Airdrop - The most exciting Blockchain word

34 79
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

11 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 11 September 2021

Up late again

I'm sitting at an odd hour. It's way past midnight. It's not that I couldn't sleep. I'm very sleepy cause last night I'd stayed up until 2 AM for the same purpose.

What purpose is that? None other than Airdrops or drops for short.

Regardless of whether it is for a paid airdrop or a free airdrop, the emotion involved in trying to grab the low mint or to be qualified for a token is inexplicable.

I can share with you two personal examples.

First Drop - Not Free

The one I stayed up for yesterday had left a bitter taste in my mouth. This project had started in their Telegram group that their latest MusicNFT drop is scheduled for local time 2 AM. These are not free drops. I have to purchase these NFTs.

Naturally, I stayed up for it since I've been following this project for a while. When it was announced around 11 PM local time that the drop will happen at 2 AM at a given neftyblocks.com link, I've decided to wait and hope to grab a low number mint. For me, that means anything below 5. In the past, I'd managed to grab mints #1 and 2.

The frustrating thing was that when I checked at 1.11 AM, I noticed the lowest available was no longer starting from #1. It was already at #4, which meant someone had already started minting.

I then sent a DM to the owner of the Project and asked why this was so. I did not get any reply.

Then I went to check the drop site two minutes later at 1.13 AM. Now the lowest available mint was down to #5. However, the drop was still not opened for minting yet with the countdown clock with 46M 37S to go.

By 1.23 AM, the lowest mint had dropped to #7. It was at this time that I've decided to put out a public message in the group asking if there was another whitelisting for people to be eligible for an earlier drop.

It was almost 2 AM that I'd gotten a reply from the owner stating that he'd made the same NFT available at another newly listed shop link.

Though he had apologized, that didn't sit quite well with me. If this was such a big project, how could anyone make such a big boo-boo? This has left a big question mark on my mind on my trust in this project.

I think it may be time for me to not 'invest' anymore into this project.

Second Drop - It's Free

Tonight, while sitting here, I'm waiting for another drop! This time for a token drop. It was by chance that I came across this Telegram group. And because when I joined at around midnight, the group was close to hitting 2000 members. Once that number is hit, there will be a drop.

It was only a few minutes after I joined that the group reached the goal of 2000 members which means an airdrop is imminent and was announced swiftly.

The airdrop will happen at 3 AM local time. Oh well, so much for sleep. So, I thought I might as well do some writing to share about my experience.

At this point, the time is 1.45 AM, still another 1 hour and 14 minutes to go. I hope I can stay awake. The thing I do for airdrops.

This has better be worth it. I'll take a break here and continue grinding on the games I play while I wait.

Once the airdrop has been completed, I'll continue to write to share with you the details.

I had finally gotten to bed around 3.30 AM after submitting my address at the 3 AM drop time. When I woke up and checked, the token was already in my wallet.

I have received 50 $KTH tokens. What a happy feeling!

The Power of Possibilities

That 50 KTH is not worth much. It's less than $0.20. To many, it's chump change. Despite this fact, many were happy to have received it and more were not happy for missing it for one reason or another.

Why are people so excited at getting $0.20 worth of Tokens? It is the same reason mentioned by the admin above. The belief that the price "will increase soon". It is the power of possibilities. Hope for the moon. Rationally thinking, even if it goes to the moon, 50 tokens won't make much of a difference. I can't explain the feeling or the emotion felt. It is irrational but it sure felt great. You can tell how strong this emotion is when you read through some of the comments of those who weren't successful in the drop.

Let's keep our sanity

I was initially quite worked up emotionally at the first incidence. But then, it is not the end of the world. There are so many other projects I can lend my support to. So, why get so worked up over this one. Right? I'll move on and probably won't get any more from this project. Maybe. Maybe not.

Final few words

If you are planning on spending more time around these airdrops or dabbling a little more in cryptocurrencies - I have one piece of advice for you. Be careful of scammers. They are everywhere. NEVER share your SEED words or phrases, even if they seemingly come from legit sources. There is NEVER a need to share your SEED words. Sharing our SEED word is like giving someone your ATM card and also the pin number.

Alright, that's it for today. Have a great weekend and thank you for reading.

Disclaimer: Not Financial Advice. Do Your Own Research.

Sources:

Header Image by David Mark from Pixabay 

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

12
$ 7.11
$ 6.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 5
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

I used to participate in airdrops. But as now I have to study much for my admission exam I have stopped participating them. I think I have missed a great airdrop of KTH. Hope it goes to the moon soon and those who has got the token gets highly profitted.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Following, chasing, waiting, participating in airdrops are very time-consuming. It's wise of you to focus on your study and exam first. There'll always be more airdrops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Thats why I am focused om my study. And do not participate in airdrops now a days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you all the best in your study and your admission exam. May you achieve what you have set your mind on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your positive wish. Where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesterday I was very overwhelmed with the airdrops LOL, telegram, Twitter, haha. I haven't been like this in a long time. In the end, I got the 50 kth, but I felt very unproductive. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was about to say the same thing lol! So many things to do and check.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Haha, yes, and the worst thing is that the reward was minimal. At the end of the day, I was so exhausted from so many chats and watching Twitter. And I realized that I hadn't done anything productive.

It's easy to get carried away by not wanting to miss something, even if that something is not worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. We need to help each other do sanity checks on and off. Prevent us from going off the deep end. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a $0.20 thank you for staying up late. LOL. Why would we go through so much trouble for that? I mean, one tip from Rusty is way more than that. hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Last few days I've been living in cyberspace. No sleep, like my avatar. LOL. Yeah, 50KTH isn't much to shout about. Oh well. Who knows in 20 year's time? hahaha...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This piece of the pie is still very foreign to me. But I am slowly learning my way around. It's enough that I discovered Algorand that pays me a 4% yield. The rest is yet to come. But it started like this for me in the stock market too. One day I knew nothing, and as time went on, I know a lot. Just takes time to put all the pieces of the puzzle together so it forms a discernible picture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same journey I'd taken. Learning bit by bit. It's really fun. Still a lot I don't understand but enough to be dangerous. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I stayed up for that too! ahhaha..Besides it's like my first airdrop experience .. Second technically, because there was an earlier airdrop for ARG but then they both happened only hours apart so both felt like the first time doing it.

After giving my address in that group I fell asleep almost immediately. now that we have them drops.. now what? hahahahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Congrats! You got both? I didn't know ARG had too and was waiting only for KTH. :( If you're able can you help me with this? ---> https://read.cash/@Just1dood/post-5028eff2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah i did Dood! of course ;) andEylz also mentioned it in one of our conversations a while ago. saw the two ARGs first and then the next three at a later time.. but i supported all of 'em

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. Didn't win anything 🤣. I think maybe I'd better retire from memes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was also 3am for me that I have to wait for the kth drop. I guess the huge volume of people dropped the number per person. And the crybabies in the group were hilarious. 😹

$ 0.03
2 years ago

LOL. No sleep for a lot of people these last few days! hahahaha... btw, if you can do check this out and see if you can help me out. It's closing in another hour. lol. --->https://read.cash/@Just1dood/post-5028eff2

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't participate yet in this kind of things as of now, I don't understand any of it haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Better don't until you understand it and are comfortable participating. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed me too. haha I am trying to jumble the time to at least participate with token airdrops, who knows what will be the price of free token within a span of time. But I missed that airdrop, well when it happened it was 2AM in our time so I think I am snoring at that time LOL.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Because of these airdrops, I've not been getting much sleep these last two days! hahahah...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the best on all of your endeavors and have fun waiting and receiving for air drops.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry for the late reply. Have been caught up in the airdrops and other stuff. Yes, it is. Was busy doing memes last two days. LOL. If you are able, do check this post out and see if you can help me out there. Thanks. ---> https://read.cash/@Just1dood/post-5028eff2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just opened my Twitter and boom! What, there's an airdrop? LOL hashtag fomo

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Perfect timing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are si lucky. I stayed awake all night for nothing. I haven't receive even just a penny and that is because of NFI.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

NFI? What's that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not following instruction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, I see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're lucky to get the KTH drop. We were waiting for it but they started way too long and I dozed off to sleep 🤣🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was fighting sleep the whole time. Played my games and then started writing this article. Those helped me stay awake. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my.. My eyes don't allow me to stay long.. Huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago