I got scammed today!

36 59
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

This is a bit embarrassing for me to even talk about because I'm usually the kind of person to advise people on how best to keep themselves from getting scammed online but today I found myself falling prey to one of the oldest tricks in the book, simply because I was too desperate and didn't notice the very obvious red flags.

Model Source

All these started last Thursday when I tried to withdraw some money from my account using a POS machine but the payment was declined. The payment was declined but I realized that I was still debited, 5100 (around $6) was removed from my account, so the POS attendant told me the money will be reversed to my account which is true.

I had to wait for 24 hours for the money to be reversed but it didn't, so I laid a complaint with the bank by writing them an email but they didn't reply. My friend told me it's because of the weekend and I should wait till Monday before I can expect a reply. Today being Monday, I emailed them again but I didn't get any response, that was when I became desperate to get my money back and made a foolish mistake.

I went to the Twitter account of the bank and saw other people complaining about failed transactions and asking for a reversal. I noticed one particular comment had a reply by what I thought was the bank's real account. The reply simply said to message a WhatsApp number and drop complaints about transaction problems. The screenshot below is the comment of the person complaining and the reply he got.

I was happy that I got a number I can use to reach them, so I ran over to Whatsapp and messaged that number. I got back an automatic reply which made the whole thing look real, and then I was given a form to fill out. In the form, there was a part about web pay ID which is something I haven't heard about before but they gave instructions on how to get the pay ID, so I went over to my bank app and got the pay ID, and added it to the form.

Immediately after submitting the form, I got a debit alert and the whole money in my account was wiped out. Luckily for me, the money wasn't that much, it was roughly around N15,000 ($20). Immediately I saw the debit alert, I still refused to believe what happened and I was processing the whole thing for over an hour before it finally dawned on me: I have been scammed!

I tried reporting the transaction but I knew it was a futile effort because there's nothing the bank can do, that's even if they will reply to my email. I went back to investigate the Twitter account that dropped the WhatsApp number and I realized it was different from the real Twitter account of the bank. The first picture below is the real account of the bank while the second one is the scammer's account.

The real account. @Joinkuda
The scammer's account having 0 followers @Kudahelp_rg

I went back to the bank app and checked the place where I got the web pay ID from and there was a warning sign there that says "kuda (the name of the bank) will never ask you for your pay ID". How the hell did I not see that? All the signs were there that I was about to get scammed but I didn't see them, all because I was desperate to get back the money that the bank refused to reverse.

So, while trying to get back $6, I ended up losing $20. I'm not even angry about losing the money, what makes me angry is the way I lost the money, it's a very cheap trick and I can't believe I fell for it. I have always heard stories of other people getting scammed and I wondered how they fell for some of those tricks, but now it has happened to me and I can't even believe it.

Anyway, I have moved on from the whole thing, I'm just glad it wasn't a large sum of money. I'm going to delete my account with that bank and look for an alternative, I hate dealing with a business or company that has bad customer service, everyone is complaining that they aren't getting any replies to their emails. Today was a bitter experience and I have definitely learned my lesson. Y'all should be careful out there.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Monday November 21, 2022

13
$ 1.07
$ 0.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

So, sorry kush. Doh! You go get am back a thousand folds. But normal you na aza man. 15k no too much? I hail boss man. Abi make I scam you too?🤔

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂 15k is still much o, but I just compared it with the amount I had in my account when I resumed school. If it was that one they collected, you for don hear by now say I commit suicide 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh noooo! So sorry to hear that you have been scammed. Like you said, luckily it wasn't a huge amount and it is better to learn our painful lessons on smaller rather bigger amounts.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, I'm glad it didn't happen when I had a huge amount of money earlier this month, it would have been a lot more painful than this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry my dear. As a student too,It pains me as if I were the one that' was scammed. God would replenish your lost bro. There's no point beating yourself up, it can happen to anyone and one can't be too careful nowadays as these scammers have become more cunning everyday. God knows that I will fall hopelessly for a scam like this as it looks very organized. May God continue to protect us from the evil ones

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have lost more than this to ponzi schemes in the past, so I have learnt how to move on. But na God go still punish kuda, all these could've been avoided if they just responded to their emails. I'm done with them sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have never fallen to Ponzi and I pray not to ever fall because I don't know if I may survive it if I lose 15k..... in these buhari times 😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I no fit kill myself, I just have to move on and forget about the whole thing 😆 I made the 15k before, I can make it again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😎🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Did you just say 15k is not too much? Haa for this kind economy we dey? Too much oo

It would be so painful knowing someone like you was being scammed and I wouldn't blame you because it can happen to anyone even to someone who would never try falling for such. Mistake happens once. Sorry about the incidence. Was the initial 5k refunded thereafter?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The 5k wasn't refunded o. Like this now I have lost 20k; kuda took 5k, while the scammer took 15k. I'm just lucky that it wasn't the period when I was having a very large amount of money in my account.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's bad and sad too. Sorry about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How many times we'll get scammed to learn the lessons? Another one 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I just hope this is the last time 😆 this is the first time I'm falling for something like this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

many people are still doing on us to make steal our money, i hope one day all the scammers stup and caught and go to jail

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They will definitely be caught one day, karma will hit all of them soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Scammers are scattered everywhere waiting for their prey to be baited. There's an instance that an eager scammer tried to trick me out by sending a parcel with a free gadget inside and I just need to pay almost $15 for the shipping fee. But still, I stand on my own & he/she didn't get any single penny from me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That type of scam is very old but unfortunately some people still fall for that even today. Those scammers are truly evil

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. It may be an old tactic but still, many people do bite their baits. Tsk tsk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so sorry about what happen to you my friend. Others are just greed and hypocrite. I mean tye scammers. Aigoo! They will do whatever it takes just to scam other and steal other's money not knowing how that person work hard for it. Where is their conscience? 🤦

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They don't really have a conscience, they don't care about what happens to the person, as long as they get money from them. They will definitely get hit by karma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry to that kushyzee that's why I hate scammers. They don't have any conscience. They steal a money from the others. I noticed that now scammers are everywhere.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true Ramona, scammers are now every where and they are now more dangerous than before. We should always be careful of who we deal with online

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes kushyzee. Now they are getting worst. We should be careful always Kushyzee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Scammers is willing to do everything just to steal money from people, their method looks real but sometimes there's always a single point of error once they asked personal and private IDs from you. It's sad to be scammed but it's a great lesson to verify everything first.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a new experience for me and I have totally learnt from it. I will be very careful next time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mean, you will never thought of going into twitter to check their support only if they just responded to your email immediately. Like seriously.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's why I also blame the bank. They could have responded to my email and saved me from getting scammed but they didn't. They have very bad customer service

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tssss, you should report that visit them personally.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I've done that already

$ 0.00
1 year ago

$20 is big enough,Ow Why there are scammers? Money cannot be earned in easy way but they take advantage to other people's hard earnings.they will get karma soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They will definitely get their karma. Instead of working hard to earn money, they prefer scamming other people of their hard-earned money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh boy, so sorry for you.

"I went back to investigate the Twitter account that dropped the WhatsApp number" The first thing you need to do is that! If a lot has happened to me and you have seen it, they have tried, and we always have to investigate first.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I failed to do at first. I should have investigated the account first before messaging the number on Whatsapp, that was my mistake

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh Kushy! You know what you did there. You will earn back the money you lost. Remember the lesson! 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I will certainly never forget it. Thanks momma 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago