Hard Work Bears Fruit

23 25
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

This is the first time I joined on a writing prompt of @JonicaBradley . This is my entry for Writing Prompt # 12: Fruits of Labor.

The Introvert ME

I am an introvert person. I grew up being shy, lack of confidence, and has very poor social skills.

I am the type of person that won't talk when you don't ask me. I do not initiate any conversation. In fact, I am avoiding any conversation (specially the long ones) cause I don't really like that.

I do not like to be the center of attraction. So during my childhood days, I do not volunteer in any school events like Linggo ng Wika, Intramurals, School Foundation day unless my teacher volunteers me. And since I don't like to talk too much, I don't want any conversations, whenever my teacher volunteers my name, I just go with the flow, memorize what I am being asked to and do what they wanted me to do on the stage.

Elementary School : always in rank 4

During my elementary days, every recognition day, I am always present. I usually get the rank 4 (since Grade 1 to Grade 6). I don't know what's with number 4 but during my elementary days, it's always been my rank.

I am not the studios type of student actually. I remember during my elementary days, my mother often told me "Diba periodical test nyo na? Bakit hindi ka nag-aaral?"

During my time, we don't have medium of transportation going to school but our own feet only. My school in elementary was about 2 kilometers away from our house.

High-School: Valedictorian

It changed a bit when I started high-school. I learned how to create "pointers for review" when I am First Year High School cause our teachers urged us to prepare a pointers and they will check on it before they sign your exams permit. That's when I learned that I can easily remember or memorize my pointers by writing them down.

It became my habit during my entire high-school days. Every time we have major exams (long exams, preliminary exams or periodical exams), I usually prepare pointers for review which I used as my reviewer. I read my pointers in between the vacant time, before the next subject starts.

And so I made it! I graduated as Valedictorian.

College: Scholar for 4 years

And that's how I get the scholarship when I enrolled to one of the university here in Cavite. Valedictorian and Salutatorians automatically gets the free tuition scholarship (for 4 yrs) as long as they are able to maintain a passing grade. It was a blessing for me and for my parents. My father is just a factory worker (with minimum rate). As a matter of fact, from first year college to third year college, I only got 1 pair of uniform. You heard it right. I experienced the wash and wear thing. Our uniform is a cream blouse paired to a Green slack. I used to wash and wear my blouse but not the pants. And since we don't have a dryer, I have to iron my blouse every morning before I wear it to make it completely dry.

I am able to maintain my 4 yrs scholarship at the university. That means I maintained passing grades for all of my subjects from First Year to Fourth Year. I survived!.

I am a Bachelor of Science in Electronics and Communications Engineering (BS-ECE) graduate.

Unfortunately, I am not able to take licensure exams cause months after I graduated, I started to work.

Career : I.T. Analyst

I became an Associate Software Engineer in Accenture (my first ever employer).

During my first month in the company, I used to wear office attire clothes I bought from UKAY-UKAY cause I cannot afford that time yet to buy a brand new clothes.

And then my first salary came. I remember, my colleagues are very excited to withdraw their first ever salary to buy PSP. It was an opposite of mine, cause I handed over my salary to my mother. I just took few which are enough for my 2 weeks allowance and enough to buy some new clothes.

I've been in Accenture for 5 years. I left that company as Senior Software Engineer.

My second job is in Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) located at Bonifacio Global City, Taguig, Manila. I've been part of TCS for exactly 6 long years.

I've had a very good relationship with our client. There's actually an instance where there's an open Team Lead position on the other team. So I expressed my interest to my Manager for that role. I am a very surprised on how my Line Manager reacts on that. He even make an effort to send me an email to my personal email address (non-work) and offered to have a heart to heart discussion about my desire to leave my current team and move to a different team as a Team Lead. To make the long story short, they did a re-org and appointed me as Manager. I managed three teams.

I am currently employed at a broker company (TP ICAP Philippines).

I'm here for 2 years and 4 months already. I also have a good relationship with my Manager here. He's very appreciative, very considerate and I can say he's a people person.

You might wonder why we I.T. often jump from one company to another despite of our good status in our current work. Of course, primary reason is the "higher salary" offer. It is common in the I.T. world to pirate employees from one company to another. They tried to offer better amount as a convincing factor for an applicant to accept the role.

Due to my stable working status (Thank GOD), me and my husband was able to establish a small business which I also featured in one of my articles: https://read.cash/@Khing14/the-level-up-story-4f815f02.

Believe me, hard work always bear fruits. So just keep on going!. Don't stop!. Step out of the box and explore your surroundings.

created via MS Paint

Me and my husband are still working hard currently for our family and for our dreams . Slowly, we are able to fulfill our dreams together. We've got a car now, (mortgaged for 4.5 yrs already) that helps our travels more convenient , a house and lot (mortgaged) and a small business though we're just renting the place.

Our long term goal is to retire without worrying about the M O N E Y that's why we tried to establish a small business.

If you're also interested to join in this writing prompt, here are the rules:

  • Just write anything about Fruits of Your Labor.

  • It must be 100% original content.

  • Your article must consist of 600 words so that rusty would notice you.

  • Tag @JonicaBradley

  • Submit to PromptlyJonica community.

8
$ 0.97
$ 0.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Zcharina22
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

Hello po, I used to work with Tata in Panorama way back 2015. Nice to see you here :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh wow!!! I've been in tata from 2013 to 2019...nice meeting you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bpo ka po doon dati? Alam ko kasi pag panorama mostly bpo accounts..sa accralaw naman po ako tapos nalipat kami ng ecotower

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo BPO, RPMS account ko dati :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see... Nakakatuwa naman po, dito tayo nagmeet..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe oo nga po kaya happy ako na meet ko kayo dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your story,i was once an introvert too..naging with honours din nmn ako nung grade 1 tapos hndi na naulit,naging with honours ulit ako nung first year tapos hndi na din naulit..hahahha.. anyway Congrats for your success and hope you really get your goal before you have your retirement.. Good luck and God bless ☺️🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

parang may pattern pala sis yung with honor mo hehe..grade 1 tapos first year. Super duper mahiyain po ako nung bata pa ako. Na ultimo tumingin ng eye to eye sa kausap ko, hindi ko magawa, palagi nakababa ang ulo..Lately lang ako natutong makipag socialize. Nung nagwork nalang.

Thank you po :)...God Bless you din po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parehas tayong introvert ate, ang pinagkaibahan lang successful ka na ngayon .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry ate makukuha mo din po ang iyong success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate much dun sa maglalakad papasok sa school. Sa amin eh mas malayo pa tapos ang putik pag maulan.. Same din yun pointers for review although di naman nirerequire sa amin yin pero nakagawian ko na gawin nun high school kasi mas madali magmemorize tlaga kapag ganun.. Goodluck sa mga business nyo sis, sana mas lumago pa..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sis. Ganun din sa amin, sobrang putik pag maulan dahil rough road, hindi sementado. Pag umuuwi nga kami ng probinsya, super nakakatuwa dahil ngayon sementado na. Bihira kanang makakakita ng mga naglalakad (pwera yung mga malalapit lang ang bahay sa school). Usually nakamotor na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek, kaya mas maswerte un generation ngayon in terms of transpo kapag papasok..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sinabi mo pa ate..sobrang maswerte, pero sa tingin mas maswerte tayo noon..hehee..Hindi nila naranasan yung mga laro natin noon, ngayon puro laro na sa cp ang kaharap nila..noon, agawan base, tumbang preso, syato, tatsing, chinese garter, bitsoy at marami pang iba..hahahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama, yan nama ang pwede nating maipagmalki sa mga kabaatan ngayon, Yun saya natin noon kahit hikahos tayo sa buhay..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra sis. Yung mga anak ko nga pag sa hapon, pinagtutulakan ko na maglaro sa labas ng bahay namin para naman kako makatakbo takbo sa labas.

Minsan pag nasa hapag kami, sinasabi ko, halimbawa ang ulam namin ay sardinas, sinasabi ko sa kanila, noong maliit ako pag nakakaulam kami ng sardinas, feeling namin noon mayaman kami, Kasi minsan lang kami makabili ng sardinas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaah, ganyan na ganyan ako sis sa anak ko. Kaya sabi ko sa kanya na iappreciate nya lahat ng meron sya kasi lahat yun eh di ko naransan noon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm truly hard work really pays because anyone that fails to work hard will definitely fail to make it in life Am glad your business is growing already Wish you more grace in life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I am also glad that all my hard works are worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All thanks to God ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hard work really can pay off. It help if you also enjoy your work and your fellow employees. You will achieve your dream.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. If you're determined with what you're currently doing, you can really achieve your goals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago