Time of death: 4:00 am

32 63
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

He took a walk to the well; told them he couldn’t breathe, and that was the last thing he remembered…..

My colleague almost died of an asthma attack, few minutes more and he would have been gone; he wasn’t only a colleague but a friend and roommate in college. We lived together for four years; from 2017 till late last month when we wrote our final exams and parted ways.

We met during our first year and we’ve been close ever since, a lot of people think we’ve known each other before coming to the university while others think we’re brothers because we do things basically the same way or almost the same way. We’ve been close ever since and ever since I knew he was asthmatic, I’ve always monitored his health and made sure he wasn’t out of inhaler before getting a new one.

His project defense is scheduled for next week Thursday which is why he had to return to school to make necessary arrangements with his supervisor. It’s unfortunate that I wasn’t there with him this time.

I received a call 6.am yesterday morning from a strange number, picked and the information was “David had an attack and was rushed to the hospital”. That was some bad news; I had to confirm if he was fine and the response was yeah, he’s getting better, after which I had to call our other roommate who had already returned home as well but stayed not too far from the school. I was really tensed and the sleep had to miraculously disappear from my eye while I followed up via calls and text.

The story was; his inhaler finished since the middle of the night and he was the only one in the room, he kept managing and managing his breath from around 2.am till he couldn’t take it anymore and forced his way out of the room to the compound. Luckily there was someone at the well. According to the person at the well, David met him at the well, told him he couldn’t breathe and he passed out immediately. For privacy purpose I had to name him “David”. Everyone had to wake up at that moment while they looked for bike out there; it was a rural area and you can’t get anything out there until 6 or 7.am, luckily they were able to get a bike which they used to convey him to the hospital. He was basically dead; I’d say he got lucky and the universe wasn’t ready to let go of him, getting a means of transport by 4am was a miracle because it was basically a dead zone and there was no good hospital there as well.

His body was cold, stiff, and his heart wasn’t beating anymore, no movement and no sign of life, but they still took him to the hospital anyway as that was the only hope they had.

He finally woke up after much treatment, I wasn’t at the hospital as I only followed up via calls and text hence I have no idea what kind of struggle the Doctors and nurses went through before reviving him.

The Doctor said “if they had brought him 10 minutes late, he wouldn’t have come back”.

Everything happened, David woke up and that was when he gave them my number to contact me by 6 am. Unfortunately; everything happened but we couldn’t tell his mom unless we intend to make her go crazy or worse-kill her. We wrote our final exams on the 3rd of August, his Dad died the following week and now he almost killed himself due to his carelessness. It’s barely one month after, his mom is still mourning her husband; telling her this would completely throw her off balance and she may lose her life. We could only tell his elder sister on the condition that she didn’t tell their mom.

Sincerely speaking; at the time of writing this, I’m extremely pissed, pissed at David, his carelessness, his attitude towards his health, because I’ve always warned him. I’m so pissed off that I wouldn’t call him to ask about his health. Our other roommate is there with him and I got the information that he is now fine but I will not call David because I’m still pissed. First time he stays in school without me and he almost died.

 

David almost died on me twice; I saved his life twice, and I’ve always warned him ever since; second year in college he came to the lecture theatre for night class (or night reading as it should be properly called) and left his inhaler at home. He managed till 5.am when the school gate will be opened and I had to follow him home….we were not living together back then, but I had to follow him cos’ I calculated that anything could have happened if I did not.

As calculated, we got to a point and he couldn’t go anymore, he fell on the ground and couldn’t stand up; I had to leave him right there while I ran to his house, searched for the inhaler and ran back to him, he was saved right there. It was a calculated risk but leaving him right there was the only solution. I had to warn him after that and I always made sure he had an extra inhaler, unfortunately first time he stays in school without me and he almost died.

I was so pissed off yesterday that I couldn’t take it anymore but had to call my best friend at midnight to explain everything that happened, she had to give me the most soothing words while asking me to call him regardless of his attitude and carelessness. I’m still pissed off but I guess I have to listen to my Best friend.

Time of death: 4:am!

This could have been his recorded time of death; but the universe wasn't ready to let go.

Toodles!

17
$ 5.84
$ 5.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Thank God he is alive. You don't have to be that pissed off just give thanks that he didn't die

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While I'm reading this article from yours kristoff, I have a teary eyes. God is with him.🙏 He is so blessed and I'm really happy to know he survive with this dreadful situation he has.

God is good all the time.🙏 The inhaler is important. Sending prayers for him, it will never happen again kristoff.🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He's definitely getting better. But I won't call him to ask how he is. I'm still pissed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to hear that kristoff.❤️ Why kristoff?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm always scared when i see people have attacks like this. My roommate in year 2 was Asthmatic. He had an attack while sleeping one day and it was a day to forget. I ran to the pharmacy in record time to get an inhaler.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My room mate is an idiot; I'm still angry at him and wouldn't call him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're such a good friend. If it weren't because of you, something worst could have happened. Luckily, he had you. Not all people are blessed to have someone like you. Angels really don't wear a halo and have wings all the time. God bless you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What an emotional article ❤️. You're more than a brother to that fellow. Keep up the good work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my gosh, thanks God he was saves. Why he's always careless gahhhh. Ah yeah, don't tell to her Mom yet about what happened, he almost died for fvck sake 😱. That would be another bad news for her if ever. Lucky him he has a friend like you. Tell him fighting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He's such an idiot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This got me really in tears how he survived...but it was really because of his act of carelessness, maybe he felt the attack wasnt coming anymore. I'm glad he didnt die, his inhaler should be there all the time. You are a good friend Kris

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, thank God he's alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Thank God for his life. People like this needs to be careful and should always at any point even in the bathroom to have their inhaler with them. It's a thing they can always put in their pocket because no one can predict when it will attack them. Having the inhaler is a savior to them. Thank God David wasn't recorded his death at 4am.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not up to taking it to the bathroom. The thing is once you can't breathe just take it and use it, and that's all. The inhaler finished since midnight and had to stay without being able to breathe for hours and would have died if there was nobody there to help him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing he didn't die but he should stop challenging death or next time he might make it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly.. .I guess he doesn't understand that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He's such a lucky one. Good thing there are still people out there when he gets out, or else that would be an annoying goodbye.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He would have gone forever if only there was nobody outside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe, it's not his time to say goodbye yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're probably right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He should always bring his inhaler with him. Asthma is not a joke.. But at least you have saved him.. You should be grateful for that rather than being pissed off.. Just always remind him to bring his inhaler everywhere he goes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm still angry at him, I wouldn't call him to ask if he is better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woahh.. You are amazing for doing such thing. Your friend is just blessed to have you and being saved by you. You really are a good friend too...:) Keep up the good work sir..👍😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He is lucky to have you in his life and really hope and pray he himself will also take good care of himself. Not all the times there's someone who can help him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"David" shouldnt play with his life and you are an amazing friend for trying to care for him. He is lucky he met that person he truly would have died by 4

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best of luck and Best Wishes For You. Always doing a great Work and make you prove you can do everything . Beautiful day and beautiful creation of Mind

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your comment doesn't match anything in the above article. An advice for you; always read the post before commenting or you'd be flagged as spam.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol Kris

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi dear, what's to lol about ... 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago