A terrible weekend without my phone

21 38
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Hive, Weekend, Phone

You have no computer, mobile phone or gaming console for the entire weekend. Write at least 350 words about how you feel and why and how you handle having no devices to occupy yourself with.

This was one of the topics for the last weekend engagement concept on hive. I was going to write and submit my entry before the deadline but I was held up with something else, so I decided to write and publish it here on readcash 😁.

Model Source

I can't deny the fact that I am very much addicted to my phone (some of us are anyway), I'm practically with it every single time doing one thing or the other. But what happens if I am to spend an entire day without my phone or laptop? It actually won't be so bad because I have been in a situation just like that a lot of times.

There have been situations where the electricity around my area went bad and we didn't have power supply for some weeks or even months. During those times, I had to rely on my power bank and look for a place that has a generator set to charge it, but sometimes I will be unlucky to not find any place to charge, so I will be left with a dead phone throughout the day. What do I do?

1. Repair broken things

First I roam around the house looking for things to keep me busy and that usually means tinkering with electronic devices. The last time that happened, I successfully repaired an old Bluetooth speaker that I abandoned for months because the charging port got damaged and the battery was also dead; it couldn't charge.

I rewired the speaker and connected it to an old power bank I wasn't using, and it worked! Repairing broken things is always fun and I always get a rush of dopamine whenever I successfully repair something but sometimes it can backfire; I remember ruining my mom's favorite radio at one point. I opened it up and saw lots of wires, I became confused and didn't know what to do next. The summary of it is that I ended up making it worse than it was 😆.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

2. Reading books

Before I owned a phone, I used to be a bookworm; I read anything I lay my hands on, from novels down to a dictionary (no kidding, I once read an Oxford dictionary from the beginning to the end in just a month). Once I have repaired the broken electronics around me, I move on to reading, and the good thing is that we have lots of books in my house, although I have read almost all of them.

3. Sleep

Just within a few hours of reading, I should be feeling sleepy and since I don't have much to do, I give in to the invitation of sleep and doze off. I hardly sleep during the daytime, mostly because my phone keeps me busy all the time. Once you take that away and give me a book to read, then it becomes easier to fall asleep.

Model Source

4. Take a walk

It should be evening by the time I wake up from sleep, that should be a good time to explore my neighborhood. I hardly go out of my house (I believe you already know why) but if I had no choice of using my phone or laptop, then I will certainly see a reason to go out and walk around. I just have to grab some money and buy myself some treats while I explore my neighborhood 😁


And that's basically it

That's basically what I do when I don't have access to my gadgets but some other activities can come up, especially if my friends are around. It won't be a bad weekend and it's actually a good thing if you think about it, at least I'm taking a break from staring at screens all the time. So, what about you, how will you spend a weekend without your phone and other gadgets?

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Monday October 10, 2022

10
$ 0.44
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 5
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Hive, Weekend, Phone

Comments

the best thing i can do is sleep or repair old electronics gadget at home. i am so addicted to my phone that i can hardly give out for people to use for few minutes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, I am always with it doing one thing or the other and I can't even think of giving it to someone else to use for some minutes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Phones most especially in our generation has been everything to yours. Me most times can really communicate with people face to face is through phones.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here, and that's actually a problem, we have gotten so used to communicating through our phones and it has led to less face to face conversations

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are really addicted to our electric devices but if we spend time in real world to read books, sleeping and engaging with family is the best options.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah it's the best, but sometimes I just can't help, I still end up spending more time with my gadgets 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Turning to electrician overnight happens to me too but I often end up spoiling more things especially when I'm not concentrating or when light is restored miraculously, I'll just leave everything and head back to my phone 🤩

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here o. No matter what I am working on, once light just come, I will abandon it till further notice 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No phone? Then I will watch TV hehe

But if without those I am surely cleaning every corner of the house 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣 that's a peculiar way of keeping yourself busy and out of boredom

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I overcome my phone addiction by switching to a laptop, I was only able to do the truly important things then, also had time to focus on other things.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Replacing one addiction with another one, haha! 😆 Phone and laptop are basically the same thing to me 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I were your mom, I would confiscate your phone so that you can fix broken things around the house 😂 As for me, it is only the number three that I do oo when I am not with my phone.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣 she's probably afraid that I will end up making things worse while trying to fix them 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Though I use my phone often to earn extra income, I think I can live without it for a day or two there are a couple of books waiting for me to read. Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Most of the book I haven't read are on my phone in digital format, but I guess I can buy the physical copies if I don't have access to my phone 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have some ebooks too. But I love the feel of the paper in my fingers when I flip the pages. You can't have that feeling with ebooks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're definitely right on that, physical books are much better to read

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As much as I'm not addicted to my phone, I need it ooo. It's is basically now my everything from TV to radio to camera and more.

My phone gone would be an unproductive me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can only stay a day without my phone, anything more than that will probably be a death sentence 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago