Eating is a Private Affair (Rated R for disgusting eating content)

19 41
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

28 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 15 August 2021

Today is Sunday, 15 August 2021. I don't post on Sunday but I do my best to write. When I do write, I'll also document the date that I have started writing the article on.

A few days ago, I'd read an article written by @Olasquare who mentioned attending eating/dinner functions. In that article called "One Last Time.", he'd mentioned how he's a private person and how he tries to avoid attending weddings whenever possible.

After having read his article, I'd commented that I too am a very private person and prefer to stay at home, rather than attending any functions, especially one that involves eating in front of strangers. I mentioned that eating is a private affair for me.

Let me illustrate further my point of view. Do note that a lot of the examples I shared below are more country and/or culturally specific. Some of you may or may not identify with what is shared.

Food Event-Related Pet Peeves

1. Unwanted Sprinkles

Lots of things revolve around food. One such common example is the milestone we create to mark our yearly birthdate. Yeah, you already know what I'm getting at.

Usually, the mark of that occasion's success is how many people we can get to come over to eat our cake with us. This is always accompanied by the dreaded (at least for me, it is) compulsory birthday song followed by candle blowing by the birthday culprit and sometimes with a few accomplices.

I think this pandemic will change this tradition forever. I, for one, am glad for it. It would be so rude to refuse a "sprinkled" slice of cake. But accepting one means the mental torment of consuming it. The only things I want to be sprinkled on my slice of cake are chocolate flakes. Nothing else.

2. Cutleries Common Pool

As we all well know, when eating in a public event, we are at the mercy of the event organizer or the catering provider. We have no control over what is served, what utensils are provided, and quite frequently, who sits at the same table.

For western events, it's more bearable as most sit-down dinner-type events involve set meals served individually.

In other cultures, it may not be so. The servers will place a few different shared dishes at the center of the table. These are mostly round tables, with 8 to 10 strangers sitting around. Once the dishes arrive, the waiter blows the white and ... guys, it is a free-for-all grab. (I'd added the whistle-blowing part for added dramatic effect. LOL).

If for whatever reason (whether due to cultural practice or not), no common utensils were provided for each of these shared dishes, then you're in for a "treat". Though the food diminishes with each scoop, do be mentally prepared to accept generous contributions from each stranger's own spoons and forks when they dip into the dish.

Right. Remember watching those CSI episodes where they use the black light to shine on stuff to find blood splatter and DNAs? Yeah, if you did there here, I can guarantee you'll find plenty of DNA contributions.

Those unfortunate ones sitting with close relatives or "extra" friendly strangers may get an additional bonus. Your relative or newfound buddy may generously use their personal (well used) spoons and forks or chopsticks, to start scooping dishes for you! I can tell you that if you were the recipient of this donation, you'd rather just slide down your chair and disappear under the table, never to be seen again.

3. Inter Diner Ballistic Missiles

Once in a while, you'll meet one who can never stop talking, even with the mouth full. Again, you already know where I'm going with this.

If I encounter such a person at my table, I'll be at DefCon 1 readiness.

Here's a definition of DefCon 1 taken from the militarybase.net site.

You can tell that I'm at full alert. If I see any projectiles flying into any of the dishes or worst, into my plate, because this fella couldn't stop talking, then I'm out of there in a jiffy! No question about it. No amount of BCH could convince me to stay. Well, maybe that's not exactly true. We can discuss more on this. I may just be cheap enough to be bought. I mean, we're talking about BCH, after all. LOL.

The Aftermath

Usually, after these dinners, everyone still hangs around. I mean, the table is empty. You see scattered few pieces of leftover vegetables on the plates. Maybe in some cultures, you'll see what's left of a fishbone on a large but otherwise empty plate.

You get the picture. Combine this image with that of each diner sitting in front of their battle-worn plates. Pieces of unfinished meats, vegetables, and bones. Possibly some tissue papers hiding some unfinished foods.

Now, the crazy part is that the dinner is essentially over but all the diners are still sitting there looking at each other and looking blankly at the aftermath of the dinner. I look at you. You look at me. We look at the table that's full of left-over. We look at the exit. I look at my nails. Yeah, you better not be looking at my nails unless you want to have that fishbone in your face.

Like idiots, we sit around as if we were school children waiting for the bell to ring to signify that school is over and we are dismissed.

I'd love to come, but I'm out of town

Now you can see why I say that eating is a private affair. I prefer to eat alone or with immediate family members. I want to have some level of control over what I put into my mouth. I don't like additional ingredients 'freshly' added after the chef's done with it.

I'm glad that I live in the boondocks. It is easier for me to give an excuse when invited. I'd love to come, but I'm out of town.

As I'd mentioned at the beginning, eating is very cultural and the types of dinner and/or eating events we all go to may differ. Though they are exaggerations, I wonder how many of you can identify with what I shared above.

Thank you for reading.

Sources:

Header Image: Photo by Ross Sokolovski on Unsplash

Image 1: Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Image 2: Screenshot from Google Search (militarybase.net site)

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

10
$ 7.34
$ 5.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @mommykim
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
+ 7
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

ha! This is all so very true. Experienced them all lols

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha...you should get a badge. Actually, me too. I'd probably have my chest full of badges. LOL.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Now I want a badge lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha I live in a boondock too. And I'm thankful that we have practiced to eat with only the immediate family members when there are birthday celebrations. We only send food to our neighbors so they wont be upset by us not inviting them. We don't come over to their house if there are celebrations too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's actually a good practice - sending food to neighbors instead of having them come over. Then it's up to them what they want to do with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know, here in the U.S. eating is such a prevalent part of everything we do, I could never imagine it ever being a private event. EVERYTHING here revolves around food. Everything.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

As in most countries and cultures. I do think that certain eating decorum should be 'adjusted' due to unhygienic practices. It bothers some and not others. I'd think the impact is probably greater on introverts than extroverts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can`t stop laughing, LOL. I will never be able to eat at a big event again without thinking about all this. Although the truth is I also prefer small groups and meals where I have things under my control. But I think I'll have a hard time with the next slice of birthday cake. LOL

Thank you once again for the sponsorship and the giggles today! :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I dread going to birthday events. It didn't bother me for a long time but all of a sudden this has become an issue. I think it should. I don't want added DNAs on my cakes. LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have a HILARIOUS way of putting these things together... and now I cannot stop my brain from running this picture of a silent food fight - no serving spoons.. talkative people with small debris on good projectile in slow motion landing on someone else's plate!

Hahaha...

I get the discomfort though. I do go to occasions or events that I am invited in. My close friends have other friends so I have to meet those, too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I avoid "public" dining events as much as possible. Avoid them like the plague. LOL.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am imagining that too hahaha ... Like the plague! Hahahaahah

$ 0.03
2 years ago

i love to eat out but with my close relatives also..same as you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yeah me too but not too frequently. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good for you then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in HK.. Restaurants usually serve a pitcher of hot water on the table with a big bowl.. The hot water is for. drinking and also use for cleaning the cutleries before using them...

Eating in public restaurants is really unhygienic.. Sometimes you'll gonna see remnants of food on the plates and utensils that will make your stomach turn.. 🤮.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kinda makes you wonder why they provide a bowl of hot water to wash, right? Didn't they clean them well enough the first time? Even if the diners clean them a second time at the table, the 'contamination' starts after the dishes appear. Ewe. In meals like this, we always ask for 'common' utensils. One for each dish. But there are those outliers who would not respect this decorum.

I have seen my share of unclean plates and utensils. It's disgusting. I like what most Chinese eating places are doing. They all use sanitized utensils and these are plastic wrapped in sets ready to be used on the table. I've never once seen an unclean one in all my experience there. I understand that these sanitizing and utensils dispensing places are government monitored. Don't quote me on that. I'm not very sure but that's my understanding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also do not like to be invited in any parties or events especially knowing that there will be lots of people from the unknown lols. If I ever finish my dish, I have to get out to receive some fresh air while others continue their life stories.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I avoid them as much as I can possibly can. I prefer to eat at peace. No need for added suspense and drama. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago