Different types of lecturers

34 46
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Howdy folks 🀠 how was your weekend? I spent a big part of today just sleeping and trying to recover from all the stress that I accumulated during the week. As I have said in previous articles, I am currently doing the second phase of my field practical training in a research institute in Lagos.

My classmates and I stay in the institute's hostel and we receive classes at the headquarters which is located in another city (Victoria island). This means we have to leave the house latest 6am, so we can beat traffic and arrive at the headquarters on time.

We usually start lectures when we arrive at the headquarters by 10am and most of the time it involves practicals which are carried out in the open sea. We have come across some of the researchers at the institute who are the ones that give us lectures and they all have different styles of teaching, that's the reason for this article so let's look at the different types 😁

Image source

1. The storytellers

These ones are one of the favorites of lots of students because their classes are always fun and full of stories, which sometimes means they spend more time telling stories than actually teaching. For instance, if their class is scheduled for 2 hours, they will use about 1 hour 30 minutes to tell stories.

They tend to gossip a lot and usually in a short while, you have known almost everything that goes on in their lives. They will tell you about the huge fight that occurred in their area, how their landlord is the real father of their neighbor's baby, and they always continue their stories when next they come to class. You will hear something like "you remember that man I was telling you guys about yesterday? He has been arrested!"

2. The comedians

Image source

They are similar to the storytellers but the key difference here is that all their stories are always funny. They tend to use what they are teaching to crack jokes and their class is never boring. A lot of them don't usually waste too much time telling jokes, they just mix it in between their teachings.

They are also one of the favorites of most students (I would even say they are the most favorite) because their teachings are never boring, they have mastered the art of teaching by simply balancing it out with jokes.

3. The "over serious"

Image source

These ones hardly smile. They take teaching as if it's their life's work and they are very strict when in class. Most of the time they are very boring and you will feel like sleeping when they are teaching but you wouldn't even dare it because if you're caught, there will be grave consequences.

4. The counselors/therapists/motivators

Image source

They always have an advice or two up their sleeves. They are somehow similar to the storytellers but the key difference here is that they tell stories with a moral lesson at the end which is meant to motivate us into taking our studies seriously.

I sort of like lecturers that teach that way because after listening to them, you will be motivated to take your education seriously and work on achieving your dreams. Most of them are usually very successful in their field, so they tell us about their journey and what they did to get to where they are.

5. The sleep attractors

Image source

Just the sound of their voice makes you sleep, and I don't mean that in a good way πŸ˜‚ these set of lecturers are very boring, they don't know how to make their class interesting and it's not surprising to see a lot of students sleeping while they are teaching.

This reminds me of the researcher that taught us yesterday, if a sleeping pill was a human, that would be him. I couldn't relate to most things he was saying because he kept hammering on about things we weren't familiar with and he didn't even bother to explain.

After a while, I started feeling like I have been drugged and I struggled to keep my eyes open. I looked around and noticed most of my classmates were feeling the same way. Someone even stood up in a bid to reduce the need to sleep, he ended up dosing off while standing! πŸ˜‚

5. The complete package

Image source

A lecturer that has most of the above characteristics I have talked about is very rare. One moment they are comedians, the next minute they are very serious and in a short while they are telling us stories of their lives.

They are very funny and their classes are never boring, they tend to balance between soft and hard. They can be very strict when they want to, which has led a lot of students to their downfall because they can be smiling and at the same time deal with you mercilessly.

And that's it! I know there are others I haven't talked about but this article is already getting too long, so I will leave the rest up to you guys to tell me about some of the lecturers or teachers you have come across 😁

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday February 26, 2022

11
$ 2.56
$ 2.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

University life is fun I am telling you! The story teller type just remind me of our cell physiology lecturer - Dr mahdi. This man will spend half of the lecture talking about his family problems and why female medical students should get married before they graduate(as if we ask am!) and then the half he spent on the lectures

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ just imagine. Every university have a couple of lecturers that are like that, they spend more time talking about their life stories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

reminds me If I did pursue teaching, I gonna belong to the serious one. My class would be boring

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess that's the reason why you aren't a teacher right now πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 I once had a story telling lecturer. He never thought us anything. His 4-6pm lecture usually ended around 7 of 7.30pm

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ those types easily get carried away, they end up abandoning what they are supposed to teach

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 Exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Out of these 5 The Comedian is whatI love to have as my professor. I still remember when I was just in high school we had that The Comedian teacher. So every time that he will teach us we enjoy it a lot amd at the samr timr we also learn. They are the coolest man

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's why they are one of the best when it comes to teaching, they have mastered the art of combining comedy and teaching 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikr, and you will nevsr get bored in class too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, it's not good to have the fourth, lol! I remember dropping the subject in the uni because I can't stand the instructorπŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ now this is funny. The wrong instructor can make a person lost interest in a subject

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, it affects the learning process

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We students are definitely going to due the "sleep attractors" on day.. we don't understand a thing of what they teach and yet they are collecting salaries πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those ones can make a 1 hour class feel like 4 hours, time will just be crawling like a snail

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe the story teller I remember my highschool days, we have a teacher that everytime it's her class period the whole class period done with sharing her story only. 😁 She connected it to the topic then sharing her life story until it was time already for the next class.

The comedian I love them Kushyzee. I have a teacher also like this. It makes me eager to learn because it's not boring to listen their lectures. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everyone loves comdey teacher and we always look forward to their class because they are very interesting and funny 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true Kushyzee. I always laughed if the lecturer is like that. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fancy a lecturer that can mix it all up, depending on the topic and the mood of the class. He knows how to use different social tools to impart the message

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the complete package lecturer, one of the best (if not the best)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am grateful that I encountered all of them distinguishably and also in a whole package like you mentioned. Especially the sleep attractors, I really don't understand the mechanism how their teaching method brings sleep in the students. hahah I just remember my history teacher. There is one teacher who is very chilled with everything and that one is most preferred by us haahha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, history classes are usually boring and it needs a teacher that's a comedian to make it interesting 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You remind me how I deal my students in teaching them for discussion. I am not a funny type nor serious lecturer. Maybe I am a type of my own version.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe you have a little bit of the other qualities 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like the funny lecturer. Won't make me bored and would even motivate me to interact with the topic.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, funny lecturers have a way of easing tension and you will feel like you can tell them anything πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's been so long since I've been in a classroom that what can I say, lol. But if you have among your teachers, at least a couple who qualify in the whole package, you can feel lucky.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A teacher that has most of the other qualities are hard to come by, but they're the best at what they do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My most favorite of those is the comedian. I remember our history teacher before, there's no dull moment if he taught us about history. The way he tells the story is amazing and later on he crack jokes so that we won't get bored with the topic that he discuss

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The comedians can easily turn a boring subject into an interesting one because they always tell jokes that relates with what they are teaching

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, that's why I always like to have them especially during afternoon class and good thing our history class was during 2 in the afternoon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, afternoon classes tend to be very boring because at that point we are all tired. That's why a teacher that can make the class very fun is important

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha favorite ko talaga yung story teller and yung comedian, talagang almost lahat nag paparticipate because of ther good energy radiating and they are so great on keeping students entertained while still focusing on what they sre discussing, also they somehow can make student feel at ease.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those types can easily read the mood of the students and make teaching interesting by telling stories and jokes

$ 0.00
2 years ago