Do you want to relocate to another country?

22 59
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Hello ladies and gentlemen, how was your day? Who else is monitoring the BCH market? I don't know why I keep checking it every time, maybe it's because I am wondering why the BCH in my read.cash wallet keeps decreasing 😆 but right now the price is around $115, but last week it got to around $136, it seems the bulls and bears are still in a serious battle.

Now to the main article. Yesterday, I came across a very interesting post while going through nairaland and it was interesting because it's related to the field I am in right now. The title of the post reads: Mass Resignation Of Software Engineers Disrupts Banks Digitisation Move

Source

I immediately opened and I learned that a mass exodus is currently going on in the banking sector, lots of programmers are resigning and leaving the country. They got better offers from companies in the US, Canada, and European countries and about 500 programmers have left since the beginning of this year, which means an average of 83 every month! That's just crazy!

A major bank in the country in a desperate move to encourage its staff to remain decided to promote about 450 staff and even increased their salary but guess what? 150 of those that were promoted resigned after 2 weeks and left the country 🤣

Now you might wonder; why are software engineers leaving the country en masse? It's because they are underpaid here! You will see a senior programmer earning $300 monthly meanwhile his counterparts abroad are earning $2000 monthly and I am not even joking! So why won't he accept a job offer that comes from one of those companies abroad?

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Even the ones that are working remotely while living here in the country are also earning way more than those working in local tech companies. There are just more opportunities abroad and the pay is even higher, so it's not surprising that a lot of people are living. But will I love to leave the country as well? Probably, I am not certain yet.

I still love my country and even if living abroad does sound more appealing, there are also some bad aspects still associated with that. One of them is that the standard of living in a country like the US is very high. You earn high but you will also have to spend high, not to mention that their tax over there is huge. I have been reading stories about people's experiences living in the US and I will say it's not mostly a smooth ride.

Another thing to consider is gun violence in the US. Someone might be riding to work on a bus one morning and a crazy man who is angry because his wife forgot to make breakfast will just hop on board and open fire on everyone, yeah it's that crazy! It makes you wonder; "is there anywhere in the world that is truly safe?" I don't think so, but the security system in some countries is far better than what we have here

Source

And that's why the main reason I will consider relocating to another country is because of the security issues we are having in my country. It keeps getting worse every day and that's also part of the reasons why a lot of people are leaving the country. I can just get a remote job as a programmer and work from here while earning high in dollars, but the security threats all over the country will make me uncomfortable and always paranoid.

But if I am to leave the country, what about my family? I can't be staying abroad and leave them here knowing fully well that they are facing the same thing I ran from. That's also part of the reasons why I am not really keen on the "relocate to a foreign country" idea, I won't have peace of mind knowing fully well that my family is still living here. If it will be possible for all of us to relocate abroad, then I will gladly do so 😊

So, what about you? Do you have any plans to leave your country in search of better opportunities? What are the things holding you back? Let me know in the comment section

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Tuesday July 26, 2022

12
$ 3.19
$ 3.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

The very first thing I thought of when I moved was insurance. Lifetime policies can be very expensive for issuers. You already know that policyholders in general have to meet eligibility criteria, more info here, to be eligible for them - you can't, for example, get such insurance if you are diagnosed with a terminal illness or if you are elderly.

$ 0.00
2 months ago

Me I want to relocate o. But the thing truth us that I don't think I can stay there permanently sha. But, Make I go there first and see.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, that's how I feel as well. I can just go there and visit, but not necessarily to stay permanently

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For now, I do not consider to relocate to other country not unless together with my family. Perhaps if I am single then I would consider it. But which country? Have to think about it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's another thing to consider, people easily choose America coz they believe it's perfect, but there are better countries a person can relocate to

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm..for my choices of country, America is not one of my choices of country for relocation. Not to offend the Americans but due to some incident is the factor. I'd rather choose Japan or Ireland or New Zealand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I certainly feel the same way! America is overrated, no offense to the citizens 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's because they are underpaid here!

Seriously, programmers should be paid well here in Nigeria because they are doing a big work that even deprives them of good health. So, I don't blame them when they leave this country for a better opportunity.

You earn high but you will also have to spend high,

You said it right here too because if we are looking at the advantages, let's consider the disadvantages too. Those who are earning higher abroad also pay higher for living because things are also expensive over there.

But I wouldn't mind if I see a better opportunity abroad especially for a course I studied which is Guidance and Counselling because they pay hugely over there too.

But in all, let's consider security issue too because we don't want to risk our lives.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

if we are looking at the advantages, let's consider the disadvantages too

This is the mistake a lot of people are making, they just want to leave the country to another land without considering the disadvantages, they think life over there will be perfect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nowhere is perfect my brother. We just keep hoping for the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All these abroad self, I just heard about a recent earthquake, imagine relocating to meet an earthquake. Living overseas is good oo, but the challenges are there to match

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I even forget to mention things like earthquake, abeg Nigeria is still blessed, it's only bad leadership that's our problem here. Imagine living in US and earthquake just suddenly destroy your house one day or hurricane just carry your car 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I do, our country is falling apart everyday and things are really no longer funny. But my fear of traveling abroad is their high standard of living and that could even finish the high salary, you earned and you will just realized they are the same thing..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Seriously the standard of living over there is not a joke. You will be in Nigeria earning the same salary as someone living abroad but you are able to save more than that person. But the thing is that the quality of goods and services over there is way higher than what we have here, and that's why things are more expensive there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was planning to move in US, hopefully by God's grace.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I pray your plan comes through, US has a lot of opportunities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If given a chance, yes I want to relocate.. Salary in the Philippines is too low 🤣..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Salaries in my country are low as well, but the opportunities to work remotely is numerous in the tech world, so I can just stay here and earn higher salary from companies abroad 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uhmmm The security issue is so scary these days. It's so disheartening that we can't move freely the way we should in our country. But I fear that, if I travel outside the country, what's gonna happen. I've heard a lot about race discrimination and all that. Please where is safer?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what many people don't consider too, that discrimination aspect. You will be living abroad and some people will deny you opportunities just because your skin is dark, it even gets worse if they hear you're from Nigeria.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If there's an opportunity in abroad then why not, here on Philippines the salary for employees are also low that's why lots of my countrymen prefer to work abroad to sustain the family needs. However no matter what country we are. security isn't secured, since we don't know what's running on people's mind. Anyway, this comment is to test if my account is on spam, please reply anything to confirm that this comment is showing on your post.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah that's true, no where is safe in the world. Your comment isn't spammed, it's showing

$ 0.00
1 year ago