Back to the 80s

24 36
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

14 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood) 

Current events

Today is Thursday, 12 August 2021. (Started writing on this date and continued the next day).

I have opted to take a short break to run some errands and pretty much chill out today. Part of the plan was to bathe my two puppies. If you have been following my noise.cash updates, they are named Black Blitz, and Concrete Crusher. Those are their super-heroes alter egos. You won't get to know their real name. That's why it's called an alter ego.

Skip a few hours and now, it's Friday afternoon, 13 August 2021.

  • Both my two puppies had taken their bath. They are both happy puppies with fluffy fur. I have gotten my much-needed rest and have been having some fun both here and at noise.cash. In fact, I'd started a new channel dedicated to the 1980s. It's called Back to the 80s.

This new channel has flooded me with fond memories of an era gone by. Many memories were frozen in time and the postings on this channel have given me to reminisce and re-live some of this era's defining moments.

Computer: Imagination & Pixel Punks

In my humble opinion, the 80s is indeed a defining era in so many aspects. It was the decade of the birth of the Personal Computer. Remember those IBM PCs? Or for those who can't afford an IBM the IBM clones? It started with the 8088 chips and not too long after that the 80286 chips were the dream of computer geeks. Again, it was soon replaced by the 80386 chips! The decade closed out with the 80486 chips. That was way before Pentium came into the scene in the next decade!

Proficiency in the archaic Disc Operating System or DOS was the order of the day. Game files could be easily tweaked to cheat. LOL. Popular games were all text-based and mostly adventure in nature. Your creativity and the screen of your mind get you immersed in such games for hours. It was only shortly after that pixelated punks appeared on screen with beeping sound effects.

Those who have Macintosh have it better. At least you don't have to work your mind so hard!

Music: Electric and loads of fun

It was an era that one can only dream of. The music was fun and once it starts, you'll footloose and run wild!

Remember any of these?

Take On Me - a-ha

Sweet Child O' Mine - Guns N' Roses

With or Without You - U2

Girls Just want To Have Fun - Cyndi Lauper

All Night Long (All Night) - Lionel Ritchie

Alright, here goes... a sentence with a few of the era's iconic songs.

Take on Me, Swee Child O' Mine. With or Without You, Girls Just Want to Have Fun All Night Long!

There were so many great songs that came out in the 1980s. Too many to list but I'll post them in the Back to the 80s channel.

Before ending this segment on music, I'd be remiss if I did not mention the greatest musician who ever lived, Michael Jackson, the King of Pop. It was during this era that he introduced the Moonwalk that still mesmerizes audiences whenever it's performed.

Media: Small & Big Screen

On the small screen, I probably had the best laughs in the 80s. The comedies were funny. Is it because people have become more cynical in this current time? Comedies were not as funny and oftentimes felt forced.

Not so back then. I'll list down some of my favorite sitcoms here. They still are some of my favorite.

Cheers

The Cosby Show

Who's the Boss?

Different Strokes

Taxi (ah, love Danny DeVito!)

The Simpsons (started at the tail end of the decade)

On the big screen, there were these to keep us entertained.

Back to the Future Part I (1985) and Part II (1989)

The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

Return of the Jedi (1983)

Monty Python - The Meaning of Life (1983)

E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial

Indiana Jones - Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981), Templet of Doom (1984), and The Last Crusade (1989)

Top Gun (1986)

Rain Man (1988)

There are too numerous to name. It was a simple era. You can tell that the movie's special effects were fake. Yet that was enough to entertain us. There is this clear line between what is real and what is for entertainment.

Worthy mentions

Before I close out this article, I'd like to point out some worthy mentions that are pre-1980s. One is a British sitcom called Fawlty Towers and the sci-fi that started it all - Star Wars, A New Hope!

Alright, that's all for now. See you at the channel, if you're an 80s fan.

Sources:

Header Image by Please Don't sell My Artwork AS IS from Pixabay  (cropped by author)

Image 1: Photo by bert brrr on Unsplash

Image 2: Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

Image 3: Photo by Avel Chuklanov on Unsplash

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

9
$ 6.31
$ 5.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 6
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Black Blitz, and Concrete Crusher.

Sounds like ice cream flavors :D

I do known those songs and I still listen to them. I have watched some of those movies too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Now that you mentioned it, it does sound like ice-cream flavors. LOL.

Yes, I have a few 80s music collections. Used to listen to them all the time. You know, almost like Starlord listening to his oldies on his Walkman. Hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this article, my memories overflow. I remember the first Macintosh. The first computer in my house was an Apple II in the late 70s, and I remember very well when my father brought the first Macintosh to our home. :) The music in the 80s was great. I loved The Police. And I could spend an hour listing my favorite songs from the time, LOL. I loved Who's the Boss? too! And the movies, I loved all you've mentioned. But one of the funniest for me in the 80s was A fish called Wanda. I think I'll become a regular on your channel on Noise.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah! I remember the show A Fish called Wanda! Anything with John Cleese's hands in it will bound to end up being hilarious. I can't recall the story though but do remember it being funny. Another movie for me to stream and watch again soon! Thank you for bringing that title up. Btw, do share in the channel too. You will ignite some long-lost memory for others! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, I will share in the channel for sure!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We still have that kind of radio but only a display since its not working anymore haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Take good care of it. These are getting rarer and rarer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not born in that era, but I love everything about the 80s. It calms me down. Most of my songs in my playlist are from the 80s, they have the best artist and music.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is a fun decade. Brighter colors and lots of experimental sounds in music. Love it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG the 80s rock music! I could listen to them all day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, and Guns N Roses were all bands that started in the 80s. I'm sure you'll now go find their songs to listen to in YouTube! LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes yes yes!!!!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I am 1999 baby so i don't yet tried those, if ever there still some of those maybe I am innocent to used that before LOL..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Then it'll be an adventure for you to discover all the gems from the 1980s. I guarantee you won't regret the adventure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dont forget the ultimate diskette with loads of viruses hahaha. In our place we have radio dramas where it trains your imagination to the hardcore level.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Radio dramas! 😂 Floppy discs 💾. Yes, I mentioned that in the channel today!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lemme check the channel, it's been a while that I havent visited noise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

relate much on the oldies songs..and now I'm wanting to hear some of them right now..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The best decade for music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So many great ones from that era. They're the best. Rock n Rolls, Ballads, New Wave, Pop, Raps ...so many.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you forgot time after time of Cyndi lauper LOL

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, that too. So many great songs from so many great singers. I'll slowly post in the channel. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaa will keep on posting on the channel lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, so many.

$ 0.00
2 years ago