I am "Promdi" and I'm Proud of it!

60 47
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

"Promdi" is a tagalog word that means "person from the province".

Nowadays, so many people are living in the city of Manila from their respective provinces to seek or find their luck. It is undeniable that it is much harder to earn money in the provinces compared to cities like Manila. Therefore, many are obsessed with going out to take risks and find their destiny in Manila or neighboring cities.

I grew up in the province of Oriental Mindoro but when I started College, we have to move here in Cavite as my parents needed to work both to supply our daily needs and me and my sibling's studies.

My Struggles and Challenges

As a Commuter

I am not used to travelling via vehicle cause way back in our province, I barely ride a vehicle and when I say vehicle, it means tricycle. Jeepneys are very rare in our province.

My first few months of commute to and from the school are always a struggle for me. I felt dizzy and always wanted to vomit while I'm inside the jeepney.

I don't know how to use pedestrian lane.

I am not familiar with the traffic lights and how to use it, cause I do not see any of it when I was in our province.

I am too shy to ask other passengers to hand my fare to the driver so I always make sure to sit right behind him.

Language

There are certain language that I know in our native tagalog but others can't understand it even though to my knowledge, it is also a tagalog word.

For example:

  • mabanas (also known as maalinsangan)

  • sintoris (also known as dalandan)

  • kalamunding (also known as kalamansi )

  • istep-in (also known as tsinelas)

  • lukban (also known as suha) , and there's many more.

Accent

Since accent in our province is far way more different that the accent here in the city, I keep on trying to get used to accents here. But sometimes, I still pronounce it with "Bisaya" accent accidentally.

Here some of the example:

  • letter "F" that becomes letter "P" when pronounced and vice versa - "plawer" instead of "flower".

  • letter "V" that becomes letter "B" when pronounced and vice versa - "seben" instead of "seven"

  • letter "e" that becomes "i" when pronounced and vice versa - "sex" instead of "six".

  • letter o that becomes u when pronounced and vice versa - "omowi" instead of "umuwi"

Ordering food in the resto

In my first few months here in the city, I honestly don't know how to order food in a restaurants, or in any fast foods. So, I always have to copy my friend's order cause I am not familiar at all on the food that's listed in the menu.

Riding in an elevator or in an escalator

I struggled to ride an escalator and even more the elevator during my first few months of staying here in the city. I would rather look for stairs rather than taking the escalator or elevator ride.

Branded Products

I don't have any idea before on the brand of any products. Like for example, in pants, or any clothes. There is one brand I ever know before - the ballpen brand (Panda and Pilot). Aside from that? I don't care at all :).

Don't know how to operate computer

During my early year in my college, I still can recall clearly. During our computer subject, when our teacher asked us to turn on the PC, I have to ask my seatmate's assistance as I don't have any idea what to press.

When I type letters, I only use two fingers (one at a time). An index finger from my left hand and index finger from my right hand. So just imagine how long I am able to complete a word.

Why I am not ashamed to be a Promdi?

I ought to say that despite of many challenges and struggles for being a Promdi, I still managed to survive and overcome most of them. And that's one that I'm proud of!.

Aside from that, I am proud and not ashamed that I am a "Promdi" because:

I am a certified multilingual

Multilingual means able to speak and understand more than two languages. 

Aside from the universal language (English) which I currently use in my writing, I also know how to speak "tagalog Mindoro", "tagalog Manila", and "bisaya Mindoro". I also know how to speak "Romblomanon". It is the native language of Romblon.

Hence, I consider it as an advantage amongst other who only knows how to speak "tagalog" and "english". I can easily mingle with other promdi guys who speaks other languages that I also speak.

I have a guaranteed province to visit

I once asked my colleague before "saan ang probinsya mo?" and then he responded"wala eh, tubong Maynila ang mga magulang ko". I felt a little sad for him. Why? Cause he doesn't have a single province to visit where the lodging is free at all. Having a province or being a promdi makes a guarantee that you have atleast 1 province where your visit is free of charge - no service charge at all (except the fare of course).

Survival mode

We can adapt easily to our environment. We're not afraid to sank in the mud or dirt.

In terms of food, person like me who grew up in the province can eat any edible plants available in the surroundings.

I hope you have enjoyed reading. See you again on my next articles.

Image source: http://gif-free.com/uploads/posts/2021-07/1625477073_2.gif

14
$ 3.25
$ 3.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.04 from @charmingcherry08
+ 4
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

Welcome promdi. Life isn't easy. Some are lucky they adopt ancestors wealth and now give lecture about how to earn it.

Btw here in pakistan same system here us also different province and i am "Punjabi" We have 5 province and all are having different culture and nature . Hills grounds , desert etc. We have 5 languages. But urdu is our national language. I was thinking this is just in pakistan but you also have. Where are you from Philippines?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes i am from philippines

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you. I like your country . Dear would you explain how to get sponsorship ? Or how i can become. What are its benefits?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol I also stay next to a driver because I am shy, The struggles of shy people am i right

$ 0.01
2 years ago

true!..ahahaha..I am so happy I am not alone :).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probinsyana din ako and I will never be ashamed of it. Always loud and proud that I am from the province and that I have experienced a lot of memorable things.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

apir sis!>.yan ang spirit nating mga promdi.Kahit minsan nabubully, proud pa din na laking probinsya tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama. Hahahaha. Kahit minsan sabihin na maitim o ano, wapakels. Basta proud ako sa kulay ko!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe.. Apir.. Kahit nagkakanda buholbuhol na ang mga dila sa kakagaya ng punto ng mga taga syudad.. Go lang.. Ahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Proud promdi rin ako sis. Still leaving parin here sa province... Nakarelate ako sa article mo sis, lalo na yung pagsakay ng escalator hahaha naku andami kong funny memories of experience about dyan 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahaha..same sis. hirap kasi timing-an noh..ahahaha....yung sasakay kana tapos aatras ulit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to always adapt to any environment you found yourself. That is when you're in Rome ,you behave like a Roman

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You got it right . You need to be flexible

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although most people prefer to live in cities but nothing can be pleasant as to live in province. I am glad to hear the way you courageously faced all difficulties here being a promdi but always felt proud of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the compliment.. Yeah.. If I will have to choose living in a province or city? I will still choose to live in the province.. But problem livingg in thee province is, the money..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Proud promdi here sis! Ako nung unang tumuntong ako dito sobrang itim talaga ng balat ko at halatang probinsyana dahil sa accent kapag magsalita. Pero ngayon tagalog na tagalog at medyo pumuti na rin dahil sa mga sabon.😁 Namamangha din ako noon sa mga nadaanan kong jolibee mcdo kasi sa tv ko lang yun nakikita noon. Haha. proud pa din ako na taga province ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

apir sis!...nagbrilliant ka noh? charot!..hahahaha...ako naman kusa lang din pumusyaw ang balat nung napadpad dito. Bakit nga kaya ganun noh? Anong meron ang araw dito at nakakaputi? Dahil kaya sa chlorine na nilalagay nila sa tubig?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag kojic ako sis. Haha charr lang. Sa tubig siguro sis. Nakakapagputi tubig dito sa province ata nakakaitim hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din sis, naloko pa ko ng trike driver nung marinig nya accent ko. Nabully pako ng bata nung malamang taga probinsya ako

$ 0.01
2 years ago

takaw scammer din pati sis anoh pag nalaman nila na probinsyano tayo. Tayo talaga ang tinatarget nila. Nabiktima nyang mga ganyang nagbubudol yung pinsan ng asawa ko dati sa palengke eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, akala nila porket probinsyano eh di na marunong magisip

$ 0.00
2 years ago

korek sis. porke ang alam nila hindi tayo namulat sa mga ganung budolan kasi sa probinsya wala namang ganun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad but totoo :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Promdi din ako sis..struggle is real talaga pag dumayo ka ibang lugar hehe..sa langauage ako nahirapan dahil ako sanay minsan nagmimixed na ako ng salita hehe tagalog at ilocano hhe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahahaha..mabibilis pa naman magsalita ang mga ilocano diba?...yung asawa ko nakakaintindi at may alam ding salitang ilocano

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis!! I like your article promise..nakarelate ako.. specially the language, struggle is real, mahigit isang taon na akong naninirahan dto sa katagalogan pro ung tagalog ko sis,inaararo ko pa..hahahhaha minsan hndi kami magkaintindihan ng partner ko dahil sa Tagalog ko,kYa sabi ko pwede bang e English mo nlang mas maiintindihan ko pa yata..hahahhaha ewan ko nahihirapan akong magtagalog..but I'm still proud to be a promdi and yes im also a bilingual i can speak my native language,WARAY,BISAYA, TAGALOG hndi prof pro ok na din hahahaha and syempre English..hahahhahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

advantage natin yan sis sa mga laking Maynila. Marami tayong alam na lingwahe, ibig sabihin, mas flexible tayo kesa sa kanila. Naalala ko nung college ako, kasama ko yung friends ko tapos napadaan kami sa bilihan ng prutas, sabi ko bili tayo ng sintoris, susme, hindi nila alam yung sintoris..Eh hindi ko naman alam na iba pala ang tawag nila dun kasi ang alam ko tagalog na yun. Dalandan pala ..hehehehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhaah kaya nga sis..kung sa language lang parang mas lamang tau sa knila,kc kaya din nating matuto pa ng ibang lengwahe..kagaya ko nlang na waray,natuto lang akong magbisaya sa impluwensya ng kaibigan,hahahah sa Tagalog mga mabababaw lng alam ko,nung isang gabi ay pinagtawanan ako ng manugang ko dahil sa sinabi ko, napansin ko kcng maganda ung nilagay nyang cutics sa kuko nya,at may mahahaba siyang kuko,sabi ko ung kuko ko mie hndi yan natangkad,kc pinuputulan ko..tapos tumawa siya,sabi nya anong natangkad..baka nahaba,tapos tumawa xia..hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha...nitranslate mo lang naman sa tagalog..nakakatuwa din pag naalala yung mga palpak natin na translation minsan noh? hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahha oo sis..kaya minsan jan kami ngkakamisunderstanding ng partner ko..hahahhaa kaya naiinis sa tagalog ko un..hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that thing that you have province to make kwento is an advantage. You got to introduce your beautiful province and might also invite others to visit..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

exactly. Others use the word "promdi" to bully promdi people but actually, promdi has a plus perks the city person don't have :).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually po..., they may be advanced in some things, but they don't experience the true beauty of nature everyday 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and they don't experienced how the true attachment to nature is :)..Plowing of the land, planting veggies, and reaping the fruit of what your planted :).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree.., plus the scent of morning breeze 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have really improved because some people won't have adapt to the city life so quick like you do

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep, I am able to adapt to the city environment already :)...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's very good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Proud promdi here too sissy, lumipat lng sa manila ng mamatay ang tatay namin kasi alam namin na mahihirapan na kaming mamuhay sa province,sa manila kasi maraming work kaya lumipat na din kami

$ 0.01
2 years ago

truth sis. Masarap sana mamuhay sa probinsya kasi ang hirap talaga ng pera doon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have a province too, my parents does but I don't know anyone from there. I wish I am welcome there though

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What province is it sis? Are your parents born from there?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father is in Camilin Tarlac and my mother in Mobo Masbate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dalawa pala ang province mo sis. Bisaya ba ang salita sa Masbate?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halo halo na may ilocano, may bisaya na, pero originally bisaya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same din pala sa amin sa Mindoro sis nag halo halo na...may Romblon, Bisaya, at tagalog. May iilan ding ilocano

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro dahil sa mga dumadayo na naninirahan na din dyan sis, ganun din sa mas ate sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

opo, madami na nga ding dayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a promdi, sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh wow!..Which province are you from sis? What's your dialect?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

La Union, sis. I'm Ilokana (mixed Spanish)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh wow!>.my Husband knows how to speak Ilocano sis., He studied college in San Fernando La Union

$ 0.00
2 years ago

anong skul po?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cicosat College po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah okay. Malapi na kami dun, sis. Criminology cguro course ni hubby mo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo sis. Criminology nga sya. Batch 2006 :)....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's nice, sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Criminology Graduate sya pero di ko pinagpulis :D....sabi nya school daw ng mga siga yung Cicosat :)..

$ 0.00
2 years ago