I was once bullied

19 25
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

A very good day and a happy weekend to you all. I hope you have the best of weekend with maximum rest.

A very special thanks to you all for the supports, thank you for reading, liking, commenting and upvoting❤️.

________________________

The best you can do to yourself in this life is to accept who you are, whether slim or chubby, fair or dark, tall or short, handsome/beautiful or ugly. Rating down yourself will bring low self esteem. Comparising yourself with others will definitely bring you down.

I remember when I was in high school, I suffered a lot of bully because I'm slim and not only that but coupled with a very fair skin. You know that kind of skin, being the only difference in the midst of black people. I can't just hide even in the midst of lectures in school because the teacher always point at me to answer questions but thank God I wasn't dull to that aspect. My colleagues were fond of referring me to an Albino and it used to pain me. To the extent I selected only few friends to flow with. My slim nature also gave me a lot of awkward comparison and looks especially when we were to engage in physical labor that demands exertion of strength. They always say I'm not capable of something like that because I'm slim and I'd break when I try. But I always surprise them that slim nature is not a fact to conclude on the strength of the person.

Image source

There was a PRINCIPAL(head of school) they brought to our school that time, he was suffering from psych and does all manners of display. He has my kinda colour but his own is the Albino type, so they used to refer to me as is son just to make fun of me. Do you understand the pain? They were referring me to a madman as a father just because we have a look a like colour. That I couldn't hold so I fight and hate anyone that calls me that.

Sponsors of Kiingsley
empty
empty
empty
I love you❤️

And the funny thing is that, if people see you reacting to what you are supposed to laugh over, they increase the intensity. So the more I fight and hate it, the more they do it. I got tired and accepted the bully with the whole of me.

Lead image

Image source

Girls that time don't find me attractive except the ones that know me to the book section because I always come out outstanding. So I didn't even bothered to talk of having a girlfriend then. Low self-esteem was written all over me.

But towards the ending of the final class, I was made the best in biology and economics subjects and you know what, girls were retracing their direction my way but hell no, low self-esteem was still there and I couldn't arrange any move.

And I accepted myself.

I don't know when exactly, but I found out that for a long time I haven't been worried about my light skin or slim body. When I entered higher institutions, I met friends that even admired my skin and they wished they had my kind of skin. And I was like, do you know what people say to my skin?

From there I began to see myself as "fine and cool". Every feelings of low self-esteem vanished.

I don't know how it happened but I see my skin light and glittering, no longer the look I used to give it then.

There was a time we were carrying chair at church during service and I had to fold/draw my trouser up to prevent water from staining my trouser, when a lady in our misdt saw the part I opened, yeee! She was shocked to see the light, fair skin and she complemented...you know that feeling🤗.

Like I used to tell people...

When you accept yourself, you'll see that you're beautiful or handsome. When you think that people are rejecting or turning you down because of one lack in your body, the more it happens and that leads to depression.

Oftentimes I throw accolades to myself when going through my gallery (since I don't have anybody to do that, let me do that to myself). I see my photos as cute and that of a movie celebrity.🤸

When I look at myself in the mirror, the words that come out from my mouth are nothing but accolades, I make myself special.

Now, the only way ladies would turn me down is definitely because of MONEY and not look, yeah it can't be my look. Even though the lady doesn't find my look attractive to her, I don't consider it, I assume it's my money that made her turned me down...JUST TO FEEL SPECIAL 🤸.

I may not be handsome to everyone's standard but I'm handsome within me and it's keeps me going.

Expecting upload of personal pics?🤔 Scroll down to my previous articles 🤣.

SAY NO TO LOW SELF-ESTEEM

Thanks for reading

21st January 2022

10
$ 2.88
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 4
Sponsors of Kiingsley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

Comments

Those people that kept picking at you were the one who actually felt. Inferior and unsecured in your presence believe me. Some people would try their best to pull someone down who they perceived a threat, thats what I have understood about bullies. They derive joy in making their victims feel sad and inferior. Never give them that satisfaction.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, that's what I understood. They were totally jealous and couldn't help it. This life is all about understanding. I wish I understood it earlier, I would have dominated a lot

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the spirit ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good that you realized not to lift yourself up and not listen to those naysayers. I think some people will always be like those who choose to pick on others instead of looking at their own selves. No to low self esteem indeed!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, after then I began to imagine the look of those they laughed at me then and i saw that I was better than them that period

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must learn to value ourselves without expecting others to do so first. Without becoming vain of course.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Correct✓. It's not good to allow others should do that for us. We are all created differently with our special spec

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was n't bullied perse but was called names and used to hurt me.. but later years, I realized we are much bigger than those... when you get bullied, it means you are alread ybetter than them.. i'm glad you could heal :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😍this is from another angle. When we get bullied that means they're jealous of us. This is good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its good to know that despite the painful experiences you had, you still find your way to accept what and who you are. And that's the biggest achievement for me. As for me, I was being bullied too. I've got the same feelings as you, and I also find a way out to believe that I am beautiful the way I am. Whatever other people may say about it, for me, I am who I am. And I am proud to know my worth. It is us, that should believe in ourselves first..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank youuu😍. We just have to see ourselves and accept it the way we are. That's called first Love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can really relate to this especially the part where they'll say you'll break, it's annoying but I'm glad I'm over it now. It's good that you're able to accept yourself and even praise yourself

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, it was painful but thank God for God. Now, no one can say trash to me cos I'd just laugh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the spirit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you were finally able to accept yourself! That's the key to self confidence!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I think it works with maturity or so. It was outgrown. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bullies should not be accepted anywhere, it destroys a child confidence and affects his emotions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truely, I was depressed those times, I could count how I separated myself from their gatherings just to stay off the intimidation. Thank God it was a work over

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just can't handle this. Totally hate it. Sorry about your incident. I hold your back.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😍 It was tough for me but thank God I scaled through and I'm okay now. Thanks for stopping by🙌

$ 0.00
2 years ago