Ended bad, started worse: new month rant

33 55
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

The usual articles you come across on the last day of the month and the beginning of a new month is the monthly report/reviews, where most people talk about what they have achieved for the previous month, but I won't be doing that for this article (maybe the next one).

Yesterday was the end of the month and I had a very bad experience in Lagos. For those that don't know, I and my classmates traveled to Lagos to continue our field practical training, and we usually commute every day because the headquarters of the institute is far from where we stay.

We usually take around 2 to 3 hours to get to the headquarters with a vehicle we chartered, then the driver comes back in the afternoon around 1:30pm and take us back home, but something went wrong yesterday 💀

Image source

Yesterday, when it was getting to the time for the bus driver to arrive, we called him and his phone was switched off. We assumed maybe he couldn't charge his phone and he will probably be waiting for us outside, we went to check and he wasn't there. We waited till about 3pm and that was when we knew the driver won't be coming.

The only option left for us is to start taking public buses at different locations until we get home, and some of us have to carry others to minimize cost. I was one of the people that was carrying someone on my lap, and she was sitting there for over 1 hour because there was traffic on the road.

I was very uncomfortable because I couldn't even sit straight in the congested bus (I am very tall), coupled with the fact that someone was sitting on my lap. After a while, my legs started aching very bad and I had to adjust my legs so many times just to cope with the pain.

We got to the final bus stop for that route and we had to take another public bus to the next location, that was when we noticed there was a problem; there was a multitude of people heading in the same direction as us but there was little to no buses. We joined the crowd and started hoping for a miracle, but it was looking very unlikely.

Typical Lagos traffic

Image source

One of us suggested we start trekking, but I check Google Maps and discovered the distance from where we are to our next location is over 35 minutes with a bus! Now imagine walking that distance, it will take over 2 hours to get there. I was already losing all hopes of a bus arriving, but some of my female classmates were able to stop a pickup truck and begged them to carry us.

Immediately the truck driver agreed, several people started dragging to mount the truck, it was chaos! The driver got angry and said everyone should get down that he isn't helping anymore, but we begged him and he calmed down. Some of my female classmates had injuries on their knees and legs while trying to climb the truck and one was even crying.

We held on to whatever we can on the truck, I and several other guys were standing while the girls sat down on the truck's floor. The driver collected a little amount of money from all of us which we gladly paid because that was better than waiting for a miracle bus to arrive. We got to the next location and there was a scarcity of tricycles which was supposed to take us to our hostels.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Some of us ended up taking motorbikes because we are already tired and couldn't wait for a tricycle. We finally got home at about 7pm and I was even too tired to cook, but luckily someone gave me something to eat.


Then this morning

We left the house by 6am and we hadn't even gone far and we met crazy traffic which was very unusual on that road. The traffic hold-up was so bad that our driver and several others turned off their vehicle.

It got to 9am and we haven't even gotten to half of the journey, I just knew something was wrong that morning. Some of my classmates were already having breakfast right there on the bus, and I knew if we are not careful we will also eat lunch while still on the road.

But luckily, the traffic later cleared up and we arrived at the institute at about 11am, that is we spent over 5 hours on the road! It wasn't a very fun experience and right now I am tired of Lagos, I haven't experienced a thing like this in the city where I live.

The reason why there's serious traffic everywhere in Lagos might be related to the fuel scarcity that's currently ravaging the country, and it's worse in Lagos because it's an overpopulated state. I just can't wait for this training to be over so I can return to my city, I am tired 😩.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Tuesday March 1st, 2022

14
$ 7.28
$ 6.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 16
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Sorry dear. I'm not really sorry fa. Tall people usually find it very difficult to sit for long in a cramped up vehicle. They'd definitely be experiencing serious aches at their knee region... Me I cannot stay in Lagos o. Except it is helicopter that will be transporting me frommy house to the office. Haba!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

People always hype Lagos as a great place to stay, but I don't really see anything about it, na just stress and traffic full everywhere

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What is more scary to me is that dangote is about to open one of the biggest petrol refinery in that small Lagos. I wonder how the traffic situation will be when that happens. A cousin of mine had already left for the interview three months ago in the refinery. He also studied agriculture

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The refinery will be opened when I am thankfully not here anymore, I can't cope when things are bad like this, so I definitely can't do it when dangote starts operation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako lalong na sstress while reading this dama ko kung gano kastress yang ganyan situation sir, traffic is really as hectic and stressful and makes a person very impatient.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I didn't understand some of the things you said here, I am not Filipino 😆 but yeah, the traffic was very stressful and frustrating

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I no fit laugh abeg , can't you just pretend that you are Filipino. Comrade, why u dey fall hands like this. It's not good o. 😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂 I dey always tell them before hand o, I usually translate sometimes but it's better to just let them know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh!!you had a stressful day sorry about the stress you went through just to get a public transport, that's lagos for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lagos is a crazy place sha, I can't live here at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry my brother. I've heard so much about Lagos and vowed not to visit or live there but Las Las, Lagos is Nigeria and Nigeria is Lagos. It's very rare for a Nigerian not to have a treat of Lagos in his lifetime. My first time in Lagos was hell, traffic that took hours to clear off and squeezed in a bus without AC. Hell fire 🔥🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Guy, the thing no easy. As I am talking to you know, I have been in traffic for over 3 hours, I just hate this Lagos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was tough mate..Imagine that stressful day you had because of your field practical training. Aigoo! If I were in that situation, like the other one you said, I really did cry. Hehe..

Anyways, I hope your training will be over too soon so that you will not be stress anymore and take care of yourself. Please be healthy. Hang in there, and for sure, your training will be over.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's remaining just about 3 weeks for it to be over, I am already tired of it. Thanks friend 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for this Kushyzee. I felt what you feel. The driver has a fault too why he didn't inform you all so that you are aware. It's his responsibility because it's his job. He should call and let everyone know that he didn't came. How are you now Kushyzee?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am ok now Ramona, I am just hoping something like this doesn't happen again in the future. Thanks Ramona 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm hoping too Kushyzee. 🙏 Have a nice day Kushyzee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a nice day as well dear 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Kushyzee. ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My gosh, why that bus driver is so irresponsible. He didn't even give a heads up thst he won't be coming. And if ever why he didn't ask someone he knows to pick all of you if he can't really come. My gosh, so irresponsible 🙄

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All of us were very angry with him and we made sure to tell him a piece of our mind

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a journey! My God, and it's so stressful every day... just reading you exhausted me, I was thinking how exhausted you must be. And you sure don't eat well either... I hope you finish your training soon... poor you... I keep reading you, take care of yourself, please my friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a very exhausting journey to embark every day, I can't wait for the whole thing to be over. Thanks friend 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was indeed terrible.. Traffic never ended in our country 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a very frustrating experience, I have never experienced something like that before 😩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww I felt your exhaustion, dear. Not be long, more patience. The price of oil and petrol here is unbelievable!!!! We just paid £1300 for 1800 litres of oil for heating. It's crazy the prize.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It seems the problem is worldwide, and it might be connected to the recent war between Russia and Ukraine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Traffic and scarcity in public transpo usually happened in capital city. Before pandemic I always opted to walk from office to our house . It's one hour of walk

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Whoa! 😮 That's a very long distance to walk home, but it looks like you didn't have a choice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find it better to walk rather that stressed myself like race to get a cab then will be stuck in traffic after

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No be you wan come Lagos before, the land of unlimited opportunities. You're merely experiencing the effects of overpopulation, and that is what all problems of Lagos stems from

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have come, now I want to go back 😂 Lagos life is certainly not for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂😂 Pele o. No worry, with time, you will adapt

$ 0.00
2 years ago