Looking Forward: Advanced Karate Techniques

11 36
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago

Tracking the Basics

Tracking the Basics

After learning the first two basic karate lessons I shared in my previous article, it's now time to practice tracking, also known as walking the techniques. It is basically incorporating the basic techniques into walking forward and backwards after learning to do them in place. I can see its importance in improving footwork and coordination especially when the target is moving.

First, perform the front punch starting with the right fist. Step the right foot forward then punch with the right arm. Keep it extended then step the left foot forward and perform the front punch with the left arm while the right punch snaps back to the hip (the initial position).

Perform the tracking for the front snap kick exactly as you learned from the previous article after performing the front punch. Start with the right foot. As the right foot returns at the front, chamber the left foot and perform the front snap kick using it. Do this as you take a step in walking.

Lastly, combine the front punch with the front snap kick. First, perform the front snap kick with the right foot. Place the right foot down forward then follow with the right front punch. Perform the left snap kick and as the left foot is placed down at the front, perform the front punch using your left fist. It was not mentioned how many times this should be performed so it's all up to you.

The Fighting Stance

Lesson 2 Technique - Fighting Stance

To form the fighting stance, place the right foot at the rear. Your feet should be about 8 inches apart. Slightly bend your knees as shown in the photo above. Bend both arms in a guard position. Both fists line up under the chin. The right fist is about 6 inches behind the left fist.

Combine the fighting stance with the reverse punch you have learned from the previous article. The purpose of this combination is to throw a punch while blocking. Keep the left arm in place to block while in fighting stance. Use the right arm to throw the reverse punch while in fighting stance. Do the same on the opposite side. This combo adds an element of surprise since the blocking arm partially hides the one throwing the punch. This is about blocking while adding a trick to surprise an opponent with a partially hidden punch.

Advanced Techniques I Look Forward to Learn

I browsed the entire book to see what techniques I'll learn after the basic ones. The book has seven lessons. Each contains a technique for upper and lower body. Here are some of the techniques I look forward to learn most.

Uppercut

Upper Body Technique 3 - Uppercut

I always find it awesome when I watch anime and see some characters perform uppercut and send the enemies flying sometimes. I'm so glad to know that this technique is the third lesson for upper body technique which means this will be the one I'll learn the soonest since this is next to the first two lessons I have learned. I took a glance at this one and found out the the elbow should be at 90 degrees the first time this punch hits the chin.

Roundhouse Kick

Lower Body Technique 6 - Roundhouse Kick

Another technique I see when I watch anime since childhood is this one. Now I know that this is called the roundhouse kick. This one is found on lesson 6. Far from my current progress. This targets the opponent sideways in front of you and would require a quarter turn. Obviously an advanced technique.

Thrust Kick

Lower Body Technique 7 - Thrust Kick

I assume this thrust kick is the most powerful kick among the lower body techniques since it's the last lesson for the kicks. This involves a forward thrusting momentum as the hip turns quickly at 45-degree angle. Like the basic kicks, the target of this technique is the midsection of the opponent using the heel of your foot. This is a big advantage tho women who wear killer heels.

Seeing these advanced techniques gives me more motivation to finish this book. If the basic techniques alone are devastating, I can imagine how powerful these advanced techniques can be. It might incapacitate someone. This is the last part of the series of karate articles I'm sharing for now. I'll continue with the succeeding techniques once I am able to perform them. Have fun while staying in good shape.

8
$ 3.82
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
+ 5
Sponsors of KrisCastro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago

Comments

Kris the lean mean fighting machine! Hope you get those advanced moves sorted soon :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How I wish I'm as strong as a fighting machine like anime lol. It's my inspiration after all. Those advanced moves are at the last few pages of the book. But at least I can learn the uppercut the soonest since it's the next lesson. Will get to the other techniques one of these days. 🌟

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One move at a time, then you will be surprised at how quick it all comes together!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung ako siguro na walang coordination, matatagalan sa pag gawa neto hehe. Makailang practice pa hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe medyo nakakalito nga sa umpisa pag nag tracking. Naghahalo na kasi yung mga techniques eh tapos habang naglalakad ka gagawin mo. Naintindihan ko naman yung purpose kasi nga naman sa real life situation di mo talaga sila iapply ng naka pirmi lang sa isang lugar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ung roundhouse kick at thrust kick ang pinaka astig e. Mabilis at madaling maka knockout ng kalaban. Madalas sa anime haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yang anime talaga ang nag udyok ng lahat eh hahaha nakaka inggit sila makitang nagagawa yang mga kick na yan lalo yung roundhouse madalas natin nakikita. Yung uppercut naman ang saya pag medyo napapalipad yung tatamaan haha. Yung thrust kick kawawa tatamaan nyan pag naka killer heels ang sisipa haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You really are passionate about karate. I hope that soon you can perform the techniques you want to learn.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks. I really miss practicing karate. Once I get settled in the apartment I just moved in I will add this to my workouts again and will continue to advance to the next lessons until I learn the moves I want most.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May black belter na sa read.cash hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wish ko lang maka black belt haha. Di na pwede mag enroll dahil sa spine kaya at least mag self study man lang. Basta nayuyupi ang punching bag masaya na ako. 🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago