Essence of Giving

12 36

GIVING

Some say I find it difficult to give cos I don't have enough for myself..

So I was hungry one certain period, I was really broke then, the little food stuffs I had was exhausted, was just trying to manage till pay day. I checked one of my pockets and managed to see 200naira.. omg the money would be enough to feed me that whole day, decided to buy spaghetti and cook, so I'll be able to eat and remain for evening..

I still have little cooking ingredients, so I managed to prepare my tasty spaghetti.. Immediately food was ready, behold I heard a knock on my gate..

For the first time in my life I was hoping it was Jehovah witness.

Only for me to check and saw my friend that live close to me..

Ooo chim! Since someone was dying of hunger, I didn't see anybody o.. Now food have set, this one just appeared from no where, come to think of it do they have food censor??? I really don't know.. I was contemplating whether to hide majority of the food in my flask, and leave small, so he will think I just finished eating..

I was running out of time cos he has been at the door for long, so I just went ahead to open for him.

So I eventually opened the gate for him and let him in.. "Guy na die I dey o, hunger wan kill me(meaning I'm very hungry), since yesterday I have not eaten any good food", he said, my small spaghetti I budgeted for that whole day it's at risk, I can't lie to him that there's no food, cos he will just go to the kitchen and open pots.. So I said okay, I served in a plate for me and him to eat, this boy carried phone and dialed his room mate number, bro come to Crystal room, food dey here..

I Wept in my heart silently 😪.

Good turned bad I thought, soon his room mate came in, he even appeared more hungry than the both of us combined.. Even before I eat 1spoon, they are on their 3rd spoon.. Hian, na so hungry catch this people.. I saw how hungry they were, so I eventually brought out the whole pot.. We finished it, I used like 2sachets of water to top the meal.. They thanked me and left, I was supposed to be angry or upset about how I'll feed the rest of the day, but somehow, I felt inner peace knowing I probably have saved two souls.

The rest of the day will take care of its self I told myself.. I cleaned my house and slept off, only to wake up, checked my phone and saw a credit alert from where I did my Internship, they haven't paid me fully, I saw an alert of part of the payment, Chai I was overwhelmed.. I went to the ATM, made some withdrawals, then went to the market straight, bought some raw materials and soup stuffs. I Came back home and prepared very nice Vegetable soup, with assorted meats. I forget to mention, my cooking will make you disown your mom 😂. When the food was ready, I used my own hands to dial my friend number, telling him "E DON HAPPEN O". That was the code words for food is ready, In no time, they came and we ate..

I never went hungry that day..

I learnt a lesson, it's better to share the little you have, than being overfed while you watch your friends starve.. There's always a reward for givers.

You don't need to have much before you give, little things matters, giving is way beyond financial handing out. You can give ur time, attention, care, Knowledge, advice, counsel, see giving as a sacrifice, not something you do when you're comfortable.. The secret to abundant wealth is giving.

Words for thought..

If you can't put a smile on a million faces, make one face smile in a million ways..

"No matter the quantity of food you eat today, you'd still go hungry tomorrow"

24
$ 0.53
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor

Comments

Giving is a very good act that must be achieved by humans

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it is, it gives one inner peace, especially when you give from your heart, not compelled to

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Givers never lack and the hand of the giver is always untop, let's keep giving with a genuine heart

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And the good thing about giving is that it someway gets paid back to us bountifully, not necessarily from the person we gave, like they said what goes around, comes around,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Even God said love your neighbours as yourself,through some acts such as giving.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea giving doesn't always have to be material things, sharing knowledge is also giving, attention and showing kindness too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is written well but no story/tale. It's too long for a freewrite too. I hope you find a community where it fits. You can try something like life or life lessons.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, I'll do just that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Funny Guy 😂😂. Your pidgin is overwhelming. Though I learnt a lot of morals lessons like giving creates a platform for you to receive. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂 thanks for taking your time to read through, pidgin is the only way I could express that particular scene lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome I can see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gracias

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is informative article, i enjoy the way you elaborate or narrate your story. Thanks for this :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for taking out time to read through, you can always relate to a story when you pour your heart to it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This was a wonderful and inspiring piece of write up... I enjoyed how you narrated this story because I have same experience from school too with my neighbours. Try fixing your article though there are some typos

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea one can easily relate. I'm not too good at proofreading, I don't even have the patience, I know there will be errors, I'll try to correct them. Thanks for pointing it out to me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you need to develop the habit of proofreading your contents so as to avoid some unknown issue because a simple typo could pass the wrong message and more stricter communities would most likely not accept articles that full of typos...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I will, thank you. I appreciate

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The pat that catches my attention the most is the part that says : "You don't need to have much before you give, little things matters, giving is way beyond financial handing out. You can give ur time, attention, care, Knowledge, advice, counsel, see giving as a sacrifice, not something you do when you're comfortable.. The secret to abundant wealth is giving."

Everything else is also perfect

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You've said it all, if Everybody could understand giving the way we do, you don't give cos you feel comfortable giving, give even when you feel uncomfortable giving. You'll surely get rewarded for that, not from the person you gave but from some you never imagined

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah..it's really necessary to give no matter how little you have..you should be able to give because there are people you are better than...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

your article is so informative and educative it's so helpful us. thanks for :-)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the kind words, it'll encourage me to do even better next time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's very beautiful article thanks for

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wrote an article on why Give some days ago and I'm happy someone also sees my view. Giving is a sacrifice for the best to come. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it's indeed a sacrifice.. and there's always an unexpected reward waiting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. I'm grateful to you for such an outstanding article. Yes, Whatever you consume today, you cannot get it back tommorrow. Learn to share and taste its beauty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. We should always have the habit of giving even if it'll cost us, that's why it's a sacrifice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup this is an excuse for myself sometimes. Knowing a little penny can make someone very glad and can put a smile in there face.

Then I felt the same way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Giving out is a gift, some people find it so hard to be giving because they are not given the gift

$ 0.00
3 years ago