(S)WAG repair jobs

7 63
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

18 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Some of you may have noticed that my "Written by 'date'" was missing from my last two articles.

That is because I have exhausted my articles stock from my Article Bank. In actual fact, I do still have a few articles in stock but those weren't the right time to publish yet. And for that reason, I have decided not to publish them before their time and have written something else that I thought was more timely to publish.

And since it's the weekend, I'll post something lighter.

The "S" in SWAG

I'm certain you would have noticed the "S" in the SWAG was in parenthesis. Let's start with that.

The familiar explanation/definition/acronym for SWAG is Scientific Wise Ass Guess. It can also mean Stupid Wise Ass Guess or a few other similar explanations for this acronym.

For what I'm about to share, my experience wouldn't qualify it as either Scientific or Stupid. Maybe Smart would come close and that is in no way a self-praise.

The Story

The need for SWAG started in the morning. The sun was out in full force. At that time, it was. The sky has since changed moody but that's beside the point.

The sun was out and I was running out of shirts to wear. The logical next step would be to do laundry. We normally do laundry on the weekends anyways. The standard auto-pilot muscle memory for carrying out this task was put into motion.

The final step was to push the start button to get the washing started. About half an hour later, the washing machine was emitting a string of beeps and then stopped. I assume it has gone through one wash and spin as there was no residue of detergent on them.

I sprung into action to diagnose the issue. You know - the standard non-technical troubleshooting that we all know how to do (I had learned this from operating Windows for so many years).

  • Open the lid

  • Close the lid

  • Turn on the machine

  • Fingers crossed

It started filling the tub with water. A relief. I then closed the lid. It didn't like that. It agreed to fill a few more splashes of water and then beeped again and stopped. This time I noticed her cry for help. It spelled "E9-5".

Any idiot with a connection to the internet would know to put that into Google to find answers. Of course, a slightly smarter idiot would add "Toshiba" (the name of the washing machine brand) and after the "E9-5", the word "error" in the search bar.

Google kindly returned some much-needed information from which in one of them, I have found the following:

My heart sank when I saw the "Contact warranty or repair unit". My urgent need for clean shirts nudged me to not give up and do some SWAG. My hope was that it was the Buoy's (Float's) fault. I have no idea how that works. But I thought maybe if the issue was because of the float, and that it has gotten stuck somewhere inside the belly of this machine, I could try to free it from its captivity. Equipped with what I know best...I gave the machine a semi-violent shake, lay my hand on it, and say a short prayer.

On the safe side and in case this didn't work, I'd reduced all the Wash, Rinse, Spin cycles to the minimum settings. If it didn't work, we can still hang the clothes to dry.

With the lid opened, I restarted the machine. It had started filling the tub with water. It kept on filling way past the level I have set on the machine. I now suspect that it must be a Buoy/Float issue. I then closed the lid. Thankfully, the machine didn't throw a tantrum. It went ahead without a fuss and completed the whole washing, rinsing, and spinning cycles half an hour later.

Problem solved. The clothes have now been hung out to dry. After writing this, I'll do a 'dry' run on the machine with our normal wash settings. I want to see if it will still give out the same error setting and stop functioning. If not, then the issue must have been solved. If it has been, then the shake has given the machine an extended lifespan.

The Lesson

Despite what we think of Google, it is a great companion. Without being able to narrow the issue down, I'd have no idea what the issue was with the machine.

Without doing some Wise Ass Guess, I wouldn't have gotten the machine to work. Granted this doesn't always work but sometimes, like this time, it did.

Now I understand why smacking, shaking, kicking is an instinctive response to fixing things! LOL.

Thank you for reading and have a great weekend, my friends.

Sources:

Image by Amine Tadri from Pixabay 

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

5
$ 2.73
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 1
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

At first I thought you were going to be talking about the other swag. You know, hats and shirts and other things companies give out with their logos on them. But this makes much more sense, and I have never used the term in this manner before.

But, I likely will now.

Good that you got it all figured out and did not have to shell out some hard earned cash for someone to do simple things for you—which is something we wind up doing from time to time feeling like an idiot after learning the problem.

As for Google, add in YouTube. God senders. There are so many things I have learned to do for myself that I might never if they were not around to help me to figure things out.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

With Google and YouTube within easy reach, the priority in calling someone to come to my place to collect my hard-earned money is at the bottom of the list.

I'd given the machine a dry run without any laundry in it. And since it was a dry run, the Mrs suggested putting in a cleaning tablet, thus killing two birds with one stone. The machine did the normal run without a fuss. Thank God. Money saved.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The money saving part is so true. I know I have saved a penny or two over the years because of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It seems weird that we tend to smack things when they malfunction, like some remotes before haha. And blow the video game carts, the era when google is pretty much unheard of.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right. Smacking the remote is an acceptable albeit unwritten troubleshooting solution. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go get a new one sir. Haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha...not yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago