Mama Told Me

2 30
Avatar for KisvenAaron
2 years ago
Topics: Advise, Care, Kids, Parenting
  • "You are a different specie of human, your future is bright and your destiny has been greatly designed by God before you were even conceived. You are set to rule over kings and dine with honourables"

I was so little that I could barely understand what mama meant, so I would just smile and giggle each time mama tells me of my worth.

Her words sounding like sweet melody to my ears, and gives me an unusual sweet feeling I couldn't tell. For a fact I couldn't understand what mama said didn't stop her from telling me and making me feel more like royalty, like for that reason she could keep telling me.

Till I grew a little older, mama's words never changed, not a single word from her sentence.

At that age I should partially understand what mama meant all along, I was her only child, it's only normal she wish me the best. I had friends in my school who had rich parents, so every break time I get intimidated by their big rich lunch boxes and even expenses after school hours.

Mama tells me how great a man I will be but she is not great, mama keeps ringing to my ears how rich I will become but she was not rich herself. Only if mama was this things she wish me, I will never lack like this rich kids in school.

And now plenty thoughts are running through my round shaped head.

One day, my rich classmate left his bag open in class and went to ease himself, just the right opportunity to take that 50naira that is almost fallen off his bag.

The next morning I was called before the rest of the students at the assembly and given several strokes of the cane because I had taken what was not mine, I hated myself after that disgrace and blamed my mother for everything.

"Why are you not rich and great like my friend's parents? Instead you only wish me with words that might not come true, what if I end up like you? Without money and worth!! If only you were rich and great I wouldn't be disgraced for stealing in school".

Now, that was the very first time In my whole life I saw mama cry uncontrollably, when I was a kid, she would cry in secret and lie to me smoke went in her eyes. She will never allow me see her tears.

  • "I love you son, you are my only source of joy and happiness, your smile and laughter keeps me alive, I wish you well because when you are well I am well. I want you to have everything that I never had the opportunity to have..... I am sorry I failed you, but...... (She burst into uncontrollable tears again, and she never continued that sentence, I also never asked) I am trying hard to give you a better life according to my capacity, at least one you shouldn't forget in a hurry but the burden is too much on me, I know it shouldn't be an excuse because it is my responsibility. I am so sorry son" (she knelt down before me)

I was so shocked, to see mama kneel for me, and not scold or insult me for stealing at school. She apologized when I should be apologizing.

Are we not in Africa anymore? Where parents rather take pride in beating their children and insulting the life out of them when they smell a little error.

Well, I will tell you a little about my mama before we continue with what later happened between us both......

TO BE CONTINUED..............

@Fyangzee24 @Kleah97 @Chelle18@Kristofferquincy @Jelena @FashTioluwa

Article Title: Mama Told Me 
Date: 17-03-2022
Author: Kisven Aaron

6
$ 0.90
$ 0.50 from @Kristofferquincy
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Success.1
+ 3
Avatar for KisvenAaron
2 years ago
Topics: Advise, Care, Kids, Parenting

Comments

Thats the love of a mother that no one could ever give us,waiting me for the aprt two🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

African parents are really amazing, it's a very good one you have there. Keep it up man, can't wait for the second part

$ 0.00
2 years ago