Fish Fillet Sisig

4 38
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago

Sisig is a Filipino dish usually made of pork chopped into small cubes. Another variation is made of boneless milkfish. I actually intend to make one using milkfish but unfortunately, it's not available last time. I don't have much time left to buy my stocks before a higher restriction is imposed here due to the new variation of Covid we have here so I à asused cream dory as a substitute to create and improvise a variation of sisig dish. I cooked it using the most basic ingredients. The measurement of the ingredients is up to you since it depends on the serving and the flavor you prefer to stand out. This new variation I improvised gave me excitement so I decided to share this recipe. Here are the details for this fish fillet sisig.

Ingredients

  • Cream dory fish

  • Salt

  • Ground black pepper

  • Onion powder

  • Garlic powder

  • Oyster sauce

  • Calamansi or lemon

  • Garlic

  • Onion

  • Ginger

  • Butter

  • Soy sauce

The Fish Fillet Flavor

Marinated cream dory

The first thing to do is to marinate the main ingredient. I marinated the cream dory fish in oyster sauce, pepper, salt, garlic powder, onion powder and calamansi extract. Mix them thoroughly and marinate the fish for 30 minutes.

Sliced ingredients

While marinating the fish, I sliced the garlic and ginger into small bits and diced the onions. After 30 minutes, I sliced the the marinated fish into small cubes. This is good for one serving since I eat alone. Now that the ingredients are prepared, it's time to cook.

Let's Cook

Fried cream dory cubes

Fry the cream dory cubes. I choose to fry the fish using butter for more flavor and aroma. Fry it until golden brown and crispy. You can also fry it longer if you prefer it a bit toasted. Set it aside after frying.

Saute ingredients together

After frying the fish, saute the garlic, onion and ginger. I used butter here as well. I didn't use oil for the entire process of cooking this recipe. I added the fish and mixed it with the rest of the ingredients after I saute them. Add soy sauce and a pinch of salt and pepper. Make some adjustments until you achieve the flavor you prefer.

You can add bell pepper strips and egg on this dish. A sisig dish usually have those ingredients regardless of variation (pork or milkfish). I wasn't able to add them since I ran out of those ingredients and I can't go out that much due to higher restrictions imposed here recently because of the pandemic. This is another reason why I improvised a sisig dish. You can also add chili if you prefer a hot and spicy sisig. Mayonnaise is also optional. Some people drizzle it with mayonnaise.

Let's Eat

Sisig with rice

For the final touch, serve the fish fillet sisig with rice. We Filipinos eat our meals with our staple food, rice. I had this fish fillet sisig meal for lunch yesterday. It's a sumptuous and heavy meal indeed. It filled my stomach that I wasn't able to eat dessert afterwards.

We may be having a limited movement due to more restrictions brought about by the new Covid variant but looking at the bright side, it was able to bring out more creativity in preparing meals. I enjoyed improvising a meal that filled my stomach while I stay safe at home. Try this one too. It's simple and easy to prepare and it really goes well with rice. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section. Have fun in the kitchen!

6
$ 3.31
$ 3.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Yelenab
+ 2
Sponsors of KrisCastro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago

Comments

What alternative can we use for oyster sauce? Also, the ingredients for marinade depends on how you want it to taste? I may want to try this one too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede ang soy sauce alternate for oyster sauce. Yes yung ingredients ng marinade depende kung anong flavor ang preferred mo mag stand out kaya walang definite na measurements. Add ka lang din ng bell peppers kasi di lang ako nakalabas nun kaya di ko nalagyan. Try mo sya. Masarap at madali lutuin. 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fish fillet is so yummy! Tapos ginawa pang sisig, mas lalong masarap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try nyo to ng mama mo. Masarap talaga basta manuot yung mga pampalasa sa fish. Tantyahan lang talaga sa measurements depende kasi kung anong timpla ang gusto at kung gano kadami.

$ 0.00
2 years ago