Don't be dusty, trusty Rusty; Random Rewarder, All's in Order (Why I think he visited me)

53 61
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

30 July 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Don't be Dusty

It's been 9 months! I was beginning to wonder if Rusty will ever visit me again. Yes, 9 months since I last welcomed Rusty. That was during my first endeavor into writing at ReadCash. He visited me at "Sending Cryptocurrencies – Take Heed of These 2 Warnings!" and "My Peculiar taste in Music...including one from a band with no name!"

The former was my second article on this platform and the first time that Rusty visited me and tipped me. That was also my first encounter with Bitcoin Cash! An introduction to my current journey in achieving a whole BCH.

Trusty Rusty

For many of us, Rusty is a mysterious transient. He may or may not grace us with his presence. For me, having Rusty visit is a mark of approval. It's a Certificate of Fitness. It's a ReadCash rite of passage. Though it is not the case, still many of us accept it as a nod of Rusty's approval.

On 26 July 2021, only a day ago (from when I started writing this article), Rusty had visited me 8 times over a span of about 1 hour bearing tips of between $0.20 to $0.48 for a total of $2.75 in BCH for my "Rhymes eat Time; I eat Pizza" article. That may not be much to many of you but I was ecstatic to have received it. Let's celebrate. Get those pizzas here. It's time to give thanks. Rusty remembers me! Rusty has returned!

Even as I was writing this, I'd noticed Rusty visited me another 2 times. I was mistaken. Rusty likes more than Pizza and Rhymes. He likes Success too. As of writing time, he'd upvoted my "Success is Overrated" article a total of $0.59 in BCH.

The Random Rewarder

So, it wasn't Pizza. It wasn't Rhymes. It wasn't Success. What makes Rusty tick? That is the 100 BCH question, isn't it?

This has piqued my curiosity. I don't think I can narrow it down to how random he is and what causes him to miss someone. I can only make a guess or some guesses.

I am very certain that there are certain things that he likes and certain things that he dislikes. I'm not sure what he likes but I'm quite certain what he dislikes. I'm certain because it came from the horse's mouth. Rusty himself spelled it out when he asked, "Have I tipped you?"

All is in Order

I can't pinpoint the exact steps or articles to catch Rusty's attention but I can tell you what I have been doing since I restarted at ReadCash a second time a month back.

I'll list them down. If you like, you can follow exactly, or not follow exactly. I can't guarantee success. Like investments, past performance does not guarantee future performance (profitability).

Here is the list of what I have done to this point and my guess why he started visiting me again:

  1. Write consistently

    • I have posted one article per day since restarting on 22 June 2021. The only day I don't post is on Sunday.

    • All-in-all since that date, I'd posted a total of 30 articles, this current one not included. For those of you who are melancholy (read "Are you self-sabotaging?" to understand what that means), from 22 June to 26 July (inclusive), there are 30 days (not counting Sundays). That's 1 article per day. I hope I have not confused you. You can verify by counting them yourself. I'm tempted to list them all down here but that'd be too much.

    • All articles are either from experience or just my ramblings and rants. They are quite random, to be honest. Maybe Rusty likes that too. You know, RandomRewarder; Random Articles. Both share the same first name.

    • I have a suspicion that the RandomRewarder has a greater tendency to visit those who are consistent in their writing. Doesn't have to be every day but be consistent. Not transient but consistent. Okay, you got my point.

  2. I subscribe to others

    • I can't tell how many writers I have subscribed to. If you know where to find these details, do comment and let m know and I'll update this part of the article with an Edit and a tag thanking you for it.

    • Why subscribe? It's simple. I get notifications for these writer's activities. If they publish an article, I'll know it. If they do a short post, I'll know it. If they fart, I'll receive a notification.

  3. I comment

    • Ideally, you need to have completed point 2 above first. Not essential though highly recommended. It's easier to comment when you kinda have established a relationship with the writer. And you can't establish diddly if you don't subscribe.

    • The easiest advice I have for commenting is to be yourself. Don't put on a Professor's mask to comment. Don't be a professor; be yourself.

  4. I upvote

    • If you're new, this may be a little hard, especially if you don't have any BCH in your wallet. But if you have earned some respect, you'll have some BCH to upvote and tip others. Don't worry about accumulating. Pay it forward. It'll come back.

    • I haven't kept much in the wallet and do my best to upvote/tip whenever I can. Obviously, I'll seek out to read articles by writers I know and in actively engaged with. [Note to newbies: This is another reason why you should comment and build relationships with writers]

    • Since having Rusty visit, I'll be more active in seeking out others outside of my circle of writer friends to upvote/tip.

    • As of the time of writing, I'm ranked top 100 in total tipping for the last 30 days. (I'm at 88 at this time).

  5. I sponsor

    • I did not initiate this. I learned from those who paid it forwards. My first sponsor was @Eylz2021 (I'll talk about this next). That was enough to boost my confidence in this platform. If you think the Rusty the RandomRewarder is more important than your readers or fellow writers, you're winning the wrong hearts. I'm sorry to burst your bubble, Rusty has no heart. (Sorry, Rusty. Didn't mean that in a bad way. It's just that you don't have a heart. You may have a superior 'brain' but no heart. Okay, enough of that).

    • I am currently sponsoring 6 fellow writers. Some I know better than others. The important thing is we respect each other.

  6. Others sponsor me

    • I am very grateful and blessed to have 8 sponsors at the moment. They are all fun and each is talented in his/her own way. Do check them out. I assure you that you'll not be disappointed in doing so.

Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty

Trust Me

Determine what your purpose is in deciding to write here. Each of us has a purpose. Regardless of what it is, do keep in mind that it opens the window to a whole of possibilities. Getting to know writers from all over the world. Being exposed to different writing styles. Learning more about Bitcoin Cash. Improving on our own writing. And getting a visit from Rusty.

It has taken me slightly more than a month and in the process, accomplished all of the above before Rusty visited me again. You decide if any of the above made a difference.

I enjoyed the process and my friends on this platform made writing so much fun. Yes, I can't believe I'd ever say this but writing has never been this fun!

Stay safe and see you in the next article.

Sources:

Header: Unsplash.com - Phillip Glickman

Other images are screenshots from Read.Cash

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

14
$ 7.32
$ 6.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
+ 9
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

I still haven't say my congratulations right? Lol. Congratulations then! And I like your tips up there, others should read this too. That's also exactly what I will suggest them to do so if Rusty haven't tipped them yet.

I was really late for the pizza. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Nah, never late for pizza. Pizza's availability is 24/7! hahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on this breakthrough. I'm genuinely happy for you. We just talked about it the other day and it happened soon after, remember?

May we be graced by his presence more and more!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we did. Thank you. It felt like being visited by the God of Prosperity. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rusty IS the God of Prosperity!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think he started visiting more, expanding his circle that he can accommodate. Also, there seems to be more new members now that the reward had to be distributed not evenly still since the value of articles vary from person to person. Congrats for being noticed! I think now once you got tipped, you will be tipped more often.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankyou. Yes, I make sure I'll be very robot-friendly! hahahaha...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think you are already. Pizza is the key lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, rusty is RANDOMrewarder hehe. But no matter what he has at least he keeps winning our heart to go on.😊 congrats by the way!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. That he does. So many are in love with him. Hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha and I'm one of it. I hope he will not get tired even he's new with me. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely write consistently and a wide array of articles and creative content. I find Rusty very random. sometimes I look at an article that hasn't been visited, whether my own or someone else's and I just can't fathom why...sometimes it's great content, well written. Other times I see rewards being handed out and look at the article and go huh??? just some seemingly random musings and it gets a visit. But then It's very much hit and miss, but one thing is for certain, if you don't write, you won't get visited lol. So just get out there regularly, post frequently, engage with the community and enjoy. The rewards will flow in ways you could never expect: joy, friendship, learning, personal growth, and if you're lucky...maybe Rusty or others will pay you a visit and reward you financially too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know what you're talking about regarding the quality of content and Rusty's visit. My guess is that there's some 'true' randomness built into it but there's also a search for 'consistent' writers regardless of the quality of content. My theory. No one has figured him out since his birth. I think that's part of the appeal and fun too. You're right. Treat Rusty as icing on the cake and not the other way round and we'll enjoy being on the platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've also noticed recently that he either doesn't visit or just drops a few cents here and there. Maybe there are so many people posting a lot these days that the pot has to go much further so rewards are naturally lower.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that could be one reason. Growing pains we all feel maybe?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

definitely, although in my case he stopped visiting from the moment I mistakenly called him Randy bwahaha. If your algorithms are seeing and interpreting this, I am so very sorry Rusty lol. What can I do to make it up to you? I know! I'll write more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. That's funny. Now we know one additional info - he doesn't like to be called Randy. 😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ha ha, never underestimate the value of an apology, especially a public one. He just visited me again lols. And shhhhh....re the name that should not be mentioned, don't want you getting into trouble too ;-)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

LOL. Okay. Shhh...my lips are sealed. And congrats!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations! Rusty visited me for the first time a couple of days ago, too! And I agree with you. Rusty doesn't have a heart. The heart is in the engagement with the community. Hope you keep getting lots of visits from the heartless robot, LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! Congrats! That's a great feeling, isn't it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes! It's a great feeling, indeed. Especially because we had to wait for him to come for some time! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats for Rusty's visitation 😁🥳! Rusty is so random to be honest. I noticed that sometimes he wont visit me until I visit the platform 😆. So, I just dont leave the platform after publishing, I also read, upvote, and interact with others :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. He likes your cologne! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, a robot that can smell HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

glad rusty visited you after months of waiting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Hope he's a regular customer for you too! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

not really though but it's alright

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is wonderful...weldone for this congratulations....rusty visited

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, brother. The prodigal bot has returned. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay I was very happy when I saw that you were visited by Rusty! Congrats! But I haven't been consistent to my writing. I actually left this account for a week after my birthday. After coming back and publishing a nonsense, he visited me! That was really awesome. That's something to be proud of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats! Keep it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yahoooo rusty is visiting you again!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, he is! Red carpet reception every time. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

put some fairy lights too to attract him everyday LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, at last you have your "notice me, senpai" version. Congratulations 🎉🎉

Everything you there were what I observed too. Interacting with other writers, upvotes and sponsoring is the key to Rusty's heart...opps he doesn't have a heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There must be an SOP he follows. I'm glad I'm under his radar. May he land here often. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He landed here too. Horray!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because you're cool like that ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL. I'll take it. I saw you have an article out. I'm gonna chillax a bit first. Will read it as a bedtime story later, along with a few other articles. Just want to grind through some movie or tv first. Mind is too tired. Just want to be entertained. Hahahaha....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take your time, Dood :) Enjoy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. On a clearing spree now. Should be able to go to sleep soon too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get a good sleep. Am about to get off soon too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oooh he visits short posts, too!!!! Maybe i should try to also look into what tickles rusty! But i am mighty glad he is starting to visit you. hah! He likes fun stuff and you are fun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He visits short posts? Really? where? Yeah, I do hope he likes fun. Seems like a fun and funky robot. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i haven't seen him visit a short post but thats what he said pointing at have i tipped you i wonder what kind of short posts he likes. .. the funky elusive robot...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah that. Yeah, he did say that, didn't he? Now you have made me curious. I'm half tempted to do a hunt now for short post Rusty tip. Too tired to do that though. I'll just file it at the back of my mind for now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahahha .. i thought about that too and then simulated the hunt and i got tired so .. let us just see if it lands in our radar without much effort

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good idea. Let it run on auto pilot. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lols hahaha.. i am still wondering lols... so much for putting it on autopilot.. you have pizza? can i have some? maybe it will take my mind off it for a while..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure. Go ahead and call my uncle. His name is Domino.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

charging it to Dood! you seem to like Domino over pizza hut? top preference Domino?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. But my last experience might have changed my mind. May go back to the hut.

$ 0.00
2 years ago