The dog ate my mummy

11 33
Avatar for King_son
2 years ago

It was a cool afternoon. The sun had gone to rest behind the clouds. The wind was gently whistling by and supply the environ with fresh air. I had just finished packing some dry leaves inside what you can call the bedroom. I just had to do this to provide for my family and myself a soft material to lay down on instead of sleeping on the hard floor. Suddenly, I heard a shout some metres away 'help, help me!' I was scared and I resolve to go see what the shout was all about. Lo and behold, it was my brother running as if he had see a ghost. I could notice a stain of red ink on hands and part of the air on his belly. I quickly had a surrounding check to be sure there was no Hunter or dangerous animal around. When I was sure the surroundings was clear, I quickly pulled him inside and tried to calm him down. I could see the terror In his eyes, the perspitation of his heartbeat, the shaking of his whole being as he continually whispers 'h..hhee... ate her. Heee... ate mmmuumm.' couldn't really understand him, or should say I didn't want to.

Our small village is situated in the heart of a mountain with many vegetations. We had made our homes in holes and caves in the mountain and underground to protect us from our natural enemies and the fierce hunters. We had appointed some of us as guards and watchers to give warnings and alert of us of the presence of any threatening personality in the environ. This is really important because of the high rate at which we lost members of our clan. I can remember vividly the invasion of our village by those fierce looking hunters with Sophisticated weapons which claimed at least 80 memebers of the clan. Some where killed at the spot while the others were taken alive. It was on that fateful that I lost my father. It happened at night. We had tried severe means of providing protection and security for ourselves. I heard someone even volunteered to train the whole clan the act of offence and defence, but then, where would we get weapons from?

Back to the matter at hand. I tried all I could to calm my brother down and tell him to look me in the face and tell me all that has happened. He started with a big sigh and when he eventually opened his mouth all I could hear was the grinding of his teeth against each other. I was confused. Then in a flash, I remembered something. This remembrance brought a cold chill down my back as of a serpent gliding through. I swallowed my saliva hard and asked with a fear-instilled voice, "where is mother?". The answer I got was a loud shout and my brothers palms showing what I though was red ink at first. I fell to the ground with tears rushing in full force to my eyes. I gasped for breath. I tried shouting but all that came out was a whiz.

One the morning of that fateful day, my mom said she was going out to get some foodstuff for the whole family and my brother had volunteered to go with her. Initially, my mother had objected saying she would go alone and get the foodstuffs reasoning being that she doesn't want to expose any member of the family to harm. But my brother, being the sturbbon head that he is, had maintain that he is going and nothing wijivha get that. They both left with me and my other siblings to arrange the house and put everything in order for the coming winter. Now my brother as returned and my mom is nowhere to be found.

I managed to ask my brother how it happened (guessing it was my mom's blood he has shown me), he said in a much clearer voice 'The dog has ate my mother'. He then managed to narrated how it happened to me but not without consistent groanings, crying and shouts. He said they had already gotten all the foodstuffs they needed and where already coming home, when he sitted a nice larg piece of carrot sitting all by itself in the middle of the bush. He wanted it so bad and was going to get it when my mother told him to leave it as it maybe a trap to entice preys. He said he didn't listened to her, rather he went ahead and bent to pick the 'eat-me' carrot. Out of nowhere, a large, fierce, big teethed dog appeared and would have killed him if not for my mother who ran and pushed him out of danger way. He was lucky to have his life but his saviour which was my mom got torn apart by the dog. He had tried rescuing my mom from the dog's teeth but to no avail. He said my mother with her last strength as tears gathered in her eyes shouted 'Runnnn...'. Now he is here at home and my mom in a dog's belly. I felt like beating him up and tearing him apart by myself but I don't really have that kind of energy due to the grieve in my heart.

Well, I had to accept fate as it. It's what we face Everytime. That was really a sorrowful one for all the members of the clan. We went about with our heads down and spoke gently. As if to add to our injury an eagle come out of nowhere and swooped one of the litters as she was running around. Mountain rabbits are one of eagle's favourite meal, hence our regular predator. I look forward to a day where I and other members of my clan would walk, look for food and play without looking back or up into the sky.

Note: This is a fiction story and a product of my imaginative mind.

Thanks for reading this article. Don't forget to hit the 👍 button. See you soon❤️❤️❤️

7
$ 2.04
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Oyinwrites
Sponsors of King_son
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for King_son
2 years ago

Comments

Wow.. I almost thought it was real, I was damn scared. Anyways, nice write up you have here. I'm new here and it's nice meeting you and I will also like to connect with you🙌

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh thanks dearie. I hope to see you more often as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got me scared dear, that was a nice story there... Have leatnt something , I will never be stubborn

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad I was able to entertain and educate you. Thanks for reading my post see you soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

funny tho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice I was able to indulge your sense of humor. Please use more sentences next time so you don't get spammed by the bot. Thanks for visiting my page dear friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow this is a really interesting story. You had me glued to my screen. I can now see why it is not good to be stubborn.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I love the fact that you loved it. Thanks dear friend for visiting my page, see you soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story. Hahaha I had thought I was a real life situation. You really do have a great imaginative mind. You are going to be a prolific writer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks friend. I hope you enjoyed read it🤗🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago