Nine (9) amazing facts about dogs

16 50
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Dogs, Pets

11th of April 2022

Lead Image

1. Petting our dogs or just looking at them releases oxytocin

Oxytocin also known as the love hormone is the same hormone that helps bond a mother and child. Studies have shown that there is an increase of oxytocin in both the dog and the owner after any interaction involving long gazes followed by stroking and cuddling. So, before thousands of years ago we fell in love and we're still in love.

2. Ten thousand to one hundred thousand times more acute sense of smell

Dogs can literally see through their nose. They experience the world by scent. Apart from explosives, drugs and so on, they can smell feelings and even ailments in humans from cancer to diabetes. They can even smell the past.

When you come back home and your dog sniffs you from head to toe it's because he wants to know where you've been and what you've been doing. Preventing it from sniffing someone or something he's interested in is like blindfolding in a way

3. Dogs can sense the Earth's magnetic field

Somewhere inside them, there is a hidden compass. Studies have shown dogs spin and turn before they relieve themselves because they prefer to excrete with their body aligned along the north-south axis they just don't like West alignment.

4. More than twelve (12) separate muscles that control the movement of the ears

They can locate a sound source in only six hundredths of a second by using their swivelling ears like radar dishes. They can perceive frequencies almost twice that of human ears and they can also hear sounds approximately four times farther away than humans.

One of the reasons they don't like the rain is that the amplified sound hurts their sensitive ears.

5. Dogs dream just like we do

During sleep, the brainwave patterns of dogs are similar to that of people. Dogs dream doggy things so pointers will point at dream birds, and Dobermans will chase dream burglars. My dog Apollo will steal dream food off the kitchen counter and eat it while crawling at imaginary dreamed predators... lol!

6. The first sense a dog develops is the touch

Puppies are born blind, deaf, and toothless, and their entire bodies are covered with nerve endings that are touch sensitive. While the puppy gains its sense of hearing and smell, it still relies heavily on touch throughout its entire life.

Each dog may have a different level of touch sensitivity thus assuming that any dog will respond positively to any touching in any part of its body is wrong and it can be the cause of many misunderstandings.

7. One female Dog her mate and their offspring can produce 67,000 dogs in only six years which brings us to

8. Millions of Dogs’ populations

They're estimated to be about 900 million Dogs (I don’t know anything, just speculating) in the world, 80% of which are free-range Street Dogs, and the numbers are rising.

9. Fun fact about street dogs

Street dogs adapts to the life on the streets. They have their routine just like us. They sleep in a place they consider home, wake up in the morning, go to work- look for food or go off to regular feeding spots where they meet the volunteers that feed them, come back home, go to sleep and so on.

When you see a stray dog walk as if he's going somewhere that's because he is really going somewhere. City strays even know how to wait for traffic lights to go green, how to walk on the sidewalks and so on.

The stray dogs in Russia have even mastered the complex Moscow subway system and literally commute every morning to get from their suburban places of living to the fat regions of Moscow Center. You must respect them and let them be. Dogs can live among us as civilians because that's what they have evolved to do.

Follow me on: Readcash  Noisecash

14
$ 7.17
$ 7.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 5
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Dogs, Pets

Comments

All that you have written is what i have seen myself and i can say it's true. Thet are fantastic animals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dogs and humans are very similar. I have a dog at home, and I'm always conscious of it when it's hungry, and I'm also aware of it when it's pleased. it has a way of telling me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Kristoffer, You have told very interesting facts about dogs. They are fantastic animals, and I fell in love with them more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love dogs a lot. I'm gonna have one as soon as I move into my personal apartment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dogs from afar but I don't like them closer cos I am scared of them. All that you have written is what I have seen myself and I can say it's true

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same with me, i don't get close to dogs i am not familiar with to avoid stories that touches the heart. I love dogs no doubt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have no reasons to be sacred of dogs. They are man's best friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My old neighbour had a dog that used to do a ceremonial circling movement when she wants to do her business, now I understand why 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My dog does that too. I find it weird each time it happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not know some of these facts. Hmm, I wonder what kind of dream a dog has. Are they dreaming about eating a luxurious bones? Hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Or maybe driving a dog-car? Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've grown this sudden fondness for dogs that makes me feel like I should get one of my own. My neighbor has this cute dog he named pearl and she always licks my face Everytime I carry her. Simply put, she's so cute!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She licks your face? That's adorable.. but isn't it gross? hahaha I need a dog too but I need my own apartment first..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually it's not gross...it's more ticklish than gross cos I'm always laughing while she's at it.

I guess you should focus on putting things in place, you can get a dog anytime.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I actually like it. I'm only referring to the situation where the tongue gets into your mouth..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah...I don't let that happen cos even me would be iritated by that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago