Earn cryptocurrencies by writing. How I started. You can too.

8 38
Avatar for Just1dood
3 years ago

Earn cryptocurrencies by writing articles. Really? Is it possible? For those of you who are gifted with a flair with words, it’s a strong possibility. Others who are meticulous and good at researching a topic and condensing the findings into a short article would do well.

Image by John Hain from Pixabay 

How about the rest of us? Do we have a chance? It's good advice to start with what we are good at or familiar with. But what if you are like me. The words for the topic are floating around in my brain but somehow it didn’t travel well from the brain to the fingers, so to speak. The words that ended up on the computer screen weren’t as exciting as you had thought. What if there were so many things I strongly believe in and would like to share with the world? What then?

You can’t steer a parked car!

Image by Mabel Amber from Pixabay 

I have heard the above phrase so many times that I have conditioned myself to take it for granted. It has become an ambient ‘noise’ that was easily ignored. What has this to do with my topic?

 Well, in case you are wondering, you cannot steer a parked car. You can turn the steering wheel all you want, but you are going nowhere. You are still stationary. BINGO! That is the point. I NEED to move the car. Get the car started & moving!

When Opportunity Knocks

When I was presented with an opportunity to read, write, and earn through the Publish0x platform recently, I was presented with a choice. I had joined the platform to earn by reading. After doing so for a while, I wanted more. Why not start writing too?

Guess what? Those questions mentioned in the first two paragraphs above came to mind. It’s decision time. Sit in a stationary car or get it moving? As NIKE so aptly puts it – JUST DO IT! Yoda would say – Do. Or do not, there’s no try!

I did my best not to over analyze my decision and submitted my request to start writing on the platform. After approval was granted, I have to decide what to write.

Choose your battleground!

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay 

Whether intentionally or otherwise, the Publish0x platform is more focused on the technology and blockchain sector because most articles that were published, read, and earning some cryptocurrencies are in those two areas.

Bearing this in mind, I felt that I had to write something in that vein. 

Do you recall I mentioned earlier the “things I strongly believe in and would like to share with the world”?  I believe that we are heading into a one-world economy and that the current events and technologies are driving things in that direction. One of the technological innovations that I believe plays a role is the mass adoption of e-wallets. 

So, I decided to write an article showing that the adoption of e-wallets would inevitably lead to the adoption of cryptocurrencies through blockchain wallets. The article is called “Show Me the Wallet – An indicator that Crypto is going mainstream.”

How did I feel about the article?  I felt it could have been better written.  Add more data. Use a better choice of words and end it with a slam dunk. However, secretly there was a sense of pride, a sense of accomplishment.  I got the car moving.

Frankly speaking, I’m no expert on blockchain and cryptocurrencies. What I can share and write about is from what I read and what I personally experienced. Furthermore, this may not be what I want to write all the time and Publish0x has shown that it leans more towards that area. Fine, if you’re a tech nerd or a savvy investor with strong technical analysis background. I’m not. I love tech but wouldn’t consider myself enough to be a geek.

The timing was perfect when @pusher wrote about read.cash, another platform for aspiring writers who can also earn some cryptocurrency through writing. You can read his well-written article at Publish0x here.  Actually, a week or two before that, I have been hearing about read.cash being mentioned a few times in different articles, but I haven’t the time to check it out. Since I connected with @pusher, I decided to check read.cash out after reading his write-up.  I was not disappointed.  This platform is a more encompassing platform.

You can write everything under the sun (provided you do not overstep the boundaries of their terms & conditions). I didn’t see any indication of the platform leaning towards any particular topic or area.

Is one platform better than the other? Not really. It depends on what you want to write.  Choose the relevant platform for the topic you want to write so that you can maximize viewership. 

I will continue to write on both platforms, as I believe both can help me improve my writing skills.

Rome was not built in a day

Image by Peter H from Pixabay 

Back to the question, can I earn an income from writing?  I really don’t have an answer to the question. When push comes to shove, I would say – Yes and No. Yes, if you put in the effort and be consistent in your writing.  No, because it will probably not be enough to replace your income. 

However, do realize that if the article you wrote is useful and timeless, it may generate a passive income.  All you have to do is write it once, and you’ll earn cryptocurrencies as long as people read it and tips you (in the case of Publish0x platform) or if readers sponsor you (in the case of read.cash platform).  I’m still not very sure how read.cash works. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

If you have lots of ideas or things to share but never ventured out into writing, then my advice is to – JUST DO IT (thanks again, NIKE).  Get the car moving!

If your ax is dull, sharpen the edges

Writing takes efforts and I need to sharpen my skills. Here are some resources that are helping me in my writing journey.

If you don’t know where to start, I suggest you search for a short creative writing course or a beginner’s writing course.

You can take free online courses from well-known universities such as Harvard, Berkley, Cambridge at edx.org.  Besides this, there are plenty of video resources on writing on YouTube.

My philosophy is that it is good practice to respect my readers. How? Make the effort to check my article for spelling and grammar mistakes.

I found an online resource that helps me with that. The site is called wordcounter.net. Just paste your article into the form and it will tell you how many words, characters, sentences, and paragraphs your article contains. It will also tell you the reading level (readability for the intended audience) and reading time. The latter is useful to gauge if it’s at least 3 minutes long, especially if you want to be ‘bot’ friendly here at read.cash

One final resource easily accessible to read.cash authors - read.cash editor has a built-in grammar checker that links to Grammarly. Take advantage of it.

Parting Thoughts

It is not difficult to start writing and working towards earning some cryptocurrencies in the process. Practice makes perfect. Fully utilize available online resources to help you improve.

I'm learning and still have a long way to go to reach my destination. Half the fun is in the journey.

At the initial stage, do not be so hung up with how much money you earn even though from experience, it is easier said than done! Just enjoy the process. After all, this is a journey.  Enjoy it.  Have fun & if you’re a beginner, do share the link to your first article here in the comment section. I’d love to visit you there.

5
$ 0.18
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
3 years ago

Comments

Read.cash for me was a God send kind of. The problem was that blogs were really hard to get any attention, and the money was simply not there. There's just way too much competition for eyes. HubPages was an interesting place for a while, but the rules got to be a bit too cumbersome, and you found yourself spending more time tailoring articles to what THEY wanted instead of what I wanted.

So, I was left to places like Bubblews, Niume, MyLot and a few others. All geared to short, sweet NOTHINGS literally. No room for serious stuff or serious thought. No room for EXPANDED thought in longer article form.

And so, finding read has allowed me to get back to some of the kind of writing (AND READING) I am more accustomed to and more apt to want to be a part of.

I hope it is here for a long time to come because so far I feel like I am back in the game and haviung the time of my life. PLUS making a little extra loot to boot.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's been a while since I'd written this article that when I saw the title in the read.cash notifications, I thought it was someone else's article. LOL.

I had just read my own article again. What an interesting thought. And still holds true. As you said, there is a level of freedom writing here and if we don't make it a chore, it is such a delight.

Like you, and many others here, I do hope read.cash is here to stay for a long, long time.

Btw, many of those other writing platforms you mentioned above, I've never heard of. Must be because I was not into blogging until recently

One more thing. Thank you for the upvote and tips. Imagine, 11 months old article and you're the first tipper. LOL. Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have been writing online ever since I could write online. Back in the 90s. So, over the years I have found many places to do it. Although the "paid to write" part didn't come until much later.

Glad to find older articles. I tend to scroll down on people's profiles always thinking there must be hidden gems in there.

Considering the age of the article, I am assuming that at 0.0045 cents per month does not make this your best performer? lol

It also makes me wonder, things were probably a bit different on the tipping side when the site first launched.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, it's an underdog in the race to best performer. Strangely, I find it interesting to read again. Learning from my 'younger' self. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i like this informative post dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi Teji. Thank you for visiting and your support. Do you write too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice post, and thanks for the promo shout out! =) upvoted! this one was an honest reflection of yourself, and it shines through in your writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, friend. As usual, your support and encouragement is priceless. Still much to learn. Working on discipline and consistency.

$ 0.00
3 years ago