My Saturday Was Not A Weekend

15 16
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

My Saturday was not a weekend.

For some time now we have been having power issue in my workplace, the major generator broke down and it's been like that for weeks while we've been using the alternative (plan B Generator). For a big fancy organization like this, the management supposed to be prompt in fixing the faulty generator but they've been procrastinating and I know the only serious prompt that will push them is when the alternative Generator develop fault.

Lead image| Unsplash.com

Yeah, the alternative Gen. has been dribbling us for a week now, daily usage is affecting her and she's telling us she's tired but what can we do?, we must keep using her till the main one is fixed.

Today became worst and it disorganized our activities. At early morning at the time of opening, the Gen started malfunctioning, tripping OFF and ON, blowing bulbs and making wall sockets to spark💥. We had to shut it down and call a nearby electrician to check to check what the fault because could be, because it looked like an electrical issues. The man checked, saw some burnt wires on the changer box, got them fixed and within a short time, we turned On the Generator and it started functioning well. I told the electrician to hold on a little and observe if it'll happen again and he concurred. We waited for about an hour and the Gen functioned normal and I let him(the electrician) to go. I collected his number while he left(he said he has another work to attend to, outside the community).

Just about 30mins he left, Gen started malfunctioning again, the blows, Sparks and smoke came in another dimension and all the ladies began to scream. I was the only guy around so I have to be brave, I went and turned off the Gen and put a call to the electrician, he didn't picked at that moment. We were in darkness and waiting for a miracle till the electrician called, he said he's was driving when I called and besides he has gone far and can not turn back. So he directed me to adjust somethings on the things he did before leaving,,,,

I turned to an electrician at that moment, braveness! I made sure I put on a rubber slippers incase it tries to shock me. I did what he said while the Gen was running (I was glad it didn't shocked me) but the problem was still there. I had to turn off and wait for the manager to profer for the way forward.

Meanwhile, all these while they've paid a "well recommended electrician" that's supposed to work on the major Gen. My manager put a call and pressured him to come and rescue us otherwise we would close up for the day. The man promised to come which he later came in five hours time.

Thank God it didn't take him time to fix, he fixed it within some minutes and yeah, our major light was restored. (The normal light without trouble came and we all became Happy)

Must things really be handled this way? Why must we wait when a situation is critical before we force out a reasonable solution? That's life for us.

________________________

Time was about 1pm and I was so tired and hungry and that's because haven't taken break fast. I later settled myself.

We closed around 9:00pm as usual and I had to rush to look for a barbing salon to cut my hair and it was difficult for me to locate one because time was late and my regular Barbing salon had closed. I succeded in getting one and time was 9:20pm already, I met a long queue but I was determined to wait because I mustn't appear in church tomorrow with the bushy hairs. I waited till it got to my turn and thank God for the barber, he knows the work and within 7mins he was done.

________________________

I trecked down to my house and met my neighbors quarrelling. The quarrel was between two occupants, a young man and a married woman, I stopped and tried separating them but my words didn't worked so I decided to go and prepare Noddles and eat to energize my body. The bants became intensed that I rushed out leaving my pot of Noddles on gas/fire while go out to separate them. I was able to separate them and that was when I remembered I was cooking, I rushed inside kitchen to meet my burnt Noodles. That's the disadvantage of having quarrelsome neighbors.

Image source

I decided to take tea and bread as dinner as it's late already and not ready to stress myself to prepare another Noddles.

After that I launched to my bed to type this article, I was writing when I heard a bang on my door and that was them, they were still exchanging words and hitting walls to demonstrate how angered they are. I went outside to meet them again, to tell them nobody should disturb my peace again since they don't want to sleep tonight. I entered my room and ready to go into the Dreamland.

Sorry for bringing you this rant, I was fighting with writer's block and I said to my self I must win the day by writing even if the time is far gone. Thanks for reading

19th February 2022

7
$ 2.01
$ 1.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 5
Sponsors of Kiingsley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

Comments

Lol. Next time don't go near a faulty electrical installation o. O fear electricity hazard more then anything. You should have it sorted for the technician to come fix it just to be on a safer side... Thank God every thing was alright at the end

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣 Actually, electricity is not anyone's mate. I'm not into electricity stuff but I know some basic wires to touch and hold while there's Current and it won't shock...but fear go always dey that's why I used slippers abeg🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was funny when you had to turn to an electrician wearing rubber slippers so you won't get shocked.. Sorry about the stress, it must have been a stressful but interesting day.. I hope today Sunday is going well

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol🤣. In as much as I know what to do there, the fear of getting shocked is not anybody's mate🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂, I'm glad it ended well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"A stitch in time saves nine", which means taking care of a problem as soon as it appears will prevent it from getting worse. The major reason why any establishment will have a backup generator is to have something to fall back to in case the main one spoils. They use the back up generator while they quickly fix the main one, but you guys ended up relying too much on the back up gen 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The management knows too much that's why, especially the director. The thing pained me eh😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad your generator worked and sorry to hear about your exhausting day

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, thank you so much FarmGirl

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ops, you had a very frustrating day. But I'm just laughing when you tried to stop an argument but since they don't want to listen, you just go and cook food for yourself haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear, they loved the argument and never want to stop, they kept disturbing the peace of the environment.🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Find the black goat before it's dark, but most people still don't understand it, as long as it bring in money, its good to fix it the moment it got spoilt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's life for us. Most times we neglect the the fact until it leaves us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a really bravo boy dear. Sometimes we need to do it because there is no other way and they dont should distrub you when you wanted sleep.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago