For New Writers: How to make sure your articles get read

43 71
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

16 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

This was written a while back but kept getting pushed out from being published for one reason or another. I'd written this on 5 August 2021. It's been almost two weeks since then and I'm currently doing some addition and editing before publishing it today.

The Captain says, "Engage!"

The original title was the heading of this paragraph. I'd just changed it to give it a better "one-sentence description of this article".

Some of you may know this, this word, "Engage" is borrowed from one of my favorite Sci-Fi series - Star Trek: The Next Generation. It's Captain Jean Luc Picard's trademark command from his Captain's seat whenever they start on a new adventure.

If you were a fan of the show, you'll know that once the "Engage" order has been given, an exciting adventure is in store.

This article is not about space adventures but we will explore the benefits of following this command to "Engage!"

Limited Resources

As you may also know, each of us has a daily bank with a finite time resource we need to manage.

Since time is a finite resource that we work with daily, it would be irresponsible of us to mismanage it. Those who are set on achieving their goals would have a strategy to maximize the return for each second spent. Well, that may be a little exaggerated but may be based on hours or as a whole, how the day was spent.

Unlimited Stock

In my Take Stock, I mentioned that there is a Par Stock that I can clear on a daily basis. These are committed quantities of article/s I post, write and read per day. Sooner or later, we will come to a point that we feel our stock management has grown beyond control. We need to trim back to a manageable pace.

We are no longer able to cope with committing to a sustainable Par Stock. We will fall behind. We may have committed to still write and post one article per day but our quantity of articles to read may have gotten out of hand because we are now engaging with more writers. To you, it will seem that everyone is jostling for your attention though that may not be the case. You'll feel that way, nonetheless.

Preferred Stock

Not what you think. This article has nothing to do with investment.

I'm still referring to your daily commitment. It will come a time when this gets out of hand that you have to prioritize. If all you can handle is a maximum of 5 articles to read per day, and I mean not scan through without doing justice to that article, then you have to make a decision. Articles 6 and above will have to be pushed out to another time or may end up being the latest victim to the 'reset button' we all are so familiar with. LOL.

This shortlisted maximum of 5 articles will be your preferred stock. Do you want to know where these come from? Yes? Good. We move on to the next point then and I'm switching gear to address new writers from here on.

Network = Net worth

Recall what I've also mentioned in my Network = Networth article, the relationship we build with another person in the business setting is critical to one's success.

The better your engagement is with a particular writer, the stronger your VIP membership is with this particular writer. It's all about relationship building. I'm sure if you recall your childhood days, you'd prefer (there's that word again) to play with your closest buddies, correct? When you grow older, you have close-knit BFFs that you may (the operative word here is 'may') go skinny dipping with. You just don't do that with those you don't know so well, right?

Well, wouldn't you know it? It applies here. Whose articles do you think get read and whose get put on the sideline? Those who have a close relationship with the writer get read. Simple as that.

If you are new here, do you see why it is important to invest some time to build good relationships with other writers? Yes, that's why the Captain says, "Engage!"

So, please make it a point to develop relationships with writers here, especially with those who've been around for a while and are very active. Give them a reason to include you in their daily read commitment. Let them figure out how to make that possible without resorting to using the reset button.

The above is a simplistic way of looking at getting your article read. It has not touched on other important factors such as the following: an attention-grabbing title that relates to the article and of course, good content that the readers can tell you've put your heart into it; just to name a couple.

I hope this article has been helpful in providing you some pointers to be successful on this platform. Everyone can be successful here. The question is are you willing to invest your time and efforts to see to your success.

Good luck and let's "Engage!"

Stay safe and see you in the next article.

Sources:

Header: unsplash.com - Roy Javier

Image 1: unsplash.com - Nicholas Green

Image 2: unsplash.com - Victoriano Izquierdo

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

19
$ 7.33
$ 6.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @kli4d
+ 12
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Being an avid trekkie myself, I love the reference here. And, it fits marvelously with the context of your article as well.

Win, win.

I am actually thinking about writing an article about writing on the Internet that I think will offer at least a bit of a different perspective about what we do in places like this, and what other writers do necessarily when they write a novel, or write an article for a major publication.

But engaging with other writers here (and any other site like it) is definitely key to the whole thing. It's the interaction, stupid, to borrow from a political message that won an election in our past history. I also like the way you incorporated the relational aspect as well. Because that TOO is very important.

It makes me think of my current job in sales. What makes me a good salesman? I mean, sure. I can help to solve problems for my customers. I can make sure they are taken care of. I can make sure their parts are delivered correctly and on time. But what REALLY sells my products?

How I interact with the customer. It is what I do, and what we do together that makes that customer dial me up before he dials up another vendor. It's the relationship that makes the difference ultimately.

If we engage in other's writings, and if we take the time to not only read (and as you said, not simply SCAN) the posts, it shows in the way we comment on them. It says, "I have taken the same care and time with what you have worked so hard to write as you did."

It also says, I don't just want your pennies. I want your time. I want your interest. And I want your interaction.

Granted, you can't just write crap and give a lot of attention to other people's articles. You still have to provide some value to REALLY capture a true audience. But if one does nothing to BE engaging as well as TO engage...

Then the only sound you are going to hear when you click to your bank are crickets chirping.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Nail on the head. I can sense your sales excitement shining through this comment. It is true, no matter how good you are at selling, if your product is crap, you'll only make a hell of an impression and just one sale. I love it, my friend. I'm gonna take a break and will head on over to read your experience. Already saw your "Don't work for a paycheck" article. I'm liking it already. Will rest my eyes and read it once my eyes say, okay. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing your insights. This is helpful to both new and older writers. Time commitment has been the biggest issue, unless this was bread and butter.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. I have no choice. I'm buttering my crumbs now. Every bit count. But dang...buttering crumbs take a lot of time. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, every bit counts. Let's just continue to hustle the best we can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am attracted by your title, I thought you were explaining that how to write good article like each and every step. But when I open it and started reading I found more than that ☺️ Your advice is really good that to read every day 5 articles. It will make our writing good. And yes, I am trying my best to engage with other people through comment box because i am a newbie here. Btw, Thank you for all this and for your kind Advices. Have a good night 😽

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad it's helping you. Take it easy and don't spread yourself too thin. It should be an enjoyable and fun process. Good luck!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. It is really fun to interact with others. Thank you. God bless

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats what im trying my best, to interact.. give and share😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wonderful & good luck in your journey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not that active here when I first came here and then I change my habit,, I read and interact with other users and then one day two three and a lot of people are now reading my articles and it's just a great blessing for me

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I went through the same thing. Engaging gets more attention and more attention motivate us to engage further...so on so forth. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true...so let's be interactive always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so accurate. We have to engage in ourselves in this platform and to the users as well. Building friendship in here is very important and that's where I started.

"We may have committed to still write and post one article per day but our quantity of articles to read may have gotten out of hand because we are now engaging with more writers. To you, it will seem that everyone is jostling for your attention though that may not be the case. You'll feel that way, nonetheless."

I can really relate in this. My network expanded and I am really pressured because I couldn't give attention to everyone anymore.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol. I'm struggling with balancing my time and dispensing my attention to all well-deserved writers even as I reply to your comment. I'm falling back and some will end up being "marked as read" even though that may not be the case. We all go through this. Fortunately, for me, it's not permanent. It's a cycle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, its also a cycle for me. Hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Without engagement, you won't gain readers.. It really matters here m coz even if your article is so great, but if you don't interact with others, you won't get readers and your effort in writing will be useless.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Agree, That’s why I am trying my best to interact with each and every person of read.cash

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the truth. And even if my articles aren't so great, but I'm approachable, friendly, and reach out (engage with others), others will still read my article. Keeping my fingers crossed now. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like when you said that 'let's Engage!'. I guess that is the basic. If you want to have new friends that is what you do. Thank you for sharing your pointers. Time for me to, 'Engage'.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by and good luck. Oh yeah...do have lots of fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said. Thank you for sharing this information. I will apply this for sure 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, that's one well-written and very informative article! Great points all around, thanks for sharing!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Cheers, bud. Have fun and let's ride the wave!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Got a lot of info thank you🙂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Cheers. Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, hoping for your success ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Engage! Hihi. This is so true. Engaging with others builds so much friendship which also helps us to succeed here.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it's not an option.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said!👏 Let us "engage" to each other for us to build relationship. This is so informative especially I'm a newbie here in this platform. Will apply this. THANK YOU!😊😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Welcome! Thank you for dropping by and good luck with your readcash adventures!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! If you want to, kindly subscribe me.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Done, child of God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the tips! Very helpful for newbies. 😊

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Cheers. All the best in your friendship building.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, engage with all you can, then reset when you're having a weird feeling that eyes are planning a coup d'etat. 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's always comforting to know that there's a reset option. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, I've also learned that interaction and investing time with other writers is the best way to become successful here. Thru interaction, we can build relationships to other people, honestly, I knew lots of virtual friends because of this website.😊😊❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well said. Yes, there is no shortcut for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

but but, I am not your typical friendly neighbor in the neighborhood! lol well said, big bro! make a friend and you will make 100 times more :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I only know of one person who'd say friendly neighborhood...it's Spider-man! LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, because engaging also means to get along with others :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Absolutely correct.

$ 0.00
2 years ago