 5 times when I was in Lagos because she gave me food most of the time and my girlfriend covered the other part as well.

I remember the day I came back from a meeting very late and stressed out because of Lagos traffic and I wasn't in the mood for cooking, she just came up to me and asked; "will you eat rice?" I felt like a huge burden has been lifted off my shoulders and I immediately nodded my head in affirmation πŸ˜†.

Image source

Some weeks back, she chatted with me on whatsapp and said she need me to help her in designing some flyers and product packaging for her products. She makes liquid soap, hand wash, disinfectant, and other household cleaners. I was into graphics design a couple of years ago but I abandoned it and went into programming.

Some persons have begged me to help them design but I always tell them that I am no longer into it but after my friend begged me, I found myself reinstalling all the tools I used back then as a graphics designer πŸ˜† I knew quite well that she will do the same for me if it was reversed, so I decided to just help her.

And besides, it's just the little way I can help to promote her business. She told me that she have met some other graphics designers but they charged her so much money for the designs and she don't have a lot of money, so I just decided to help her and I told her to worry about the payment later.

I was chatting with her this evening and we were reminiscing about some things from our childhood and we were laughing about them. I started thinking; would we still be together till now if we decided to date years ago? Will the relationship be better than what we have right now? I guess we will never know, but right now I love the way things are.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Wednesday April 6th, 2022

13
$ 3.89
$ 3.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Aww, It's really nice to have a friend like that. Just don't give your girlfriend any reason to be worried because even if you know nothing is going on, she might be seeing things from a different perspective

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true sha. Girls tend to sense danger when it comes to things like that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really good to see when a young man and a young woman form a valuable friendship with mutual understanding. Comrade,you are doing well πŸ€—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Bilqees πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a friend like that too, though ours isn't as deep as this. So many friends suggested that we should date but i know what we have is so precious and shouldn't be destroyed with relationship or whatsoever it's called.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad someone can relate to this. Most of the time it's not always about jumping into relationship with anybody that just shows interest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is better to just be friends with her I have a relationship like that as well and even tho we have had like a discussion about liking each other and all we agreed we can never date and honestly I prefer that option better

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There's a point you just get to and realise you're better off being friends with the person 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly.. I don’t plan to take it further any longer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From a very good experience, the friendship would have died if you had opened up on relationship. There's possibility that she likes you for Romantic friendship but oftentimes, when the deed is done, some uncommon attachments disappears

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just it. I have also seen that from my own experience and I realise I just ratain her as a friend instead of ruining the whole thing with romantic relationship

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dating between besties is always a double edged knife... it's either the biggest blessing in life or biggest curse... But if worked out, how amazing that would be

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a very big risk that I am not willing to take that risk 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess things would have changed if you started dating years ago. And it's more hurting when you guys won't end up together.. So yes, it's better to be friends than to hurt each other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the same conclusion I arrived at. I have lost great friends in the past because we dated and broke up, I don't want to lose this one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very very better if we’re friends only than getting hurt, heart broken and getting dump.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's not worth to risk the genuine friendship we have just for a romantic relationship

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you guys have a mutual feelings why not. Every couple started friends and if both of you decided to remain friends well its good as well. It is just a matter deciding decisions for sake of both.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess you're right, it all depend on what we decide

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's fate who can decide about your relationship. Let your love steadfast until fate will bring you to church.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kikiki Laughs in hidden issorite

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ ode, na your comment I just dey watch out for

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really better just friends. Than eventually get hurt especially if you really like someone

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, we just have to remain friends instead of risk hurting each other

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are really friend things that in a relationship will have a barrier. But eventually it was fixed as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes is better to stay friends but is also best to tell her you like her and strengthen the relationship but it depends on how you really feel.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She actually knows, but I feel it's better to have her as a friend. There's still time to take it further if there's a need for it

$ 0.00
2 years ago