Speaking grammar is not a measure of intelligence

16 25
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Hello beautiful people!
Hope Monday treated you well? Mine wasn't bad, the only problem I'm still having is lack of electricity. Each time I read about articles from other countries talking about electricity, I feel like relocating to their country because electricity is life🤭.

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors

My blog today is what we once used as a contest on Hive. It's about intelligence and how to measure it.

Image source

First of all, in my country we have appalling ways we measure intelligence and SPEAKING GOOD GRAMMAR is the major one. In as much as a lot of people are against this approach, it has come to stay and we can't help it. Once my dad sees someone that speaks fluent English and of the same age with his children, he quickly concludes that he/she is more intelligent than his children...till today 😥. I used to frown at that attitude but I can't change him, so when he starts, I just stay mute and allow him to satisfy himself😁.

In school also, teachers are prone to this, they give upper value to those that speaks fluently considering them as intelligent because they always talk aloud of us that are calm when it comes to English fluency. It was a shocking moment when the result of our last phase of highschool was released and we were found ahead of the grammar headed People🤣. E shock them🧐

But does that justify intelligibility?

My answer is NO!

Intelligence is same as being wise.

What is being Wise or wisdom? Wisdom is having the knowledge and applying the knowledge. That's to say, having a good knowledge not a particular or many things and also know how to put them practice.

Intelligence shouldn't be measured with academic excellence or grades acquired in school. It should be measured with what the person can deliver with the knowledge acquired.

I was the best in Economics during my high school, but where am I now?

I mastered a lot of difficult engineering calculations but I'm I using them now?

How would one know that I'm intelligent in these areas if I don't practically display them?

I'm not saying showcasing is a way to prove intelligency, it's a matter of you doing what you know (perfect work) and people get to notice you without you beckoning on them.

Does school breeds intelligence?

Being intelligent doesn't mean SCHOOL IS A MUST, you can master and develope on a piece and that serves it.

I have a virtual female friend that I'm older than, infact she calls me big bro because of our relationship. The girl is damn good in tech. She was the one that showed me how to use the TeamViewer App and I really got marveled because a girl of her age should be dancing to the tunes of boyfriend & girlfriend...a typical Nigerian way.

I asked her how she got to know all these and she gave me the biggest shock, she said she teaches herself.

School is good no doubt, but it's not all that's needed to be intelligent. You can settle to learn some skills or trait from someone or develop by your own.

We all know a lot of people that dropped out of school today but they are ranked among the most intelligent people on earth.
I was chatting with one of gurus on hive yesterday and I was made to know that she's has not even done her tertiary education. It was hard for me to believe but that's the truth. She developed herself on her own and one wouldn't know that she hasn't obtained any higher certificate

Do you know that even mingling and relating with people needs intelligency to do that, if this comes by schooling, then consider all Engineering Students/graduates to be dull in this aspect because there's no connection with psychological learnings. School helps one in relating with people thought but it all boils down to the individual.

Thanks for reading this, much love😍

31st October 2022

10
$ 0.51
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
+ 4
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You know sometime it's sound different that how we can learn virtually but it is happening around I also have friends who are teaching me online virtually but it is happening around I also have friends who are teaching me online

$ 0.00
1 year ago

School is where we learn the basics of education but only by implementing our knowledge do we gain experience and intelligence.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Perhaps there were really people who are blessed to have a good intelligence in literacy. But yes, it doesn't define everyone's intelligence

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, no doubt about that, they way they speak humbles someone and I'm among those that it humbles 🤭.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being intelligent and been able to speak English fluently is actually a good combo. Nice article 🥰🥰🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Having these too is a sure ticket to make heaven 😂.

Honestly, if one is good in a certain field and still knows how to speak very well, it has finished 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Develop yourself whether in school or out. Envelope you of excellence because whether we admit it or not, it's innate in us because we are made in the image of a big unfathomable God. Go find the gold in you and surprise the world!

Being wise doesn't only mean speaking grammarly good.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you! We are all loaded, it's just a matter of locating what's inside of us and explore

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If intelligence can be measured with fluency in spoken English, na im be say our forefathers no dey intelligent😂 Intelligence is never in how book smart you are

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol😂😂. The worst is that, we all know all these but most of us are still seeing English speaking as intelligent people 🤭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Education can be acquired from anywhere and a lot of the famous philosophers and scientists from the past didn't even go to school but yet they were very intelligent. I believe everybody is intelligent in their own way, we all have different fields where we excel greatly

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, we all have the brain, it's just a matter of exhibiting it in a certain area.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very difficult to measure the intelligence because there are different intelligences, we can be better in one or in other... emotional intelligence should be more considered not only the memory. All can helps of course but we need to think more globally about this not so specific...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is true friend. Intelligence is not just measured by one particular spot. It must atleast be able to cover a good range.

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very true not everyone can relate, but yet they are intelligent Is not speaking grammar that makes one intelligent...great article

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you👍.

I think this mindset is not common in your country, it's very rampant here 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago