Another One of Those Days: How I Push Myself to Write.

14 29
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

26 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 25 August 2021

MYLA

(Note: I'll not spell them out for you what the acronym above stands for. But I'll say this: the first two words stands for Move Your ...)

It's another one of those days that the motivation to write isn't there. Come to think of it, I believe it's more of the fault of my lazy bones. The had started late and I've had some errands to run and when it's time to sit down and write, the mental energy wasn't there. I'm sure many of you have been there.

Do I have topics to write about?

Yes, sure I do. But most of these need more energy to write; meaning these are not topics that will flow as I type. It will need a lot of deep thoughts and reflections in order to produce a decent article. Today is that kind of day that I don't feel like thinking too deeply.

Do I have articles that are ready to post?

Yes, I do. I have a few, including a series of 3 articles that I'd completed about a month ago. That does not mean I can rest on my laurels. If I do, it becomes a habit.

Do I have articles to complete?

In fact, I have a series that I'd started two weeks ago. One article is done and a second is near completion. I could complete it but I think the mistake would be to do that when not fully inspired to do so. That is why I'm thinking of writing something else. I'm sure many of you can identify with me there too.

What's the issue then?

The issue here with me today then is that I'm too lazy to work on deep subjects that tax my brain.

Instead, I can probably push myself to write something that I can pick from experience with greater ease.

This is what I will do. I'll give myself a little push...

What's Pushing Me?

Commitment to Write

"Feel like" - that's the problem. If we go by our feeling all the time, then most times, we won't get anything done. There are times where the commitment needs to carry the weight to push us through. I believe a lot of musicians, athletes, and any professionals would tell you the same.

And today, I'm writing because I'm driven by my commitment to write on a daily basis. The good thing for me is that I do have some breathing room as I have articles that I have yet to post. However, I make it a point to push myself a little harder, especially on days that I don't "feel like" writing. Such as today. I'm glad I gave myself a little nudge. Because of that, I'm already halfway through an article documenting my reluctance to write!

Focus to Post

I'm very clear about what I want to achieve in August. None more clear than having posted one article per day from Monday to Saturday, with Sunday being a rest day. Truth be told, this was the only clear focus I have for August. I'll write more about this in my first ever Monthly Report!

Photo by Elena Taranenko on Unsplash

You can say that a clear Focus is the other aspect that helped me push through my reluctance to write today. For me, Focus can be on one aspect of many other objectives. I'll likely take on more aspects of this focus as I progress in my writing journey but for now - Focus for me is what I'd mentioned above.

Promise to Readers

One more aspect that has gotten me to write today is that I have made a promise to my readers. That promise is based on my Commitment to Write and my Focus to Post. There will come a time, my readers will know my routine and when I post articles. I DO NOT want to disappoint by not being able to produce as expected.

This is especially true with my commitment to the following wonderful sponsors:

Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty

However, this promise should not be an empty promise. What I meant by that is that I should not write for the sake of writing. There must be some element of entertainment or some concrete learning points or both that my readers can glean from reading my articles. This is not always an easy feat but we all know that nothing is impossible if we put our minds to it. I also believe writing is like that. There is a wealth of information in our minds alone that we can draw on to write about. This article is one such example.

(Updated on 26 August 2021: My little push to write yesterday has resulted in me completing this article. But not only this article. I had in fact completed another after this one! I'll post that second article tomorrow. Other older articles in the Article Bank will have to wait for their turn.)

Thank you

I appreciate your spending your time accompanying me today. I plan to make this short. As a reader, I do know that we appreciate short articles once in a while.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate you.

Have a great day!

Sources:

Header Photo by Tanja Cotoaga on Unsplash

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

9
$ 6.44
$ 6.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
+ 4
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

It happens to be the best of us, and I definitely understand your drive to push ahead regardless of how you feel, or whether your brain wants to cooperate. I have been writing for many years, and sometimes no matter what you do, it just isn't going to happen. In a way it is probably as simple as our brain telling us to just be patient.

Whenever I have periods like this, shortly after the words just flood out and I can write many things.

Of course, all of us operate differently. All you can do is what you know works best for you and your process. I just don't know that when I try to force it, it never happens, and even if it does, I can tell.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I do agree with you. "Forcing" has a limit. I wouldn't force it until it breaks! LOL. For this instance, all I needed was a firm "No, this won't do" to myself and it worked. I just had to work the brain a little harder and words started flowing.

But if it doesn't. I'll take a break. Sometimes, that's all that's needed. A cooling-off period.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Reading you, I need to think about my commitments for next month. I should push myself to write every day, at least during the week.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do push myself but not to the point where it becomes a detriment to writing if you know what I mean. I push but still, find that I enjoy it. These goals can be short-term. i.e. write daily for a particular month. I will probably push myself another month before deciding if I want to maintain this level of commitment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, we can push ourselves as far as we still enjoy writing. Otherwise, it wouldn't make sense.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, the mentioned reason that pushes us to write was definitely I agreed hehe. We were committed to our readers and co-writers to write stories or thoughts even just a single dose of attendance for existence LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true. If we have maintained our output quality and frequency, our readers will likely expect us to maintain that same frequency of output unless we say otherwise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing is as like as drawing.. You can't draw without focus and inspiration to do so. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I truly agree that we have our responsibility here as writers. Therefore, this might have been the reason why I feel discontent whenever I feel laziness had been striking up over my life once again. Definitely, I will MYLA by now.

Thanks for this. You surely pointed out what mindset should I possess. I think it's time to grind and write!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yay. I'm sure you have plenty of great topics to write about. Ganbatte!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think were on the same boat again...but I'm not sure if being a lazy bone is the reason...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mine was definitely the lazy bones. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats why im taking my time as well not to push myself too much because i want to enjoy writing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good idea. As long as you're doing it at your own pace and enjoying it, that's great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago