Dear Readers: How can you Read & Comment MORE efficiently?

26 53
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

27 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written 25 August 2021 (Yes, same as the day where I said I didn't have anything to write but now have written two articles). The first one, I'd published yesterday. It's called "Another One of Those Days: How I Push Myself to Write."

A few Facts

Fact: I am always on the move and looking for the most efficient and time-saving ways to do things.

Fact: I don't always discover how to do this on my own. Certain ones, unless someone shares them, I may never discover them or it may take me a long time to discover them on my own.

Fact: You are now in a hurry to read through this and evaluating if it's worth your time to continue.

Fact: I'll make it easy for you. I'll make this very brief. It should also help you here as a reader.

Reflect on Your Current Process

Think about how you normally read an article here. Think through your process, all the way to the end, including leaving your comments.

Do you think that you are doing it efficiently? If not, do you think you can improve on the efficiency in how you read and leave your comments?

If you can't think of any, fret not. Let me share with you what I do. I have discovered this by chance though I can't recall exactly how.

Reading

Scanning through an article is not necessarily a bad practice. Some people are able to read faster than others. They may scan through and yet be able to capture all the pertinent details. Others, may not. You have to determine which category you fall under and adjust your reading habit accordingly.

Enough about reading. We move on to Commenting.

Commenting

The normal practice for most people is to start commenting after reading. There is nothing wrong with that. That was what I was doing initially. It makes perfect sense. It's very linear and logical in getting things done.

However, can you remember how often you have to keep scrolling back up to remember the point you want to make a comment to? Very ineffective and time-consuming, isn't it?

Despite that, I still follow this flow at certain times. That depends a lot on what kind of article I'm reading. I'll touch on this point further down the article.

Is there another way to comment? Let's find out.

Reading & Commenting & Reading & Commenting, etc

Sounds strange when you read the heading for this section, doesn't it? How can that be efficient?

Well, if your intention is to scan through and leave "I like that story" or "Nice article", then this does not apply. Anyone could put those same comments without even reading anything. How's that for fast? This is a surefire way to irritate the writer and you can be sure you'll be ignored. Though some nice writers may reply with an obligatory "Thank you".

If you are active in Noise.Cash, you know what I'm talking about. Plenty of people does that there. Sometimes I won't know how to respond as their reply to my post doesn't make any sense at all.

Image by Werner Moser from Pixabay 

Back to this section's heading. How do we do that? If you are thinking of reading then scrolling down to make a comment, then scroll back up to continue reading, before down again to make comment, etc, I can tell you that this will drive you crazy.

What I do is this (assuming you are on a laptop or desktop environment):

  1. Open the article I have chosen to read.

  2. Duplicate the same tab.

  3. Move the page all the way down to the comment section in this second tab.

  4. Go back to the first tab and start reading the article.

  5. Find an interesting idea/topic/part that I'd like to comment on? Stop briefly.

  6. Go to the second tab and type my comment. (If needed, I'll also quote the segment of text from the article I'm commenting on)

  7. Go back to the first tab and continue reading the article. Found another idea you'd like to comment on?

  8. Go to the second tab and continue with your comment.

And so on and so forth until I have finished reading the article. End with any additional comments that I have and click reply before closing off both tabs.

I find this way most efficient for me in reading and leaving comments immediately once something catches my attention.

As I'd mentioned earlier, this may not always be the case. It does depend on the type of articles I'm reading. There are certain articles where nothing stops me in the middle to make a comment. In such instances, I'll just finish reading the article before leaving a comment.

There are also other instances where I do not have any idea what to say. If that's the case, I'll just upvote and leave a tip.

Spirit, not Law

It is easy for us to fall into the trap of taking something word for word. The above is a suggestion to assist. It doesn't mean that you must follow or that if you do follow, you must follow the exact steps.

Follow the intent, not the letter of the law. If you could tweak it to work for you, go ahead. If for some articles, this doesn't work, then don't use it for that particular article.

Thank you for reading and I hope that this has been helpful for you.

Sources:

Header Photo by Maarten van den Heuvel on Unsplash

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

10
$ 6.60
$ 5.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 7
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Tratare de hacer lo de abrir las dos pestañas, por que de verdad que siempre me pasa eso, tengo que estar deslizando hacia arriba y me quita tiempo y mis delitos se cansan.

Una pregunta, escaneo se refiere a cuando leen rápidamente. Hasta ahora todos los artículos que me parecen interesante por su título, los leo palabra por palabra. Es decir así lo he hecho con todos. Hay alguna manera de hacerlo más rápidos sin perder detalles, no creo.

Gracias por tu aporte. Pase por aquí por un artículo de Jane que te citó.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This does not seem like a bad way to do this at all, especially considering some posts tend to jump around a bit. I try to read every single word in every article...but I also admit that sometimes that can be difficult.

There is a LOT of material here to get through, and most of it that I choose to actually read I do it because I really want to, because the content has engaged me in some way. Time is a precious thing, and I don't want to waste it. So, if a topic doesn't interest me I just move on.

Always enjoy your commentary and points. Keep 'em comin' at me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right in that time is a precious commodity. Once gone, it's gone for good. So, like you, I do tend to choose articles that interest me and also have an affinity towards certain writing styles and/or writers.

Thank you for your encouraging word. I shall do my best to continue to write what I'm comfortable writing about.

Btw, I do enjoy reading your articles too. It seems your words flow so smoothly in your articles.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. I do appreciate the praise. :) Can I just chalk it up to I have been actively writing for 40 years. That could be a good thing and a bad thing. Could just mean it took me a LONG time to actually be able to put a sentence together. LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love your humility. (Do check out what I said about humility here - https://noise.cash/post/x95358waq367) LOL.

It gives me hope because I'd never liked writing and because of this platform, I've started to with a vengeance. LOL. I do look forward to be able to let words flow like the way you write one day soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I find your writing to be quite good. Don't sell yourself too short. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend. You have no idea what that means to me. Oh shoot. There goes my humility. LOL. I'm very grateful for your encouragement. Thank you. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sometimes when I don't have something to say because some other commenters already said it, I just live a like and upvote. And iF i don't understand the article because my mind can't cooperate or tired already, I will saved it so that I can read it when my mind is good because when i will force my self to read the article, My Comment will be turn to nonsense or makes the author feel dissapointed and I don't like that. This article helps other users esp. the newbies. i will try what you suggest. ☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sounds like you have a good practice to follow. I sometimes do what you did. Like and upvote only depending on situations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the idea of ​​the double screen! Whenever I read an article and have nothing to say, I doubt whether to give it an upvote or not. I don't know if it's better to skip or give the message to the person, "I read it but I have nothing to say".🤔

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Personally, if I have nothing to say, I'll leave it like that. If I say anything, it may come out as superficial at best and fake at worst. Because of this, there are articles I don't comment at all. Also, there is the fact that not all articles are comment-able.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't really do this, because most of the time I'm reading on my phone, but glad for your article anyway. :) I'd like to be a faster reader, reading a huge amount of articles is time consuming... And I'm not talking about finding the interesting ones first. 😆

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's the setback if you're using the phone. You can duplicate it as efficiently as a pc. But if you have two phones, then you can do it too. LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What I do sometimes is copy the whole article and paste in the comment section lol! This is for the challenge posts about random questions only though :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's a great idea for the challenge post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i also do the 2 page articles! easier for me to comment while reading the article. looks like we are in sync lately bro

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. I guess we must be using the same WIFI source! hahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahahah i guess so lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a business woman so must be very efficient.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep.. have to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's actually better to read the content.. Coz through reading, we are learning... Although I admit sometimes if I don't have enough time but wanted to read more, I also scan the content and take the important notes..lol.. But if the content is interesting(just like this one) I'll gonna read it well...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, as you said, there are some readers who can scan and yet able to capture all the details of the article. Those who have learnt speed reading techniques do that. Unfortunately, I'm not one such reader. LOL. I can scan (i.e. speed read) but at a much slower speed in order to capture all the necessary points conveyed. But most times, I opened two tabs (as mentioned in the article) and slow read on one, and then comment directly on the other). I find that it's more efficient and time saving for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't think about that . I might do that as well..haha.. Um using the app though.. I might just open a browser for commenting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I read the article first then comment. But tha k you for this, it is more efficient way to divide the topics and write directly what you want to say before moving on to the next paragraph.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I find it more effective but not for all types of articles. Also, I do this because it's hard for me to retain information, so I need to comment on it there and then. Otherwise, I'll have to scroll back to search for it before commenting, which takes up time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago