Karate Style Workout is Fun

7 52
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago
My workout buddies

Do you love exercising or are you planning to start doing workouts but have no idea what to do? Today, I will share my workout regimen as well as my workout buddies. I've been doing this since high school and I started when I was 15. My friends and I used to jog every morning back then. We play badminton after jogging. I continue with self study karate when I go home. The book entitled "Karate Made Easy" by Ralph Corrigan is my reference and I will share the things I have learned from it. Later on, I learned more exercises from my gym instructor and from the pilates sessions I attend which I incorporated with this karate exercises later on.

I do full body workouts so everything is balanced. It's a lot better to develop a full body strength. This karate book and dumbells are my workout buddies. The dumbells are optional though and if you want to buy one, the weight is up to you. I just prefer 3 lbs. because I'm not allowed to lift heavy objects due to my spinal problem. Lastly, you will need a mat for the sit-ups and other stretching exercises. The good news is that you can do this anytime at the comfort of your home while you stay safe and healthy.

Let's Start

Warm-ups are very important before doing karate moves. Whether you practice karate moves or not, you may include these exercises in your whole body workout routine. Start the exercise by doing 50 jumping jacks or jump rope, if you have one. This is a good alternative if you don't have the machine to do your cardio exercise. I will be showing some pictures illustrated in my book as I proceed with the karate warm-ups.

Karate Warm-Ups

Upper body Exercises

Upper Body Rotations

Head Rotation

Everything will be done in sets of 10 counts for each exercise. The warm-up exercises start from the head so we'll start with the head rolls. This is the simple head rotations we often see and do in our PE class when we were students before. Rotate your head clockwise and do it for 10 counts. Do it counterclockwise afterwards and do it for 10 counts.

Next is the arm rotation. This was included but not illustrated in the book. It's the same as head rotation. Rotate both arms forward for 10 counts and backward for another 10 counts. I sometimes do this with dumbells. I added shoulder rotations later on. The process is the same with arm rotation.

Push-Ups

Push-ups and Planking

For the push-ups, I made a modification to make it easier. I learned planking from the gym so I just do it using this karate push-up position. Stay in that position and don't move for 10 counts. This is good for the abs. After that, I do the regular push-ups for 10 counts and I added wall push-ups for another 10 counts.

Sit-ups

I do sit-ups to strengthen abdominal muscles which is good for someone like me who has scoliosis. I do the basic sit-ups, also known as the basic crunches that we often see. I do three sets of 10 counts for a total of 30 counts. I sometimes add another three sets of 10 counts on this basic sit-ups using dumbells which makes a total of 60 counts for the basic.

Abs Workout

After doing three sets of basic sit-ups, that's the time I do this twisting sit-ups illustrated in the photo above. This is also done in three sets of 10 counts for both left and right sides which makes a total of 60 counts. This exercise is good for the obliques too for a curvy waist. After this, I do the air bike workout for abs in three sets of 10 counts and it's optional. You can start with just one set of 10 counts for the basic and twisting sit-ups if you're a beginner. With this, you will be able to do a total of 30 counts as a start. As you do it in three sets, you will be able to do a total of 90 sit ups but if you also add the optional ones, that will be a total of 150 sit-ups in a day. You may do a research on air bike abs workout if you want to add it to your abs workout. The most number of sit-ups I have done in a day is 200 so far but I didn't do it on a daily basis. You may do the same once your body gets used to it and the frequency is up to you.

Lower Body Exercises

Lower Body Rotations

For the lower body exercise, I start off with hip rotation followed by knee rotation. This is done the same way the head rotation is done. Do a set of 10 counts for both clockwise and counterclockwise directions for a total of 40 counts. I added an optional exercise which is the lunges and I do it with dumbells. I do 10 counts of this for both left and right legs.

Leg Raises

Leg Raise Exercise

This is personally my favorite warm-up exercise. It gives the feeling of kicking action while you develop balancing skills which is very helpful when you do karate moves. Start with forward leg raise. Swing your leg forward and raise it as high as you can. Complete 10 swings forward with right leg followed by another 10 counts for the left leg. Do three sets for this exercise. I added side and backward leg raises later on. The process is the same with the forward leg raises. You may do the same once you developed your balancing skills.

Stretches

Upper and Lower Body Stretches

The last part of karate warm-ups is stretching. This helps the body cool down while developing one's flexibility. Even the standard workouts at the gym ends with stretching.

Upper Body Stretches

Start off by simply stretching both arms for 10 counts. Next is the lower back stretches shown in the illustration at the upper left of the photo above. Twist a bit to the right with 10 counts followed by another 10 counts of twists to the left. Don't twist too much if you have spinal problem.

Lower Body Stretches

Start off with the seated leg stretch shown at the bottom of the photo. Spread your legs as wide as you can. Reach forward and grab your right ankle. Hold it for 10 counts. Do the same to your right ankle. Next is the standing leg stretch. Stand up and spread your legs as wide as you can and do the same process you did with the seated leg stretch. Reach and grab your right ankle and hold for 10 counts. Do the same with your right ankle. Lastly, do the to touches shown at the upper right of the photo above. With your toes together, bend forward and touch your toes. Hold for 10 counts. You will be able to let your palms touch the floor once you get used it this stretching exercise. Finish the warm-up exercises with 50 jumping jacks or jump rope.

Tips for Best Practices

You may be wondering how often will you do these exercises. It's all up to you. You may do it at a minimum of twice a week or as much as every other day. The time to spend doing this workout regimen also depends on your schedule and the speed your body can do in performing the exercises. Just make sure that you don't force your body too much. You can start with the basic things that your body can perform then you can add the optional exercises I have mentioned and add more counts later one once you get good at those exercises. I highly recommend doing this at least 1 hour every other day.

If you're only after workout routine, this one will be good enough for the whole body. But if you're into a more intense and action-packed workout and would love to venture on a self study on the art of self defense, watch out for my next article because I will be discussing the basic karate moves I have learned from this book that mom has bought me. Have fun staying fit and healthy with this workout regimen and stay tuned for the exciting karate moves I will share in a few days.

3
$ 3.71
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 1
Sponsors of KrisCastro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! Sounds good. Great to see you here Kris 💙

Do you still practice it now?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy to see you here as well. Yes I still practice these warm-up exercises but I got so busy for years that I was not able to practice the karate moves anymore. But once I completely settle in this apartment by next month, I will do karate again especially now that I have my own space.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doing warm-ups is really helpful. Before I go for a walk or jog, I'd do warm-ups still. There is a stretching exercise that I saw in fb that works the whole body which works for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes very helpful. Di tama yung basta banat na lang ng walang warm-up. Nakakabigla at baka may mangyari pang disgrasya kaya best practice talaga mag warm-up before the main activity especially sa martial arts na need pa magdevelop ng matinding balance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lagi pa rin ako nakakalimot mag warm up kaya nagsusuffer minsan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will save this for reference hehe. Yung madalas ko na nagagawa dito yung jumping jacks lalo na pag limited ang time. Kahit 10mins lang pwede na.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe naalala ko na minsan kang nagtanong sakin kung ano ang workout na ginagawa ko. Sakto tong article. Pwede mo sundan yung instructions dito lalo yung mga gusto mo add sa exercises mo. Yung jumping jack pwede na yan pang cardio para pag walang machine. Maganda to gawin every other day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago