Christmas spirit and Nostalgia

16 48
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

I smell Christmas once more; the smell of the cool breeze and dry air indicative of harmattan's gradual arrival thus ushering in the much lived Christmas and it's Christmas spirit. We don't have snow here but harmattan is our special Christmas weather; i can imagine how cold the countryside gets extremely cold would be at the moment- that you'd have frostbite if you didn't gear up with gloves inclusive....

I so much envy the Filipinos; the Christmas spirit has been in the air since September and everyone has been writing about the preparations, decorations and fun fair that has been taking place ever since. I can already imagine how fun it's going to be over there; if only I had enough travel funds, I'd have lived I'd experience Christmas from the Philippine perspective.

I wouldn't like to talk about how envious I am of peeps like @Jinifer, @FarmGirl, @Pichi28, @Lucifer01 and so on...they're so lucky to be born in a country that still appreciates Christmas like in the days of old.

My country is quite the opposite; no decorations, no funfair, Christmas trees are no longer common, Christmas parties are no longer held as it's now meant for the rich who intend to class themselves in a bid to due to the economic sumnabolism, and malloclusion.

Irrespective of the death of christmas spirit in this part of the country for reasons unknown, I'd forever be a lover of Christmas and will make sure my friends and family enjoy it as it should be without holding back an ounce of fun...

Christmas Nostalgia

I remember the days when we were kids; christmas was highly anticipated such that the the decorations and carols were already began from November, Carols were sung on TV, on the streets and in churches, even cooperate organisations organized chrostmas concerts in a bod to enjoy the Christmas spirit which was in the air; sales of Christmas toys were common during the days.

Lead image

"Christmas spirit died a long time ago"

I remember my mom was a perfect cook; the fries and jollof rice was my definition of perfection, the fried chicken which we occasionally took when no one was looking (we didn't steal, we took). The catfish peppersoup was my favourite all thanks to mom; people often asked if she studied something catering related as there was hardly anything she couldn't make.... except liiapple flaboure pizza which no one in his or her right minds would request for (haha)..

We jumped from one house to the other as we knew we were gonna be getting christmas goodies from neighbors and visitors hence it was always fun. We sometimes travelled to my "grandparents" for the Christmas celebration and it was always super fun...

With time the excitement began to diminish and the usual funfair began to fade all thanks to the constantly diminishing economy which has made everyone super busy in a bid to make ends meet thus forgetting the true meaning of Christmas....

Ruined christmas

I guess life happened and we all had to grow up at some point, everyone being busy here and there made things pass much faster than we expected...plus the death of a parent can also ruin christmas forever. Christmas was destroyed for me since the year 2011 hash-tag Dad's death; we were all anticipating christmas as usual, there was nothing wrong and he simply said he needed rest, went to the hospital on a Wednesday and kaboom he didn't come back, died on the 10th of December, and Christmas was forever ruined for me.

Thinking about the death of Christmas constantly makes me sad; an inevitable sadness which cannot be ignored- perhaps it's time to move to a country where christmas is still appreciated; unfortunately my BCH holdings is quite small hence cannot handle such expenses.

I'm my own santa

In lieu of the death of the Christmas spirit and all things funfair; I decided to be my own Santa hence I ordered myself a new samsung device from Jumia which would be delivered to my door step latest by Monday the 6th; ordered a new laptop as well via my sister in the UK and the delivery would be getting to Nigeria in 7 working days......yippee!!!

"Santa Kristoffer" says merry Christmas

This christmas I'd be visiting @Olasquare, @George_Dee and perhaps @Princessbusayo with the hope of reviving the Christmas spirit once more......

Another random christmas song....

"You better watch out"

"You water not cry"

"You better not put I'm telling you why"

"Santa claus is coming to town"

Toddles!

12
$ 3.03
$ 2.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

I'm glad you decided to be your own Santa. Nice way of thinking, I like it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you like it... Ho! Ho! Ho! ...merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always believed the events of past led us to this point as I would say that I've stopped looking forward to Christmas since dad died. It was just never the same again. Stay strong, brother. It would be nice to rekindle the spirit again with you...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly; it's never been the same but I decided to be my own santa this year hence I'm trying to be happy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel you. We can be happy and we will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww sorry about your Pops, then instead of thinking what happened that very day why not think of the good memory you had on Christmas with you dad? As for us, we don't put decorations also, just we just celebrate it and that's it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand; I'm trying my best to be happy and I'm anticipating this year's christmas with full spirit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas today is way more different than the Christmas that we used to celebrate before, but still here in ph, we still celebrate it yearly even though it's not as the same as what it used to be. You guys can celebrate Christmas if you want to, I'm sure it would be so much fun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes we Filipinos are so passionate when it comes to Christmas. Even we don't have enough money to celebrate, we still find a chance to celebrate the Christmas together with our family. I hope that the spirit of Christmas will comeback in your country mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Christmas is fast approaching and the weather can tell since it the one begotten son that is about to be conceived. Christmas stories here and there, preparation and decorations have been the talk of the whole city and place of the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations Kris for making your goals into reality! You are indeed your own santa :) We can still enjoy life even when things change than they used to be

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad o could achieve that goal; still hoping for my violin- perhaps I'd get that by January.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe you will :) Cheers to that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're your own santa??? Cool... I can't even be that for myself... But that's okay coz I tell myself "santa is for kids"...lol...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It hurts my spirit to see that Christmas is not celebrated anymore.. I mean, am not even a Christian but I love this festival as it is so colourful and bright...I wish your golden days are back to you amazing people in your country..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately these things cannot be changed and we simply have to accept the new normal...

$ 0.00
2 years ago