Do you have a backup internet provider?

25 68
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Internet, Daily life

Howdy folks 🤠 how are you today?

I woke up in the morning still feeling pissed off about something that happened last night but so many good things happened later in the day that took my mind off it. What happened last night? I was working on a project which I planned to finish before going to bed but just before midnight, my internet connection went off.

It does this sometimes but it usually comes on in less than a minute or I turn off my mobile data and put it back on which restores the connection, but that didn't work last night. I put my phone on airplane mode and turned it off but the internet connection still didn't come on, that was when I knew something is definitely wrong.

Source

I switched to my second sim which is also the same network provider as the first one and the internet connection came on, but I don't have any data on that sim, so I can't browse with it. I tried buying a data bundle that will be enough for that night but it still didn't work! At that point it was getting frustrating; I have data on the first sim but the internet connection refuses to turn on, the internet connection is working in the second sim but I don't have data and I can't even buy!

I was wondering why the internet connection refuse to turn on in the first sim, and I also noticed I can't make calls or check my account balance, I became afraid that maybe my sim has gone bad or maybe something damaged in my phone. I used my sister's phone to log into Twitter (she is using a different network provider) to see if other people were having the same problem, and I was happy to see that I wasn't alone 😆.

I could see people complaining bitterly that their internet connection from the same provider as mine isn't turning on. It looked like the problem happened all over the country, people from different cities were reporting the same thing. After a while, I had to keep my sister's phone coz she didn't have much data, and I was left with my phone which didn't have much data.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I didn't know what to do with my phone coz most of the things I can do all require an internet connection; readcash, hive, nairaland, Twitter, and mobile games. I don't have any movies but then I remembered I saved some tutorial videos on YouTube, so I used that to console myself till I finally slept off. I woke up in the morning and the first thing I checked was the internet connection and it finally turned on, I logged in to Twitter and gave the network provider a piece of my mind 😆.

Because of the network issues yesterday, I couldn't complete the project I was working on. Then I started imagining: what if I was working on an important task that had a deadline, what would I have done? Or maybe I was doing an online interview on zoom and the internet connection suddenly goes off, how would I have rectified it?

It's just too bad that we can't rely on service providers in my country. Yesterday made me realize why it's important to have different network providers just in case one goes crazy. I have 3 sims and they are all the same network providers (MTN), if something happens to one, it affects all of them and that was why I was stranded last night.

Source

I just hope the same thing doesn't occur today coz I plan on completing the project this night but there's another problem; there's no electricity supply 😩 I am hoping it will be restored soon so I can focus on the project. There are so many things that cause frustration in my country and these days, it's mostly network providers and electricity providers (this one is constant).

So, what about you? Do you have a backup internet provider or what do you do when you experience bad internet? You can let me know in the comment section.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Wednesday September 7, 2022

10
$ 0.78
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @George_Dee
+ 4
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Internet, Daily life

Comments

I have my data as my back up gosh because our Internet is often my enemy specially on my online classes, gosh sometimes it's very unstable so I go on my back up which is my data.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I only have mobile data and if that one becomes unstable, I have no other choice than to wait for it to become stable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always make sure my two sims have data on it should incase anyone refuse to connect. Nigeria network and problem are 5/6, lols.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think this is what I should do, I will just buy another sim, maybe Airtel

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes, buy and have recharge data on it for a backup

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am surviving on data. And when its over then I don't have any.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I always make sure I have data

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a big fan of having many 'different' service provider. Although it's not because of network saga but mainly on free/cheap data hunt. But most time when I have challenge on poor service on a particular network, I usually switch and that's a saviour.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I need to go and buy Airtel. I used to have all service providers sim but I lost all of them because I am always using MTN, but MTN has been messing up these days

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No backup pr whatsoever.. Im enjoying the unli data here 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm jealous 😂 I wish I could also have unlimited data

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which network is that bro? I have always known that Nigeria network will humble us one day.

I have had experience like this and I didn't have a choice than to just sleep since nothing was working out.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's MTN o, I was really surprised because this is the first time I experienced something like that. Network failure usually happens to the likes of Glo and Airtel, not MTN

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for this time, I am using internet vendo machine. And when there is no internet, I just wait for connection to turn back again. Signal reception is quite poor in our area and I also can't afford to spend valuable money to buy a load. I need to save up some of it for future purposes..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Having to wait for the connection to come back on must be really frustrating. I really hate it when I lost internet connection, I can't do anything without it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you said it right my friend. But we can't do anything other than waiting for it to come back..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah you're right 😞

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only used my mobile data sir,i dont have any backup,if I lost my connection then feel sorry and wait until it comes back. I can't afford to have additional expenses for now were find it hard in our daily income for our needs.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I totally understand ma'am, it's the same reason why I don't have any backup, it's another expenses which I can't afford right now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have 2 sims that both have internet data. means there is an internet backup. it provides learning. I hope the next one doesn't happen again. and you can complete your project.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so too. I will try to get a different sim as a backup, just in case something like this happens again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here in the Philippines we used Mobile Data through our sim especially when Wifi or internet connection is not available due to power interruption. May your connection and internet be stable for today for you to finish your project. All the best for you ♥️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Lyn. It has been stable since yesterday and I just hope it stays that way

$ 0.00
1 year ago

MTN network is very strong here and all my Sims are mtn. If you want to cry or see shege, go and buy glo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂 that's the reason all my Sims are MTN o, but na dem show me shege the other day. I will just go and buy Airtel sim as backup, before MTN kill me one day

$ 0.00
1 year ago