My First USD from Upland Game

9 63
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

21 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

It has been a while since I'd written about the Upland Game. This game has been one of my first Blockchain games and is the longest game I have ever played. It has been almost one year since the day that I'd bought my first virtual property in the Upland Metaverse.

For the last quarter of last year, I'd spent a whole lot of time on the game, doing research in real-world properties in anticipation of city releases. It's not an exaggeration to say that it was a full-time research job. I am glad I had invested that kind of time in my research. Less than a year later, it is starting to pay off.

For those who have no idea what this game is about, let me offer a brief introduction. Think of a boardgame that everybody knows - Monopoly. Then expand that thought into a Metaverse on the EOS blockchain with properties based on real-world addresses. Further, think of collections as being certain neighborhoods, streets, and attractions. Just like the Monopoly boardgame, you build your net worth by flipping or trading. You now have a basic picture of the game.

The game had initially started with one City, the Genesis city, which is San Francisco. It then moved on to open up Fresno, then Manhattan. To date, a total of 12 cities have been launched in the Upland Metaverse, all located in the United States.

Property-to-USD

Three months ago, I'd tried to withdraw some USD as a result of a few property sales. This was around 7 months after the Property to USD feature was launched.

Prior to that, all property sales were transacted in a UPX, an in-game utility token that can only be used inside the game and cannot be withdrawn. The reason for the developer for doing this is to not run afoul of any country's law that may deem the token financial security.

The Property to USD feature was initially launched in Beta with a selected few players testing the feature starting in November 2020. Subsequently, I was included in the second batch of testers. This feature has now been fully released but new players have a locked-in period of 6 months before they have access to the feature. This is to prevent abuse.

First withdrawal attempt

My first attempt at withdrawing was met with a roadblock. For the "Fiat Out" process, Upland had decided to collaborate with Linden Lab and use Tilia Pay, a platform that Linden Lab had developed for the Second Life virtual economy.

In order to take full advantage of this feature, I'll have to fulfill a KYC (Know Your Customer) certification. I'd missed the deadline for the first request for this and that had caused some hiccups that took almost a month to work out.

Finally, a few days ago I'd received an email from Upland Support that all was good to go. I'd like to give credit to the Upland Support team for their first-class assistance in getting my issue sorted out promptly once I had reached out to them. This has reflected well on the project and is a confidence booster for me in my belief in the Upland game.

It's good to go

So, back to the Property to USD Beta sales. Once I have been included in the second batch of testers, I'd listed a few properties for sale in USD.

To cut a long story short, I'd managed to sell a total of 5 properties in the span of almost one month.

With the all-clear to go from Upland Support, I'd tried to submit an in-game withdrawal request on 18 September for the amount of $23.60.

Almost immediately an email was sent to inform me that a withdrawal was initiated. I'll just have to wait for the good news.

Two days later, on 20 September, Tilia Pay emailed me that the withdrawn amount is on its way!

You'll notice that for this service, Tilia Pay charges a 5% Payout Fee.

Money Received

On the morning of 21 September, when I launched the game app, I saw a notice that says "FIAT WITHDRAWAL SUCCESS".

I then proceeded to check my email, I was greeted by the pleasant surprise of "WITHDRAWAL COMPLETE"!

One Last Step to Verify

Only one more step left for me to do to verify the withdrawal. I then proceeded to my recipient account to check. Yes! Success! It's in my account. What a sigh of relief. I can now safely sell in Fiat and withdraw into my designated account.

Profit from the Sales?

The total cost of acquiring the 5 properties that I had sold was close to 8000 UPX. The cost of UPX is approximately 1,000 UPX to $1.

A total sale of USD$23.60 gives an approximate 195% profit in total or about 180% after taking into consideration Tilia Pay's payout fee.

That is not too shabby for a property trading game that is still yet to reach its full potential.

What's next?

There is a reason why I haven't sold off more of my properties. I'm in it for the long haul. I'm not looking for fast flips. The game has been growing steadily. In a short year, I've seen how much the game has grown both in terms of features and also the number of quality of players it has attracted. Best of all, the developer listens to feedback.

I believe the best is yet to come for the game. Thus far, we are only talking about U.S. city launches. There have not been any International cities launched yet. This is something to look forward to.

If you find this interesting, do feel free to start exploring the game using this link. And if you do decide to purchase the in-game UPX, both you and I will receive an additional 50% UPX more.

You can also follow announcements in this Upland Channel over at noisecash.

This is has been a #BetterSeptember and will continue to be. Thank you for reading.

Disclaimer: This is my game experience and is Not Financial Advice. Do Your Own Research.

Sources:

All images are game screenshots

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

8
$ 3.78
$ 3.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 2
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

I think the game is a great game for investment. But I still need to have a lot research as you did so that I won't get loss my money in there. Thank you for such idea I'll gonna take note of this one

$ 0.03
2 years ago

When I first started, half the fun was in the research. Good luck with yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woooww. Thanks for this. I am more motivated to try crypto games hihi.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Some are definitely potential in the long term You just need to do due diligence in doing some research. Good luck. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the idea of blockchain games acting as an investment tools as well. And the early adopters usually benefit a lot from this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It will be more and more common for investment groups to start virtual property portfolios. Depending on the type of games, it's not necessary that early adopters benefit the most. They certainly have the first dip advantage. For this upland game, I've seen many who'd joined much later doing much better than the early adopters.

One of the main reasons, I believe is that they put in a lot of money to purchase 'valuable' or hot properties. Not unlike the real-world real estate investment strategies. For some of these whales, they could enter using crypto they've made elsewhere to purchase the in-game utility token.

My opinion. Not financial advice. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

someday. i will get those dollahs too hahah..... for now i am already feeling rich with 4kUPX i aint an uplander yet hahahah... I'll get there...

this is an inspiration :D thanks dood!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It takes time. I'd put in a lot of time and "investment" into the game to get some returns. For me, I think it'll pay off manyfold in the future. I hope. Fingers crossed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napaisip tuloy ako kung anong klase na games yan parang gusto Kong itry.

$ 0.03
2 years ago