Begging for money to organize a wedding

17 45
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Hello dear!

Happy weekend! Hope you're doing good? My weekend has been smooth but with a little touch of writer's block, not on this platform but on hive. All the contest I saw there looks challenging to me and my head has been blocked to cook up anything. It's my fault though because I've been doing a lot of comparison, reading other people's work and rating down my capacity. Funny enough, I remember when I picked up the courage to write in a contest and I became the winner. It's my fault for being demotivated via comparison.

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors

This is going to be more of a random talk but you'll like it.

Thank God for such platform like this where we express our minds on things that are not looking fine to us. Especially for those that don't go out or have physical friends around to gist on some topics.

For two weeks, one of my friends has been preparing for his marriage ceremony, he added us(his friends) to a WhatsApp group and when I first saw the add up, I thought it was a political group, so I didn't bothered to go through messages untill he chatted me to tell me the reason of the group. Honestly, I was glad knowing that he wants to leave the singlehood.

Because he's my friend and we discuss somethings without hidding, so I quickly rushed him with some questions;

Me: It seems you've made money now, show me the way na

Him: My guy, I'm just hustling

Me: Haaa! Hustling? You mean you're now into internet fraud?( Hustling is a common slang used by internet fraudsters to say their work)

Him: No oo! I'm just doing menial jobs and I want to settle down.

I stopped there and didn't want to set in as a discouragement. I Concluded that he has made money or maybe the hustling he's doing can sustain the marriage event, and the family afterwards.

Yes, I was happy and I started planning my schedule to attend because it's an event I can't miss for anything...we are very close friends.

But he came again to my DM saying he's made me admin on the whatsApp group for the sole aim of raising fund to support him. I can't deny the tasks, so I hopped in to do what I understand by "raising funds" to support a friend.

So I was announcing to them about the upcoming event and pleading for a willingly donation to his account number (that's what I understand by raising fund..it must be willingly and not a task nor a force).

Image source

I continued the task and it was not yielding anything and he came to say I should add more force to it and suggested I should give them a minimum fixed amount and a deadline. Jeeeez! I got weakened at this stage. This is more like a force!

This is the point I want to buttress

Just like what I wrote here some days ago about going into marriage without a reasonable finance or a job at hand, i don't see intelligency when people are going into marriage without any good stand of sustainability. Marriage is not all about the event but the journey aftermath.

If one can't cope with the finances of the event, how is he going to cope with the sustenance of the marriage?

I don't have a problem supporting my friend in his marriage ceremony finances, ofcourse I was going to do that even without him asking but what happens after the event? What if he incure some debts from the wedding, that means he'd start sorting debt with his new family immediately.

If he marries and start settling family Bills and couldn't cope anymore, is he going to seek finance from people too? Ofcourse if he does that, people won't find it easy giving him because he's seen as a family man and should be capable of footing his family bills.

There's a lot to consider before going to into Marriage, it shouldn't be rushed into if there's no financial future. Yes , love is the basis but love becomes weak when sustainability is not there.

_______________________

This is half fictional but it's happening in our world right now. People needs to be corrected.

________________________

Well, like I always tell people, if you invite me to your church to encourage people on marriage, be sure to loose your members because I like saying how it's happening currently. They should go and make a little Stable stand first before going into marriage to avoid wife leaving the husband because he can't provide for the family.

Thanks for reading

13th August 202

13
$ 1.16
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.02 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 2
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It will become hard to settle down if you don't have enough finance prior to marriage. The marriage will have great financial responsibilities.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, you're right. And the responsibility doesn't only stop at the marriage event, infact the main field is life after the event

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was not a good idea donation for a marriage ceremony hmm yes if people are agree to pay but bot by this as you mentioned

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, if he don't have money then postpone the marriage. It would only give him a problem in the future if he isn't yet financially stable.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, now that he's borrowing for the wedding event, only God knows how he's going to cope After the wedding. These are things that people should look into first before going into marriage

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. Why should they plan something when they are not even prepared for it. What about life after marriage, how will it look like?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is one of the major Challenges youths that are Keen to listening to motivational quotes from some set of people are facing. They fail to see the beyond the marriage event. What if immediately after the marriage and one of the them falls sick?🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not only fall sick sef. Shey nah water dem go drink everyday? Shebi it's money they will use to buy food and other things they need?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahala dey o. You don't have enough money and you are planning to get married. It doesn't look mature at all begging to get married, no matter the kind of pressure put on you by your family members you should be able to stand has a man to resist it in this present economy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The thing is not funny at all because everyone supposed to have wised up. Na motivational speakers dey cause all these.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sure that your friend is doing this because of family pressure on him... Marriage is not a child's play so it shouldn't be taking for granted... How can you be begging to marry your finance what a let down on his part

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If it's pressure from family, mehn those people must be strong. The way it's doing me now, I get coconut head to such pressure from anybody

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha hive is very challenging, I was able to open an account but still unable to post a thing, I have been debating not knowing what to write about.

Marriage is a serious matter, one should not go into marriage when he knows he is financially weak. It is better to wait untill one can afford it without seeking help from anyone.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hive is not for the weak my brother. Sometimes I'd have things to write but think and checking on which community to post in order not to violate rule becomes the problem.

The way people are taking marriage these days is alarming. As in of one doesn't get married before the years runs out is a sin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I should add more force to it and suggested I should give them a minimum fixed amount and a deadline.

Omo! This is rubbish na, if I come across something like this, I will quietly leave the group chat. Na me say make he go marry? If I was planning on making a donation but I suddenly see he is using force, I go lock up. Why will he start making plans to get married when he knows he doesn't have enough funds and now he wants to start billing people by force

$ 0.01
1 year ago

See ehn, most of these people that are found in this spot are people that gives too much attention to motivational quotes. Things like "two heads are better than one, get married to her and you both will plan together,". R*bbish!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly bro, I have heard people saying this rubbish, that things will get better when they are married. This is how we ended up with lots of poor families today

$ 0.00
1 year ago