Desperate to charge

21 46
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

This article is just me ranting about how my day went and I will say it's one word; crazy! 😩 There's still power outage over here and it has been like this for over 3 days now, with it affecting more than half of my city. My powerbank has been saving me for a while but today I knew I had to go out and charge it.

After playing football with Talon, mhizutty, and my girlfriend, we decided to go out and look for a place to charge our phones and gadgets. At last, we decided to go to a place in the university that uses solar power. It's a place called green park (it's not actually a park, it's more of a bus stand with a space to seat and lots of electrical sockets to charge).

We took a taxi and arrived at green park and the first thing we noticed was that there was nobody there which is very weird and later on, we noticed some red tapes all over it banning students from entering. Our next option was a bank opposite the green park which provides a space where customers can charge.

Image source

We went there and again were surprised to find just a few people sitting there and no one was charging their phones. We asked the security men there and they said they had it disconnected since last year due to people gathering there to charge and breaking the COVID-19 rules. We went back to green park and sat down at the entrance looking frustrated and not knowing what to do.

My friends suggested we just went back home but I told them we should wait for a while and just observe. We saw the university's security team putting up a memo on the walls of green park and it reads; "no entering or gathering". We asked them why they are closing down the place and they said; "the school is currently on strike and we don't want students to gather here because it's a security risk".

That's the part I don't understand; "security risk". How is it a security risk for us to charge our phones? The security men left after putting up the warning sign and we were just sitting in front of some ATMs close to the green park. Later on, we noticed some persons have gone to the back of the green park to charge their phones and some of them were at the front watching out for the security men.

Image source

My friends and I decided to go to the back to see what was going on and we saw a very funny scene; there were lots of extension boxes on the floor with a lot of charges everywhere. People plugged in their phones, powerbanks and laptops, even though the park was on lockdown.

Technically the rule said we shouldn't enter the green park, they didn't say we can't charge 😁. So we gladly stood outside the park and charged our phones. Luckily for us, we saw a place to sit at the back of the ATM building, and one of us brought an umbrella to protect us from the scorching sun.

We were charging our phones and having various conversations on different topics, and at the same time we kept an eye on our phones because things tend to get crazy when you're charging in a place like that; someone can steal your phone! Some of my friends have experienced that and they have learned a bitter lesson, so whenever they are charging their phone in a public place, their eyes are glued to it 😆

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I put my phone and powerbank in my backpack as I was charging them, then I sat a few distances away and kept an eye on my bag. At first, we were keeping an eye and watching out for the security men but after a while, we just gave up and focused on just charging.

After over 3 hours of charging, we decided it was time to go home. My phone didn't get full but at least I have my powerbank to help me boost it more. At least for now, I have charged my phone and when I got home, I quickly interacted on some articles and watched a movie for a while. I guess the struggle to charge will continue again tomorrow, I just hope they don't totally lockdown green park 😁.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Thursday March 31, 2022

12
$ 3.15
$ 2.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 11
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

I can understand you brother, I live constantly in power outages due to the hydroelectric system of my country and due to so much drought it happens very often

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We also use hydroelectric system in my country but the problem we usually face isn't drought but poor management system

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God when? I also want a girlfriend like you.. The struggle is real.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Be careful what you wish for o 😂 single life is sweet most times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me experience it First then, I'll judge which is better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to lead a group of people to go out in charging phones and in most cases we experienced "we don't allow charging of phones anymore here". It's really frustrating to stay in a place that's suffering from power outage because you'd go around almost every day to charge phone, especially if the phone battery doesn't last.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Luckily for me my phone's battery lasts very well and I also have a power bank, I just need to charge both of them fully and I won't need to charge for the next 3 to 4 days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed the struggle to charge continues. I remembered in my 200 level then, I was always desperate looking for where to charge then and most times, I would go to the library not to read but charge 😂😂

I hope they bring your light oo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂 student life just funny sha, I just pray the light is restored today because even water is getting hard to get now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is really tough. Hope your power will get restored very soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really hope so too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So now we have to queue up just to charge our phones as if we were buying petrol? There's nothing buhari will not take our eyes see for this country 🤦

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have seen enough in this country, nothing shocks me again 😩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow.. 3 days without power, I would go mad lol.. and I would glue my eyes over my phone too lol... I would never trust the world like that... NEVER

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wouldn't have been so frustrated if I at least saw somewhere less stressful to charge my phone and powerbank 😩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My phone easily drain its battery since I started playing pegaxy 🤣 so fully charge power bank is always with me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Powerbank is very important to me these days to keep my phone fully charged 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps it was the best decision to stay back and not go back to Benin with you guys. The only way I'd be affected would be water, because I'll have no phone to charge. Hopefully, the outage ends soon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We actually thought about you yesterday that iff you were around you won't be affected by all this, except maybe for water issues 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Phones become part of our lives to connect our loved ones. Once it is lowbat, we automatically charge it not to miss something we usually do. Being active in this platform, chatting our friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

These days there are a lot of things to do with our phones, so it's important that I always charge it

$ 0.00
2 years ago