Project aftermath: sleep; friend or foe

4 39
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Yesterday’s project defense was a success and I’m really glad to finally be out of the stress the university has to offer; apart from the certificate, the only other thing it has to offer is the much hated stress which I try to avoid at all cost. I do not intend to write about how much I hate the university system and the usual “make life unbearable for students” approach which will forever be a part of the system.

Lead Image

I simply want to talk about how tired I was after the defense and the amount of sleep that came afterwards after much so much resistance from me; yes…. I didn’t want to sleep but it forced its way through all thanks to the amount of stress I had to go through since the beginning of the previous week.

Sleep; friend or foe

While waiting for my turn to defend my project yesterday, I had to play Axie Infinity adventure mode in order to meet up with my daily quota, while simultaneously feeling sleepy for no reason at all.

My current inventory on Axie Infinity; 600 slp

Is this sleep for or against me? I've got no idea considering my name may be called anytime soon and I may be long gone into dream land by then. Well, I defended my project about 2 hours afterwards and travelled the usual long journey in search of network in order to play Axie Infinity’s arena mode which requires a lot of network. I completed my daily quota and boarded a bus on my way back to the university at about few minutes past 8pm; it was simply a 15 minutes journey but I slept off in the bus about 5 times; it’s an estimated value since I wasn’t counting. My roommate was beside me hence I wasn’t bothered about missing my stop since he was much stronger than me in terms of not getting tired easily and there was no sign of sleepiness in him.

After sleeping for about 5 times; we finally got to our stop and took a five minutes’ walk home. Got home few minutes to 9 pm, was so tired that I couldn’t eat anything; I would have rejected even my favorite food at that moment due to the way I was feeling; I wonder if any of my readers have ever felt that way. All I wanted was to land on the bed and relax... Got home and the sleep miraculously vanished from my eyes because I was talking to best friend via WhatsApp call after which we did a little chit-chat by typing and bla bla…

Failed rendezvous

We had plans of having a rendezvous by 12 am via WhatsApp as it was 10 pm already and she wanted to sleep for a little bit; it was meant to be our usual conversation and some extras which I'd rather not mention (do not ask me in the comment section). The plan was for me to wake her up at the above mentioned time (12 am) via call but didn't realise I wasn't gonna last till that time because the tiredness in me at that moment was enough to put me to sleep for 24 hours straight; another exaggeration I shouldn't add..haha..

Was still awake few minutes past 11 pm amd was keeping myself busy by chewing some peanut which my colleague bought; he was sleeping already but I was the only one awake while anticipating the arrival of 12 am.

Few minutes to 12 and I'm still awake; but went to the kitchen to take a sachet of water, decided to lay on the bed for a little bit when I suddenly opened my eyes, the sachet of water was still beside me, looked at the time and realised it was now 4 am. Damn... .

Felt like 15 minutes

It all felt like 15 minutes; the only thing I remember was I laid on the bed for a little bit while holding the sachet of water and kaboom...I woke up from a sleep I totally know nothing about. 4am and I couldn't call her anymore...I could have but decided not to. I simply went back to sleep afterwards.

Told her about the weird night this afternoon and it's coincidental that she also slept beyond the estimated time.

I guess nature really can't be cheated; our body will always need rest after days and weeks of accumulating stress just as robots require batteries to function. Sleep is like our special battery; take this away from us and our body will request for it at all cost.

I intended to write early today but I woke up late; both my smartphone and laptop were battery dead due to lack of power supply.

As mentioned somewhere in my previous articles; my university is located in a rural area, I prefer to refer to it as a dead network zone, a dead zone because nothing works here, no constant electricity and the internet connection is so bad you could use a 100 MB of data for four years and you’d still have 99 MB left- pardon my exaggeration but that’s how bad the network is.

I slept a lot yesterday and will have even more sleep tonight.

7:38 pm at the time of writing; Tuesday, the 5th of October 2021.

Enjoy your evening.

Lead image from unsplash

8
$ 4.08
$ 3.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.05 from @Stefthewordsmith
+ 4
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Its good to use our time judiciously, but bro, we really need more rest, I can tell you haven't been having enough of it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please don't tell me you're also the type that doesn't attend Convocation because I'll be expecting your convo in a few month time and also Camping pictures

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the type that doesn't attend convocation; I just told you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't know how lucky you are. We don't have a date for our defense yet. Other departments have done theirs. It's very annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago