Citronella - The Mosquito Repellant

35 38
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Date: November 8, 2021

I am not really in a good mood to write an article today. However, I am not able to publish one yesterday already so I need to overcome my laziness and look into may monthly goal (publish at least 1 article per day).

Actually, I am not able to publish an article yesterday because I am too busy browsing shopee.

I've got an interest to find a shop that sells live citronella plant. I became interested on this plant because I heard from @Gracia42 that this plant is effective in repelling mosquitoes. And as you all know, during this season in the Philippines where the weather is more cold outside, mosquitoes are noticeable to be roaming around.

I've initially planned of buying a humidified and put in citronella oil to repel the mosquitoes inside our house.

I bought the below cheap diffuser from Shopee last month but unfortunately, I am not able to buy essential oil.

And this is how it looks like in actual.

And so yesterday, upon finding a good shop that sells citronella oil, I thought of why not I buy a live plant instead and grow them and reproduce them so that no more mosquitos would come near our house? Then I can make my own solution from the live plants. It's more of a long term plan actually. I think I can save more if I will buy live citronella plant in the long run that buy ready made essential oil again and again.

So I started searching for a live citronella plant from Shopee.

I am not actually sure if it's safe to buy a live plant from an online store. This will be my first time to be honest.

I bumped into a shop which is located just within Cavite area. And they are selling citronella plants in a very affordable price (80 PHP only).

I ordered 2 pieces. I am thinking that in case the other one wouldn't survive, at least I still have a spare.

I never seen citronella in my entire life yet hence I tried to search for it in google after placing my order.

To my surprise, most of the results has an image like the below:

Image source: https://img.grouponcdn.com/deal/4WfegMNa5LCZRuWcrgjRzrBd4xJ4/4W-960x576/v1/c870x524.jpg

Very far from what I ordered right? I worried a little bit and I am actually starting to think that the shop might be a scammer or not legit.

So I searched and find some more images of citronella and internet gave me this.

Fortunately, there are some in the picture that looks very the same of what I have ordered from Shopee hence I am able to breathe smoothly!.

Image source

Upon doing further research, I found out that the one that I ordered from a store in Shopee is called as "Ceylon Citronella"

Image source: https://morningchores.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/nardus.jpg

According to aforementioned source, this variety of citronella is being used to make essential oils.

Looks like I found what I am looking for huh!.

And so now, I am so excited to receive my parcel!. My first ever live plant sold from an online store. I hope it won't die after I transferred it into a pot.

Once I've got bunch leaves of it, next in my project is to search on how to do a DIY citronella oil from citronella leaves.

That will be all for now!. I hope I somehow shared some relevant information to you today :)..Another life hack to try! Cheap but effective (hopefully!)

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 4.92
$ 4.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 7
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

Effective talaga yan po. May lotion kaming ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice..excited na ako mareceive yung parcel ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Effective yata tlga Yan mommy.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis.. Bumili nako nung halaman.. Paparamihin ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a citronella gel air freshener. Shockingly it works for me. I put it under my table. No more mosquito bites.😀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yey!! Glad to know that it is effective!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hala ate maraming ganyan dito samin hahah para naring damo lang kasi sobrang dami

$ 0.01
2 years ago

wow..sana all, samantalang ako bumili pa...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh ang dami kong di alam hahaha. Now ko lang narinig at nakita ata itu 🧐

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ako nga din sis..para lang syang tanglad noh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lemon grass ba un sis? Parang magkamukha kasi..😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga sis...pero hindi sya lemongrass :)...sa amoy siguro magkakatalo..parehong pareho itsura eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try ko nga din maghanap nyan sis, kc ang dami tlagang lamok dto samin, hndi kc maganda ung katol sa baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we have that plant in our garden

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Talaga sis? Naku paramihin mo sis.. Useful sya sa pagpapalayas ng unwanted insects

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sasabihan ko nga sa amin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good idea to plant it since you have a green thumb than me.. hahaha.. Plant well my dear for me to ask when I'm in your house. One of this days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ou te, padadamihin ko para mawala na ang mga lamok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo nga at least jan sa iyo ay may space pa.. hhee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou nga te...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know this plant will repel mosquitoes, it is that season in India too, we already have a lot of them around now.. I need to look up at this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep!...you can naturally repel mosquitoes specially the ones that are carrier of malaria or dengue fever virus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of dengue cases around and also news flash that in one of the states, thre is an outbreak of Zika virus.. it is very scary in winters

$ 0.00
2 years ago

just heard of that zika virus, does it come from mosquito as well?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it does... but it is not life threatening and not contagious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see.. I think we don't have that virus yet here in Philippines.. Or maybe I am just not updated because I do not watch news lately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let us hope that it stays that way.. that you guys never have that in your country.. stay safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang damo lang sissy??

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ou sis..akala ko nga nung una tanglad..yung nilalagay sa manok pag nilalaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang nakikita ko yan dati sa mag bukid malapit sa may palayan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

feeling ko nga sa ganun sila madalas tumubo sis...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa matubig na lugar yan tumutubo sissy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh so dapat pala palagi didiligan.. Sige sis.. Magresearch din ako kapag dumating na yung orders ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Base lng sa nakita ko sissy pero ung half sister ko sa mindanao dami niyang vanyan sa bakuran malago di din dinidiligan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige sis.. Salamats sa inputs...

$ 0.00
2 years ago