Hoping for the best but expecting the worst

22 41
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Hope, Optimism, Pessimism

Let's dance in style

Let's dance for a while

Heaven can wait we're only watching the skies

Hoping for the best but expecting the worst

Are you gonna drop the bomb or not?

The above lines are from a song by Mr. Hudson and Jay-Z titled forever young and I first listened to the song I think in the year 2010. The exact line I am focused on is the quote; "hoping for the best but expecting the worst".

Image source

Life comes with both good and bad aspects and it's what gives it balance, sort of a yin and yang situation. Most people expect things to always turn out good and in the end if things go sideways, they are full of disappointment and are frustrated.

They forget that nothing is certain in this world (except death) and something that has been going one way for a long time can just change direction in the next minute, what do I mean by this?

Take for example a farmer that started planting on new land and he have a bountiful harvest that year, he will expect the same result next year. When he achieve the same result next year, he will expect it to always be that year, but we all know that's not how things work, there's going to be a particular year he won't have a bountiful harvest.

That's usually the mindset of people that don't see the different angles of a situation, they only know how to look at things one way. They are looking at one side of a coin, forgetting that a coin has two sides and when it's flipped, you can either get a head or a tail.

Image source

For someone like me, I have always lived by the quote "hoping for the best but expecting the worst" and I tend to apply it to all aspects of my life, it's the perfect way for me to minimize disappointments, frustrations, and heartbreaks.

It's all about praying for something to work out well but at the same time having it in mind that it might fail and be prepared to deal with the consequences. Last year I took part in a lot of investments online that are very risky, there's a high chance of you losing your capital.

A couple of us in a certain Whatsapp group are always investing in one scheme or the other and I usually tell myself one thing: "invest the money and forget all about it, if it comes then it's great, if it doesn't, well life goes on".

Image source

And it's because of that mentality I usually invest what I can afford to lose, and then keep praying for it to work out and I get profit from it but at the same time I have it in mind that it might fail and I will lose everything.

Sometimes it ends up well and everyone is happy with the profit they got but most times it ends up very bad and everyone loses all their funds. While others are weeping and regretting investing in the Ponzi, I just remain calm coz I saw it coming.

This also applies to making and keeping friends, when I have found a very good friend that I believe is perfect (although no human is perfect 😉), I always hope we will be friends for a very long time but at the same time, I have it in mind that things will likely end one day.

This is life and everyone is not expected to be in our lives forever, so it's no use just being 100% certain that a particular person will remain with you forever, so many things can take the person away from you: a sudden bad habit, relocation, better job opportunity, and the worst of them all; death.

It also happened when I joined this platform, I was hoping to gain a lot and have frequent visits from our friendly neighborhood rusty but at the same time I was prepared for the worst; no visits from rusty. It was part of what kept me focused and always willing to push forward.

Image source

Some people see the good in everything and are always expecting things to go smoothly, and they are called optimists. On the other hand, some only see the bad in everything and are always expecting something to go wrong, we call them pessimists but for me, I am somewhere in between.

I like to look at a situation from every possible angle and make decisions according to how things should be and insurance in case things go wrong. It's all about preparing for the worst so it wouldn't hurt a lot when it finally happens.

I am not saying you should be expecting things to go wrong, but always have it in mind that things might not go as planned and be prepared to deal with them accordingly. Hope for the best but expect the worst.

This is my entry for the favorite quote prompt by @Theblackdoll. If you want to participate, you just have to write about your favorite quote and how it inspires you. You can get more details about it from her article.

Meanwhile, enjoy the song young forever by Mr. Hudson and Jay-Z, it's still a masterpiece even after so many years

Huge thanks to @BCH_LOVER for her sponsorship renewal

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Wednesday December 8, 2021

10
$ 5.81
$ 5.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Hope, Optimism, Pessimism

Comments

We can never get everything in the good way all the time, we must also expect the worst to happen and we must be ready for it. Life is in twos, the good and bad sides.

Everyday isn't Christmas just as people used to say, we must also be ready for the bad since we have always experienced the good sides of life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Just like how there is day and night, there's also good and bad. After a very long day, the night will always come at one point and after the night, there's day. We shouldn't expect things go always be good and ignore the thoughts of it going bad, just like how we can't ignore the thoughts of night coming

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Odogwu! You nailed it. Ponzi is a clear example of 50/50, even when it's new and want to put your whole life because it'll surely (because they just started), having it in that crashing is possible before the cash out date is the real deal. This mindset helps to live a life of less frustration because the mind is made up already

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aswear bro, you just have to expect failure so that when it happens e no go too pain you like that. The mistake most people make in Ponzi is that they expect things to go well, some will even start spending the money in their head before it arrives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the key secrets towards living the good life. Bearing in mind that things coupd go wrong anyway and Anytime helps keepvoir insanity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Coming to terms with the fact that life is full of ups and downs and that things can go wrong at anytime will help to make our lives better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You nailed it buddy,while expecting the best we should also note that worst times would come, let's be prepared for whatever is coming.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's important to always have a backup plan in case what we are expecting turns out the other way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm truly agree with this kushyzee. We shouldn't expect for the best since it will hurt us if the things fail us. It's like a preparation for us to be ready what will be happen since we cannot predict it.

It's better to be ready all the time. Expectation can down you if you expect a lot. Try to balance it. I have an experience with this kushyzee. I met someone. I thought she's real. I expect a lot that we became bestfriends forever until I discovered the truth, she was only using me. It's truly hurt.💔 I learned a lessons with that experience I have.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry about your negative experience with your friend, at least you have learnt a very good lesson from that experience. I always have it in mind that people will always disappoint me so that when it actually happens, I won't be shocked and it won't hurt too much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes kushyzee. I learned a lesson with that experience since I didn't expect it would happened that's why it affects me a lot. Yes that's right Kushyzee, we must expect worst.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww I really love this song. I sang it in shower hahahhaa. Anyways life will have ups and downs but it's normal. We just need to do our part and don't live with too much expectations.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just it, we need to know that life comes with ups and downs and it's not always going to be good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was my favorite song at a point, I can rap it all if you care to listen. There are two faces to everything about life and we must be prepared for it.

It might be good or bad, we must always be prepared for the worst thing that life may send our way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was also my favorite song at one point and I still love it till now, it's a great song

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should always be in hope and not expect from anything else. As what we taking risk is somewhat lead us into a better person. We all know that taking risk in investing is somewhat taking risk yourself as well but God is within us. We should be keep going no matter what.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, taking risk can lead us into a better person but we should make sure we don't take unnecessary risks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesss u said it good😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I land this article on my personal plane, I am looking forward to reaching 1 BCH, I have it so close that I am dreaming about it. We have to always wish and hope for the best. Positive mind.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Positive mindness is a good thing but at the same time we should have backup plans in case things go wrong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really does hard to be optimistic all the time.. And the worst result of our expectations sometimes makes us demotivated..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If we only think about the good aspect of a thing, we will fail to see the bad side of it and it becomes worse when it happens because it will come as a shock

$ 0.00
2 years ago