A decision out of conviction for the manifestation of a greater purpose

7 40
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

I'm glad I went to church today (my church) as things happened and it would have been bad but I'm glad my going wasn't in vain. It turned out that God had greater plans and he intended to use me for his Glory; at the end of the service I was really glad I went because things would have been different if I had not gone. The urge to go to my church today was in my heart, had been in my heart since days before, and got even stronger this morning. Hence the decision couldn't be ignored- will get to this shortly.

I mentioned in "grateful for a day like this; sunday here I come" that I've been in my uncle's place since Tuesday; went to pay a visit with plans of staying here for a bout a week or two, I mentioned I didn't have plans of following them to their church but had had the urge to go to my own church for no reason at all, I simply wanted to go to my church- the decision was made but I didn't tell my uncle before today; at a point this morning after I was dressed I was in doubt concerning how to tell him I wouldn't be following them to their church but would be going to mine, after all I was a visitor and not following them to their church would seem weird... I ignored how it was going to sound and simply went to him this morning while he was in the kitchen.. my words were "I'd be going to my church this morning, I've got commitments and didn't tell them I wouldn't be around hence I need to be there", my uncle's words were "alright, I guess I'd have to dress up on time so I can drop you at the nearest bustop".

Lead image

Kaboom! It was easier, left home few minutes to 8 am, was dropped at the nearest bustop while he drove to church with his wife and children (my cousins). Took the nearest available vehicle and off to my I went; I was glad to be there, never been happier to be in church and surprisingly it was going to be even more exciting and didn't realise this until it happened.

I got to church; pleasantries were exchanged and the first thing the pastor asked me was "where is Peter", a random usher asked the same thing "where is Peter" which my answer was "I don't know". Had to make them understand that I haven't been around in days and I came from my uncle's place with plans of returning afterwards. I know you're probably wondering who peter is... he is the official drummer for my the church branch I attend.

He was no where to be found as Sunday school progressed, service was about to begin and he wasn't there as well. damn this is bad as there would be no one to play the drums, thus making the praise and worship section a bit weird and unusual.. there was only one option at this point and that was me volunteering to play the drums.

Image source

Guess what- I played the drums today and I'm glad I did. At this moment I realised this was the major reason my mind was disturbed; things would have been different if I wasn't there as there would be no one else to do this, it would have been bad, the prasise and worship section, opening and closing hymn plus other singing sessions would have been made uninteresting and may have felt slightly empty and lagging.

I'm glad God decided to use me to make things different... now I see the reason for my action; God was prepping me for something great- a manifestation of his glory which is within me.

I played the drums throughout the service and the drummer didn't show up till the end of it all.....

Surpsisingly I haven't played the drums in years, last time I played the drums was 2017 due to some complicated personal reasons. I played it again today; though a bit rusty and felt initially uncomfortable but I adapted quickly and was able to do a little something. Though i didn't play perfectly as I made some really obvious mistakes because it's been years I picked up those drum sticks, yet I'm grateful to God because He allowed me to be used for his Glory.

Toddles!

All Images from unsplash

11
$ 3.74
$ 3.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Lovelyfaith
+ 8
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! You just made me remember. One church I attended when I was in a far away state, the church choristers (including instrumentalist) were not the serious type...you beg them to be available. I got to church and found out that some Sundays they do fellowship without the usage of instruments due to unavailability of the instrumentalist. I was privileged to use the drum that Sunday and it went well. I felt fulfilled. I'm not a good drummer as it's not something I do frequent or had practice on it. I just knw the basics.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Woah.. looks like there is another secret drummer in the house..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats good your uncle understood your position and let you to go to your church.I am glad to hear you played drums there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a great blessing if we work for God, he will bless us for working in his vineyard. I am happy you are a working tool in his hand.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have been wanting to learn how to play a guitar and drums but I really don't have time. Hahaha. All I can contribute to the church is my presence, because I'm not good at singing, either.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Stay blessed and aware. Good to know that you are enjoying your days. So my brother plays drum too?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sure you are enjoying your vacation at your uncles place. I guess it will be proper to call you drummer boy. Perhaps God sent you to your church to be their savior

$ 0.02
2 years ago